PDA

View Full Version : Weird occurence in texture editing


Exile007
07-05-2008, 12:45 AM
Hey all,

I've been trying to make a reskin of the default bandon armor. I texture edited it as normal, and then I edited appearance.2da accordingly, naming the Texa N_DarthBand08 (which is what I named the texture). However, when I load the game up in TSL, a weird CM_BareMetal effect is carried throughout the entire texture. This happens whenever I edit Bandon's armor actually, however, when I change the texture name from N_DarthBand08 to 01, the problem goes away. I don't have an alpha channel on the texture so I'm greatly puzzled. :confused:

A screenshot of my problem:

http://img368.imageshack.us/img368/1827/swkotor2200807042041492jw7.jpg

If anyone can tell me what's going on I would be very thankful. ;)

Ulmont
07-05-2008, 12:48 AM
Cheack you Appearance.2da. You probably have cm_baremetal somewhere in the default_textures.

Exile007
07-05-2008, 12:55 AM
Nope, no CM_Baremetal anywhere. Any other ideas?

Ulmont
07-05-2008, 12:57 AM
Eh...... Did you restart you comp?

Marius Fett
07-05-2008, 06:51 AM
Try opening your texture, deleting your Alpha and try it again?

Odds are you did it wrong. ;)

Kristy Kistic
07-05-2008, 08:13 AM
Hey all,

I've been trying to make a reskin of the default bandon armor. I texture edited it as normal, and then I edited appearance.2da accordingly, naming the Texa N_DarthBand08 (which is what I named the texture). However, when I load the game up in TSL, a weird CM_BareMetal effect is carried throughout the entire texture. This happens whenever I edit Bandon's armor actually, however, when I change the texture name from N_DarthBand08 to 01, the problem goes away. I don't have an alpha channel on the texture so I'm greatly puzzled. :confused:

A screenshot of my problem:

~snip~

If anyone can tell me what's going on I would be very thankful. ;)



Try naming your texture to N_DarthBand0801.tga and see if that works. You really can't specify texture variation numbers in the appearance.2da. You have to use uti files for that. The reason your screenshot looks like that is the game isn't finding the texture you specified. The reason it does find it when you rename it to N_DarthBand01.tga is that the default texture is specified inside the model file itself - so it uses that when it can't find the texture you defined in the appearance.2da.

Exile007
07-05-2008, 12:46 PM
Try naming your texture to N_DarthBand0801.tga and see if that works. You really can't specify texture variation numbers in the appearance.2da. You have to use uti files for that. The reason your screenshot looks like that is the game isn't finding the texture you specified. The reason it does find it when you rename it to N_DarthBand01.tga is that the default texture is specified inside the model file itself - so it uses that when it can't find the texture you defined in the appearance.2da.

Ah, thank you Kristy, that helped a lot. It works now! :D