PDA

View Full Version : Starkiller


M@RS
05-29-2008, 08:37 PM
I am working on making Starkiller in Jedi Outcast, and I am going to try and make animations to have him hold the lightsaber the way he does and use the lightsaber style of Shien (http://starwars.wikia.com/wiki/Shien) I hope it works out

M@RS
05-29-2008, 09:47 PM
I'm going to ask a lot of questions

M@RS
05-30-2008, 02:10 PM
Okay I have most of the skin ready I'm just trying to view it in ModView a couple problems I just need to fix a couple of things

M@RS
05-30-2008, 05:56 PM
A couple more things and it will be ready

M@RS
05-31-2008, 12:07 AM
I'm stuck what do I do to view my skin in Modview?

Boba Rhett
05-31-2008, 12:52 AM
Why are you posting all this in the showcase forum?

Also, why are you quadruple posting?

M@RS
05-31-2008, 01:13 AM
because I'm going to show of my skin when it's finished

and no one else is posting so I did

can you help me, I don't know how to view my skin in ModView, how do I do that

M@RS
05-31-2008, 02:07 AM
I really need help right now could someone tell me how to view my skin in ModView and convert everything to a .pk3 file

M@RS
06-01-2008, 06:25 PM
this is going to take longer than I thought, I'm a bit stuck someone else please help me

M@RS
06-02-2008, 12:43 AM
This is going to take a while I have no idea what to do right now any help would be awesome

Neon
06-02-2008, 04:48 AM
I think the program was called pakscape.

katanamaru
06-02-2008, 12:58 PM
Go to the JA modding forums at filefront. They have a tutorial of how to set up mod view that I used. After that, skin away!
If you want/need a base skin to modify, there is a skin called 'Jedi Supporter' or such on jk3files.

M@RS
06-02-2008, 01:23 PM
qhat am I supposed to do then?

katanamaru
06-04-2008, 01:29 PM
The tutorial will tell you how to get your skin into Modview. You will have to use an art program to skin whatever model you choose. Save your skin file and view in Modview to see how it will look in game. Repeat as many times as necessary till you get the skin the way you like it.

After you get all that done we will help you get it into a pk3 file if you can't.

M@RS
06-07-2008, 01:29 AM
How do I view it in modview?

Neon
06-07-2008, 09:11 AM
No offense, but can you please ask questions in the general editing on the forum, and post here again when you got something to show?

M@RS
06-07-2008, 12:16 PM
I was going to show something but I got stuck, and no one seems to know what was wrong

Psyk0Sith
06-07-2008, 09:02 PM
If you are still stuck with modview not updating/displaying the proper textures, copy paste the content of your .skn file in here.

Also make a printscreen of the character's folder (or type the name of the files in here too).

M@RS
06-09-2008, 01:11 AM
I'm horrible with PCs can you tell how to do that? I know enough to be on LF though *shrug*

Psyk0Sith
06-09-2008, 09:12 PM
Open the .skn file with notepad and select everything, hit ctrl-c (this will copy the selected text to windows "clipboard") and then hit ctrl-v in your LF message.

M@RS
06-09-2008, 09:25 PM
Alright, thanks... I think :)

M@RS
06-09-2008, 09:29 PM
Never mind, it was too long

Ah ha! I get it...I got it here...

hips,models/players/starkiller/legs.jpg
hips_torso,models/players/starkiller/j2_torso.jpg
torso,models/players/starkiller/j2_torso.jpg
torso_l_shoulder,models/players/starkiller/j2_torso.jpg
torso_r_shoulder,models/players/starkiller/j2_torso.jpg
r_arm,models/players/starkiller/j2_torso.jpg
r_hand,models/players/starkiller/basic_hand.jpg
r_hand_wrist,models/players/starkiller/j2_torso.jpg
r_hand_cap_r_arm_off,models/players/starkiller/starkiller_caps.tga
r_arm_cap_r_hand_off,models/players/starkiller/starkiller_caps.tga
r_arm_cap_torso_off,models/players/starkiller/starkiller_caps.tga
l_arm,models/players/starkiller/j2_torso.jpg
l_hand,models/players/starkiller/basic_hand.jpg
l_hand_wrist,models/players/starkiller/j2_torso.jpg
l_hand_cap_l_arm_off,models/players/starkiller/starkiller_caps.tga
l_arm_cap_l_hand_off,models/players/starkiller/starkiller_caps.tga
l_arm_cap_torso_off,models/players/starkiller/starkiller_caps.tga
torso_cap_head_off,models/players/starkiller/starkiller_caps.tga
torso_cap_hips_off,models/players/starkiller/starkiller_caps.tga
torso_cap_l_arm_off,models/players/starkiller/starkiller_caps.tga
torso_cap_r_arm_off,models/players/starkiller/starkiller_caps.tga
head,models/players/starkiller/head_02.jpg
head_off,models/players/starkiller/head_02.jpg
head_face_off,models/players/starkiller/face_02.jpg
head_face,models/players/starkiller/face_02.jpg
head_eyes_mouth,models/players/starkiller/mouth_eyes.jpg
head_cap_torso_off,models/players/starkiller/starkiller_caps.tga
head_eyes_mouth_off,models/players/starkiller/mouth_eyes.jpg
hips_cap_l_leg_off,models/players/starkiller/starkiller_caps.tga
hips_cap_torso_off,models/players/starkiller/starkiller_caps.tga
hips_cap_r_leg_off,models/players/starkiller/starkiller_caps.tga
l_leg,models/players/starkiller/j2_boots_hips.jpg
l_leg_cap_hips_off,models/players/starkiller/starkiller_caps.tga
r_leg,models/players/starkiller/j2_boots_hips.jpg
r_leg_cap_hips_off,models/players/starkiller/starkiller_caps.tga


is this right?

:swear: I still can't view my skin in ModView!

Psyk0Sith
06-11-2008, 08:27 PM
That looks about right, it would be easier for me to troubleshoot with the actual pk3. This is for Jedi Outcast correct?

Let's start with the basics, make sure you setup your work directory like this:


Setting up the work path

Since Jk2 is based on the Quake 3 engine, we need to create a base folder to hold the player model.

-So go ahead and create this directory structure:

"c:\base\models\players\"your player model"

-the next step is to add the animation file to:

"c:\base\models\players\_humanoid"

-Where is the _humanoid.gla file you ask? in the assets0.pk3 file in your gamedata\base folder of JK2, a .pk3 file is a zip file that's been renamed. All you need to is do open it with winzip, find the file _humanoid.gla...just sort the files by type and look for gla you can also extract the .cfg file (animation sequence file). Make sure it's in "base\player\_humanoid".

-I installed the Raven tool kit in c:\base which should give you c:\base\tools

You should now be ready to start your project.

M@RS
06-11-2008, 08:30 PM
alright I'll get on it, hopefully it will be downloadable by tomorrow, thanks...