PDA

View Full Version : skinning help please...


Revan81790
07-12-2008, 03:54 PM
I am trying to reskin something...

When I am finished reskinning it, do I just save the tga file in the override folder?

Giant Graffiti
07-12-2008, 03:57 PM
^^^

Yes.

Sithspecter
07-12-2008, 05:27 PM
It depends on what it is. What are you re-skinning?

Revan81790
07-12-2008, 10:21 PM
It depends on what it is. What are you re-skinning?

armor, gloves, and a longsword

The Betrayer
07-13-2008, 01:16 AM
Then you save them to the Override.

Revan81790
07-13-2008, 04:13 AM
Then you save them to the Override.

so the tga files go to override. Anything else i should know?

TheExile
07-13-2008, 04:16 AM
No... Unless *you* want to know more...

Giant Graffiti
07-13-2008, 11:21 AM
armor, gloves, and a longsword
Just you know, unless you're reskinning the glove icons, the textures won't show up. Apparently, they had wanted gloves and belts visible like in NWN, but they were cut at the last minute.

Revan81790
07-13-2008, 03:45 PM
Just you know, unless you're reskinning the glove icons, the textures won't show up. Apparently, they had wanted gloves and belts visible like in NWN, but they were cut at the last minute.

oh i am..


Alright. I saved the reskinned tga files into override and nothing happened. They are still the same.

Sithspecter
07-13-2008, 07:10 PM
^Well, the armor will probably need a .uti file, there is a tutorial over how to make an armor in the tutorials section, but if you want a new vibrosword, and not an overwritten one, you'll have to do some more work. I'll find my handy steps in a few minutes. :)

Here's some easy steps that I've used before to explain how to retexture your item.

It uses MDLOps renamer function.

1. Extract the .mdl and .mdx of the model you want to use ( don't double click the model file in KT)
2. Read and write the model file you just extracted.
3. Open up the modelname-ascii with MDLOps.
4. Click 'renamer.'
5. Change the name on all of the parts to your texture name.
6. Click 'write model.'
7. In your model folder, find the file, modelname-k1-r-bin.mdl and modelname-k1-r-bin.mdx.
8. Delte modelname.mdl and modelname.mdx.
9. Rename modelname-k1-r-bin.mdl and modelname-k1-r-bin.mdx to modelname.mdl and modelname.mdx.
10. Drop the new files in your override folder.

(This part is so that the vibrosword that you started with won't show up with your texture)

OK, this shouldn't be too hard. What you have to do is re-name the aurora base. Open up the .mdl that you put in your override with MDLOps and read and write it. Next, open up NWMax (the green icon on the desktop) to bring up Gmax with NWMax plugin. Now, go to MDL loading in NWMax. Hit browse, goto your override folder and select 'modelname-ascii.' Hit import. Your sword will pop up. :) Find the aurora base: the large helper that's at the bottom. Should bear the name of the original sword model that you changed the name of. Then, change the number to your number. While you've got it selected, on the modifiers tab, set the export to whatever folder you want, and hit 'export geom only.' Pull MDLOps up again. Find the file that you just extracted, should be 'aurorabasename.mdl.' Read and write it, rename to your new .mdl and .mdx (that are in your override currenty) and drag and drop into override to replace the old ones. You have to do this because apparently KotOR looks for the aurora base name before checking the filename when it's in override. Not sure why you have to do this, but I discovered it when I made a new mask.

e-varmint
07-13-2008, 07:22 PM
^Well, the armor will probably need a .uti file, there is a tutorial over how to make an armor in the tutorials section, but if you want a new vibrosword, and not an overwritten one, you'll have to do some more work. I'll find my handy steps in a few minutes. :)

Here's some easy steps that I've used before to explain how to retexture your item.

It uses MDLOps renamer function.

1. Extract the .mdl and .mdx of the model you want to use ( don't double click the model file in KT)
2. Read and write the model file you just extracted.
3. Open up the modelname-ascii with MDLOps.
4. Click 'renamer.'
5. Change the name on all of the parts to your texture name.
6. Click 'write model.'
7. In your model folder, find the file, modelname-k1-r-bin.mdl and modelname-k1-r-bin.mdx.
8. Delte modelname.mdl and modelname.mdx.
9. Rename modelname-k1-r-bin.mdl and modelname-k1-r-bin.mdx to modelname.mdl and modelname.mdx.
10. Drop the new files in your override folder.

(This part is so that the vibrosword that you started with won't show up with your texture)

OK, this shouldn't be too hard. What you have to do is re-name the aurora base. Open up the .mdl that you put in your override with MDLOps and read and write it. Next, open up NWMax (the green icon on the desktop) to bring up Gmax with NWMax plugin. Now, go to MDL loading in NWMax. Hit browse, goto your override folder and select 'modelname-ascii.' Hit import. Your sword will pop up. :) Find the aurora base: the large helper that's at the bottom. Should bear the name of the original sword model that you changed the name of. Then, change the number to your number. While you've got it selected, on the modifiers tab, set the export to whatever folder you want, and hit 'export geom only.' Pull MDLOps up again. Find the file that you just extracted, should be 'aurorabasename.mdl.' Read and write it, rename to your new .mdl and .mdx (that are in your override currenty) and drag and drop into override to replace the old ones. You have to do this because apparently KotOR looks for the aurora base name before checking the filename when it's in override. Not sure why you have to do this, but I discovered it when I made a new mask.

Someone should Sticky this.