PDA

View Full Version : JK AND MotS help desperately required!!


Jenniwin
12-20-2008, 06:04 PM
I have a Vista Laptop (through necessity not choice as my old XP laptop died) and I want to play my JK and MotS again. I've installed them fine, changed their compatibilities and ticked the Disable Visual Themes, Disable Desktop Composition and run as administrator boxes as the Vista-related sticky on this board helpfully suggested.

HOWEVER,
In JK, the games starts fine, plays the first cutscene where Jerec kills the Jedi, then crashes.

In MotS, the game appears to start as the screen goes black, I hear a 'bleep' type sound and then it crashes.

:swear:
No matter what I do I cannot get any further than described on both games. I am at a complete loss as to how to fix them both, and would greatly appreciate any help or advice given.

Thanks

JKLE_Cougar
01-01-2009, 02:56 PM
create a shortcut for JK.exe and JKM.exe

right click on them and hit properties

for the path you will see "c:\bla bla bla ba"

at the end of that after the " type -windowgui

Jenniwin
01-09-2009, 05:40 PM
I followed the above and got it all working!! Thank you so much.

Turb0
02-16-2009, 05:45 PM
create a shortcut for JK.exe and JKM.exe

right click on them and hit properties

for the path you will see "c:\bla bla bla ba"

at the end of that after the " type -windowgui

in which one, the Target: or Start in: ?

picture:

http://img12.imageshack.us/img12/2664/okijuagdoeu0.png (http://img12.imageshack.us/my.php?image=okijuagdoeu0.png)
http://img12.imageshack.us/img12/okijuagdoeu0.png/1/w725.png (http://g.imageshack.us/img12/okijuagdoeu0.png/1/)

when I type this windowgui it says this:

http://img132.imageshack.us/img132/1436/reiammon0.png (http://img132.imageshack.us/my.php?image=reiammon0.png)
http://img132.imageshack.us/img132/reiammon0.png/1/w574.png (http://g.imageshack.us/img132/reiammon0.png/1/)

leXX
02-16-2009, 06:11 PM
In the target.

I think you're typing it wrong. It should look like this...

C:\Program Files\LucasArts\MotS\JKM.EXE"-windowgui

Turb0
02-17-2009, 12:51 PM
oh yes, but still same problem:

http://img148.imageshack.us/img148/6456/20472724ce3.png (http://img148.imageshack.us/my.php?image=20472724ce3.png)
http://img148.imageshack.us/img148/20472724ce3.png/1/w574.png (http://g.imageshack.us/img148/20472724ce3.png/1/)

acdcfanbill
02-17-2009, 02:22 PM
there has to be a space between JKM.EXE" and -windowgui

Turb0
02-17-2009, 04:33 PM
OK I did that and I can't even run the game.
This message displays:

http://www.shrani.si/f/2f/8d/31abIs5O/mots.png

What should I do now?:confused: I clicked OK and nothing happens

JKLE_Cougar
02-17-2009, 05:32 PM
You put the JK CD2 in your drive and hit ok... it reads it and then you put the MotS cd back in

but I am guessing you dont have the CD's

if thats the case PM me ::