PDA

View Full Version : 2 words: EXTREME LAG


Jedi Master Aagin
05-02-2008, 03:54 PM
like, uncontrollable, it happens to me on every game, but i mainly play kotor, so im postin it here, anyways, i cant seem to find the problem, i've uinstalled and reinstalled kotor, and it still lags, i have removed stuff from my computer but that didnt work, what should i do???

Wedge Suron
05-02-2008, 05:00 PM
Did you patch it? That seemed to sort most of it for me.

Jedi Master Aagin
05-02-2008, 05:52 PM
i am up to date...

Darth333
05-02-2008, 05:58 PM
Do you have a multicore CPU? If so, have a look at this thread: http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=188237

Otherwise, post your specs: http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=146050

Jedi Master Aagin
05-02-2008, 09:04 PM
that thread has my exact problems!!!
there may be hope....
wait a second...
i have team fortress 2?
but back on topic, thanks to the happy face my dark lady!

but uhhh, what do i do to disable a core of the multicores?

Darth333
05-03-2008, 10:39 AM
You could do it in the BIOS but that would disable the additional cores for all applications. You can also start Kotor, then hit Alt+ Ctrl+ Delete and in the processes window of your task manager, find Kotor, right click on it , select Set Affinity and set it to just one core so it will only affect that game.

Jedi Master Aagin
05-03-2008, 10:51 AM
umm, im trying to do that but it only says
end process
end process tree
debug
set priority >

Darth333
05-03-2008, 10:52 AM
uh...do you actually have a multicore CPU? Please post your specs.

Jedi Master Aagin
05-03-2008, 10:57 AM
[SWKotOR]
ReportDateTime=5/2/2008 10:03:02 PM
SysInfoVersion=v1.00.60
GameExists=1
GameVersion=v1.03.514077
GameInstallLocation=C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic\

[OS]
Name=WinXP
Version=Windows XP v5.1 build 2600 Service Pack 2
Service Pack=Service Pack 2
Status=Pass

[SwapFiles]
C:\pagefile.sys=2046

[CPU]
CPUCount=1
CPUSpeed=3049
CPUFamily=15
CPUModel=2
CPUStepping=7
CPUVendor=Intel
CPUName= Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 6.04GHz
Status=Pass

[Memory]
RAM=1536
Status=Pass

[Disk Free Space]
C: (NTFS), UNICODE=79.89GB
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=D:\,E:\
Drives=LITEON DVD-ROM LTD163,_NEC DVD+RW ND-1100A

[Video]
Video Card Name=128 DDR ATI Radeon 9700 Pro w/TV-Out
Video Memory=128
Desktop Resolution=1280x1024x32 @ 60Hz
DirectX=DirectX (9.0+) (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=1.5.4582 WinXP Release
OpenGL Vendor=ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL Renderer=RADEON 9700 PRO x86/SSE2
Vid Card Status=Pass
Vid Card Driver Status=Pass
GL Status=Pass
DX Status=Pass

[Audio]
Sound Card Name=Creative Audigy Audio Processor (WDM)
Status=Pass


;Game Options from swkotor.ini

[Sound Options]
Sound Init=0
Music Volume=85
Voiceover Volume=85
Sound Effects Volume=85
Movie Volume=100
Force Software=0
EAX=0
Disable Sound=0
Number 3D Voices=16
Number 2D Voices=24
Environment Effects Level=0.60
2D3D Bias=1.50
Environment Effects=1
Environment Effects Nonstreaming=1
Environment Effects Streaming=1

[Game Options]
GUIsInScreenShot=1
EnableScreenShot=0
Reverse Mouse Buttons=0
EnableCheats=1
Hide InGame GUI=0
Use Small Fonts=0
Keyboard Camera Deceleration=2000.000000
Keyboard Camera Acceleration=500.000000
Keyboard Camera DPS=200.000000
Hide Unequippable=0
Tutorial Popups=1
Subtitles=1
Mini Map=1
Floating Numbers=1
Status Summary=1
Enable Mouse Teleporting To Buttons=1
Mouse Sensitivity=33
Auto Level Up NPCs=0
Mouse Look=0
AutoSave=1
Reverse Minigame YAxis=0
Combat Movement=1
Enable Tooltips=1
Difficulty Level=1
TooltipDelay Sec=1.000000
Memory Access=1
Memory Level=1
Disable Movies=0

[Movies Shown]
Movie 0=16
Movie 1=0
Movie 2=0
Movie 3=0
Movie 4=0
Movie 5=0
Movie 6=0
Movie 7=0
Movie 8=0
Movie 9=0
Movie10=0

