PDA

View Full Version : Can't move


x82nd
04-24-2008, 02:10 PM
after most fights I am unable to move the main character. I can look around freely and go into my menus but the WASD keys just don't work. I can save and reload and have full control back. I am running the game under vista if that makes a difference.

x82nd
04-25-2008, 04:43 PM
Ok, to alter my problem a little... it isn't after fights but when I loot after a fight. Ideas?

jessefett
04-25-2008, 06:16 PM
does it look like the characters are just frozen in mid-step? or are they stand as usual?
if they are frozen (try patching if you havent already) press tab to switch to another character and switch back to your main.

If they are not frozen, I dont know much of a solution to it rather than restarting the game. But you can still move around by pressing both mouse buttons at once. Thats a good thing about this game, you can play it with out the keyboard.

DodgyFella32
05-11-2008, 01:42 PM
i have exactly the same problem, i have reinstalled twice and also the same problem occurs in KOTOR2 and KOTOR1. It really spoils the game cause u have to reload the game after every fight :S. Any suggestions / fixes?

Da_Man_2423
05-11-2008, 07:57 PM
Game patched fully?

Jae Onasi
05-12-2008, 09:43 PM
Please see the 'Read this first before posting' (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=146050) sticky to post your specs here (not your hardware specs). We might be able to narrow the problem down even more. :)

DarthJebus05
05-12-2008, 10:39 PM
It's because Vista, and not fixable unless you reload a save game all the time.

Raith_exile
06-25-2008, 10:44 PM
It's because Vista, and not fixable unless you reload a save game all the time.

I use XP and I get the same problem in K1 and K2.

Although K2 worked fine when I reinstalled it without any mods, but I've played the game so many times that it isn't much fun without a few mods running.

nwz
06-27-2008, 01:31 PM
I use XP and I get the same problem in K1 and K2.

Although K2 worked fine when I reinstalled it without any mods, but I've played the game so many times that it isn't much fun without a few mods running.

Could the mod have something to do with this? I also reinstalled Kotor after a while and for the first time i tried it with a mod and bang. Can't move.

I hope the reinstall without any mods works for me.

Btw. The mod i installed is called: "The Brotherhood of Shadow".

A small update: I reinstalled the game and the problem still exists. Everything seemed to work fine until i arrived at the bridge (Endar Spire).

Don't know if the XP Service packs have something to do with this. With SP2 no problems and SP3 this problem :(

UPDATE: Seems that having TWO or more cpu cores has something to do with this. Making KOTOR run with only one CPU CORE helps alot, but doesn't remove the problem.

Problem seems to occur if you go instantly to discussion mode after battle. Another "trigger" for this seems to be Taris dueling arena, since after duel i get stuck.

Observations:

Changing areas allows you to move again.

Switching between cores sometimes helps.

Sometimes the problem just goes away after few seconds.


Still it's a pain in the rear end.