PDA

View Full Version : Help with weapon skin


LordRevan999
06-22-2008, 07:52 PM
I have made a skin of vibrosword.I have made its uti with tag and resref as w_melee_31 and saved with same name as uti.I wanted to make the skin appear so I copied vibroswords original mdx and mdl and renamed them to w_swrd_007 as I placed the number 7 in model variation of the uti.I also changed the skin name to w_Vbroswrd_007.tga.I place all these files in TSL override and open the game I used the cheat to get item the item appear but when I equip it it appears same as original I mean the skin is the same.I have done everything I could so now I ask here for help.Can anyone help me.Please tell me where I am wrong.

Sithspecter
06-22-2008, 08:13 PM
What you need to do is open up MDLOps, find your model file, read and write it, open up the ASCII file, hit 'Renamer' then change the names of all the entities to your texture file. Then hit write model. That should do it, but another way would be to read and write the model, open the ASCII with notepad, and change the texture names manually.

LordRevan999
06-22-2008, 08:22 PM
So it means after making ascii and editing it I only need the ascii file in override and not the mdx and mdl file.
Edit:I opened the mdl the read and write then I clicked on select file and selected the ascii file then clicked on renamer and renamed and writed but in the model texture document there appears the same texture name as the original.Help

Sithspecter
06-22-2008, 11:08 PM
Did you rename the .mdl and .mdx files after you wrote them? If you didn't, check the folder that you opened them from, and you'll find two new model files that say "w_sword07-k1-bin" for the .mdl and .mdx'es. You have to delete the old ones and then rename the new ones.

spyblade
06-23-2008, 01:44 PM
Could you also use a Hex editor program to rename the texture references in the model file?

Sithspecter
06-23-2008, 01:49 PM
You can, but the MDLOps renamer function does the same thing, and it's easier IMO.

EnderWiggin
06-23-2008, 02:25 PM
Could you also use a Hex editor program to rename the texture references in the model file?

Sithspecter's way was just a shortcut. I hex it sometimes too though :D

_EW_

LordRevan999
06-23-2008, 05:37 PM
SS,can you write me the instructions here as points from start maybe I wouldfigure it out what you are try to tell me to do.

Marius Fett
06-23-2008, 05:44 PM
You can, but the MDLOps renamer function does the same thing, and it's easier IMO.

Not to mention quicker and less "dangerous".

It's still worth learning to Hex edit though. :)

Sithspecter
06-23-2008, 06:36 PM
1. Extract the .mdl and .mdx of the model you want to use ( don't double click the model file in KT)
2. Read and write the model file you just extracted.
3. Open up the modelname-ascii with MDLOps.
4. Click 'renamer.'
5. Change the name on all of the parts to your texture name.
6. Click 'write model.'
7. In your model folder, find the file, modelname-k1-r-bin.mdl and modelname-k1-r-bin.mdx.
8. Delte modelname.mdl and modelname.mdx.
9. Rename modelname-k1-r-bin.mdl and modelname-k1-r-bin.mdx to modelname.mdl and modelname.mdx.
10. Drop the new files in your override folder.

LordRevan999
06-23-2008, 06:44 PM
SS,when I open the new ascii file in mdlops it says the model is not from binary source!.

Sithspecter
06-23-2008, 06:47 PM
You have to extract the .mdl and .mdx files manually, no double clicking. Find the model, then click the big extract button. Do the same for the .mdx, and then write them.

LordRevan999
06-23-2008, 06:51 PM
So first I need to read and write the mdl and then mdx too.
EDIT:In the Mdlops while selecting,MDL appears but Mdx does not.

Sithspecter
06-23-2008, 06:54 PM
Just select the model. The .mdx doesn't matter, it automatically loads that.

LordRevan999
06-23-2008, 06:57 PM
I did that then I selected the ascii mdl and then clicked on renamer did the change and clicked on write.Two other file appear with k2 in name but the problem is there is a text file too with textures written at the end of its name when I open it I see the original texture w_Vbroswrd_001 is it right or is this a problem or something.

Sithspecter
06-23-2008, 07:40 PM
Don't worry about that either.

LordRevan999
06-23-2008, 08:02 PM
OK,worked but now the blade is transparent.Should that textures document is also to be in the override or is it the alpha channel I mean the txi file.

Sithspecter
06-23-2008, 08:16 PM
Uh, yeah, forgot about that. Just save it as the weapon name, I think, in override as a .txi.

LordRevan999
06-23-2008, 08:23 PM
The texture file?

Sithspecter
06-23-2008, 08:27 PM
The .txt file that MDLOps made. Just save it as modelname.txi in your override, I believe. But I have never used .txi's before...

LordRevan999
06-23-2008, 08:29 PM
Well,I didn't do that to make it work instead I added the bare metal in a newly made txi,And it appears to work.Although thanks for the help.

Sithspecter
06-23-2008, 08:31 PM
Glad that you got it working.