[Alias]
HD0=.\
OVERRIDE=.\Override
TEMP=.\Temp
MODULES=.\Modules
LOGS=.\Logs
LOCALVAULT=.\LocalVault
DMVAULT=.\DMVault
SERVERVAULT=.\ServerVault
STREAMMUSIC=.\StreamMusic
TEMPCLIENT=.\Tempclient
SAVES=.\saves
CURRENTGAME=.\currentgame
TEXTUREPACKS=.\texturepacks
STREAMWAVES=.\StreamWaves

[Graphics Options]
V-Sync=1
Anisotropy=1
Frame Buffer=0
Anti Aliasing=6
Texture Quality=2
Emitters=1
Grass=1
Soft Shadows=1
Shadows=1
Brightness=57
EnableHardwareMouse=1
FullScreen=1
AllowSoftShadows=1
RefreshRate=60
Width=800
Height=600

[Autopause Options]
Mine Sighted=1
End Of Combat Round=0
Enemy Sighted=1
Party Killed=1
Action Menu=0
New Target Selected=1

[config]
firstrun=0

[Keymapping]
Action286B=8
Action286A=7
Action285B=10
Action285A=9
Action284B=54
Action284A=51
Action283B=54
Action283A=51
Action282B=69
Action282A=73
Action281B=53
Action281A=76
Action280B=69
Action280A=73
Action265=52
Action264=57
Action263=43
Action262=85
Action261=84
Action260=83
Action259=82
Action258=81
Action257=80
Action256=79
Action255=78
Action254=77
Action253=31
Action245=75
Action244=55
Action243=67
Action242=74
Action241=87
Action240=56
Action239=68
Action238=82
Action236=83
Action234=81
Action232=80
Action230=79
Action228=78
Action226=77
Action225=70
Action224=90
Action223=31
Action222=25
Action221=24
Action220=29
Action219=28
Action218=42
Action217=87
Action216=65
Action215=63
Action214=62
Action213=60
Action212=61
Action211=66
Action210=59
Action209=71
Action208=89
Action207=72
Action206=30
Action205=55
Action204=67

Darth333
05-03-2008, 11:10 AM
What Catalyst drivers are you using for your video card?

Jedi Master Aagin
05-03-2008, 11:16 AM
uuuh, im not sure, i got this computer from my friend cause he didnt want it cause he got a vista, so have no idea what stuff he put on here

darthcarth
05-03-2008, 01:40 PM
uuuh, im not sure, i got this computer from my friend cause he didnt want it cause he got a vista, so have no idea what stuff he put on here

well seeing as you only hae a radeon 9700 pro you need to turn down you settings you have 6 anti aliasing that will make any cards fps drop and since yours isnt that good it will make you lag alot so you need to turn that off, you also might want to turn off soft shadows as well.

Jedi Master Aagin
05-03-2008, 02:21 PM
ok but how do i turn it off

McTitan
05-06-2008, 02:23 PM
in the game press Esc then to game options to your advanced video options en there you can turn it of.

hope this helps a bit.

Jedi Master Aagin
05-06-2008, 04:57 PM
didnt work at all
how can i get to this BIOS you speak of?

Darth333
05-08-2008, 12:19 PM
well seeing as you only hae a radeon 9700 pro you need to turn down you settings you have 6 anti aliasing that will make any cards fps drop and since yours isnt that good it will make you lag alot so you need to turn that off, you also might want to turn off soft shadows as well.
Keep in mind that the radeon 9700 pro was a pretty high end card when the game was released (2003) and it can handle most of the eye candy in Kotor, and even max it out (or close to it) (http://www.lucasforums.com/showpost.php?p=1760947&postcount=4). Lowering AA should help a little but there is no reason to turn it off. I used to max out the game without any problems with a 9800pro 128MB. Some of the latest Ati drivers have been a problem with an AGP slot though and it would be good to see DA's computer specs.

What puzzles me is this line...never heard of a P4 @6.04 ghz :confused: :

CPUName= Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 6.04GHz

Darth Aagin: can you post dxdiag report? You can do this by going to the start menu>run then type dxdiag and click "save all the information" (not sure of the name of the button as I have a French OS).

Morthon Gyzaall
05-10-2008, 06:28 PM
I had a EXTREME LAG issue too, fixed it by buying a Nvidia Graphics card. I was told that KoTOR isn't ATI-compatible...But in my case, this only occurred with Kotor.