PDA

View Full Version : Full Tech Tree


observer_20000
08-04-2001, 08:37 PM
Does anyone know if GB will have a full tech tree, or all techs option like AOK?

darthfergie
08-04-2001, 08:40 PM
I doubt it because if you remeber all artwork is different for all sides so what would you be getting besides the ultimate Race?
Alot of confusion.

Tie Guy
08-04-2001, 09:14 PM
He's right, the gungans shouldn't be able to build a Dark Trooper, or the Empire a snowpeeder. It just doens't fit very well with Star Wars, as where it would when all the other units look the same in AOK.

darthfergie
08-04-2001, 09:16 PM
You can probably put Dark Troopers on your side if your a Gungan and say they were traitors, but probably only through the Editor.

Tie Guy
08-04-2001, 11:09 PM
Oh yeah, i forgot about the editor, you could probably do it with that. ALthough, that wouldn't be that cool, and it would be really unfair. You could just stack yourself with lots of special units, and destroy the enemy, but that wouldn't be any fun.

darthfergie
08-04-2001, 11:28 PM
Unless you were tring to get back at someone for blowing you away in multiplayer...

Tie Guy
08-04-2001, 11:52 PM
They'd never let you play like that in Multiplayer, they'd just quit. I would :D

darthfergie
08-04-2001, 11:53 PM
So would I, but still...

Darth_Rommel
08-05-2001, 12:16 AM
I would stand up to the cheating scum! I would teach him a lesson we would not easily forget. I would destroy him with the almighty PALADIN RUSH!

darthfergie
08-05-2001, 12:18 AM
Or maybe not, in STAR WARS!!:D

Darth_Rommel
08-05-2001, 12:22 AM
Oops, I forgot about that! :o

darthfergie
08-05-2001, 12:24 AM
It's okay. even though everybody thought you were crazy for a secound there:D

Paragon_Leon
08-05-2001, 08:29 AM
Most techs will be different names for all civs anyway, but they will do the same thing.. In AOK, a full tech tree didn't mean you could get the exact same unit as another civ. You were playing with humans, and that made it easier. If a Gungan had a champion-like unit you could only build with the full techs-option, it would be a different looking unit than the TF-champion-unit.

So it probably won't be a problem.. even less so than with AOK really.

Now if only we HAD Paladins in Star Wars, they'd look like Stormtroopers on Dewbacks... :D

Tie Guy
08-05-2001, 12:46 PM
I don't get how that would make it easier to do? With all of the different units for each, you'd have a ton of different units while being one civ. It wouldn't be worth even choosing a civ. It would be like playing as the entire Old Republic.

darthfergie
08-05-2001, 12:50 PM
You would basically be only getting techs then. Would that not be very confusing using the Imperials and be using Gungan Techs.:confused:

Darth_Rommel
08-05-2001, 12:52 PM
Yeah, so this a feature that probably won't be incorprated into this game (unless you wanna play as the old republic!)

darthfergie
08-05-2001, 12:56 PM
Or you want to play the Ultimate Race. Which would be cheaper than it was on AoK.

Tie Guy
08-05-2001, 01:30 PM
Yes, i don think that they will have it. Why would they. Except for the unique units, they would just have 6 of the pretty much same thing. That would be pointless, even though you could get the unique ones.

darthfergie
08-05-2001, 03:22 PM
On Aok when you have on Full-Tech tree you only get your unique units. Not everybody elses.:D

Tie Guy
08-05-2001, 04:31 PM
I was talking about the regular units. Say you had that on and you wanted basic infantry. You could choose

Stormies
Wookiee Troops
Rebel Troopers
Gungans
Naboo Guards
TF Droids

You wouldn't need all those, obviously, since they are the sam, just with different art.

Lord JayVizIon
08-05-2001, 04:35 PM
which reminds me, would units in the same class such as trooperse get the same type of upgrade such as increased blaster range?

darthfergie
08-05-2001, 04:36 PM
I'm not so sure it would work that way, but somebody will probably come out with an Ultimate Race Mod so you never know.

darthfergie
08-05-2001, 04:36 PM
Lord JayVizIon when did you get a new aviator?

Lord JayVizIon
08-05-2001, 04:39 PM
hey fergie,
this morning, i read one of leon's post so i thought i'd do a quick scan of a snowspeeder from pc gamer to reveal the snowspeeder. i don't remember if there any pics of it on other screenshots........

Paragon_Leon
08-05-2001, 04:41 PM
Jayvision, thanks for posting that...
you can actually see something else; a power-generator of some kind ? what do you people think ?

Lord JayVizIon
08-05-2001, 04:43 PM
leon,
that blue thing is an imperial battle droid from ESB, if i'm not mistaken. i'm thinking either they are the imperial villagers/workers or as spies/scouts as they were in the movie........

Paragon_Leon
08-05-2001, 04:52 PM
yeah, now i'm looking at the picture and i see your avatar is a bit misformed.. it's supposed to be a bit broader, but there you have it..

what kind of techs do you people think an ATAT will have as upgrades ?

darthfergie
08-05-2001, 04:55 PM
Well if you've seen my screenshot I just posted I think it upgrades to a full fledged At-At at one point. If you didn't see it go to... Unit deaths discussion... I think:atat: :atat: :atat:

Lord JayVizIon
08-05-2001, 04:56 PM
a bit misinformed leon? geezzzzz:band:

Paragon_Leon
08-05-2001, 05:01 PM
hehe... that wasn't my question. So you have an ATAT. now what upgrades can you research for it ? think about it: Heavier lasers ? Armor ? be creative...

Kvan
08-05-2001, 05:02 PM
Originally posted by Paragon_Leon
hehe... that wasn't my question. So you have an ATAT. now what upgrades can you research for it ? think about it: Heavier lasers ? Armor ? be creative...
....better sensors?

darthfergie
08-05-2001, 05:04 PM
Why better sensors for the At-At? Why not for At-Pt or AT-St

Paragon_Leon
08-05-2001, 05:06 PM
could be for all three. i'm just trying to stir up some thought about the actual tech tree..

Kvan
08-05-2001, 05:07 PM
Originally posted by darthfergie
Why better sensors for the At-At? Why not for At-Pt or AT-St
Cause.....the ATAT is taller and not as much stuff gets in the way of the sensors?

Lord JayVizIon
08-05-2001, 05:07 PM
i was just kidding leon.

if i had to imagine, the upgrades for the AT'S would be as follows:

better armor/shields
sensors
longer range for blasters
probably more powerful blasters

that's about it maybe. i doubt speed is b/c how can you increase the speed of something that big anyways......

Paragon_Leon
08-05-2001, 05:12 PM
i got the joke, Jay.. :D
but i still wanted to know about the techs. i think of that mega-laser they used to destroy the shield-generator on Hoth.. that sounds like one to research..

darthfergie
08-05-2001, 05:13 PM
Hey, Lord JayVizIon

Your aviator would look a bit better if it didn't show where the gun is through the entire ship. Luckly this is an early pic. by PcGamer or I would be worried.:D

Tie Guy
08-05-2001, 05:36 PM
And it doesn't have good resolution, as you see it very close, much closer than it was meant to be. If you saw it on screen i'm sure it would look better. You're right though, i think the screens in PC Gamer were from the pre-redesigned era of artwork.

darthfergie
08-05-2001, 06:08 PM
yes I have that PcGamer and they were deffinatly pre design. pre E3 actually.:)