PDA

View Full Version : [K1] Friendly NPC Spawn


Demongo
04-20-2009, 12:42 PM
I have some problems with spawning friendly creatures :(

I just simply want to spawn a friendly creature but somewhy not all the scripts are working. Yes, some scripts work some don't :(

So here's what I use eg. for Darth Revan and he doesn't want to spawn.

void main()

{

CreateObject( OBJECT_TYPE_CREATURE,
"darthrevan", GetLocation(GetFirstPC()));

}


I compiled it and the name of the script isn't too long I'm sure.
Can someone help me? :confused: :confused:

ajlbibak
04-21-2009, 06:23 AM
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=143536

Read post #3.

Demongo
04-21-2009, 08:02 AM
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=143536

Read post #3.

You misunderstand me. I know how to spawn creatures. I use those scripts, but they don't want to work. :(

Canderis
04-21-2009, 09:59 AM
Did you, when you compiled it, name it with the extension .nss, its a thing that has gotten me a bunch.

Demongo
04-21-2009, 10:03 AM
Did you, when you compiled it, name it with the extension .nss, its a thing that has gotten me a bunch.

Well I created a script and named it "spawn_revan.nss"
Then, I compiled it and deleted the .nss and .ndb files, so I have only "spawn_revan.ncs" in my Override folder.

Canderis
04-21-2009, 10:09 AM
What did you use to compile it, the ktool? Or nscomp or whatever.

Demongo
04-21-2009, 10:12 AM
What did you use to compile it, the ktool? Or nscomp or whatever.

I used HazardX's Script Compiler.

Canderis
04-21-2009, 10:15 AM
Try using the one with the ktool. In the text editor.

Demongo
04-21-2009, 10:18 AM
Try using the one with the ktool. In the text editor.

I tried using Kotor Tool but it always says
"Error:Unable to open input file":(

Ulmont
04-21-2009, 10:20 AM
Just Copy and paste the script into KotOR Tool and compile it. See if that works.

Edit: I just took you script, pasted it into KTool, and compiled it. It seems to be working now, do you want me to send it to you?

Demongo
04-21-2009, 10:25 AM
Just Copy and paste the script into KotOR Tool and compile it. See if that works.

I've tried that, but it didn't work.:(

Canderis
04-21-2009, 10:31 AM
Ill try to compile it, what game?

Ulmont
04-21-2009, 10:31 AM
Here, this is what I did:

Copied the file into Ktool's text editor.
Replaced "darthreven" with "c_rakghoul"
Saved as spawner.nss
Hit Compile and put into a .dlg file.

Should work after that.

P.S.
what game?

Its for K1.

Demongo
04-21-2009, 10:33 AM
Ill try to compile it, what game?

Okay here is the script:

void main()

{

CreateObject( OBJECT_TYPE_CREATURE,
"g_darthrevan", GetLocation(GetFirstPC()));

}


See if it works for you

Canderis
04-21-2009, 10:34 AM
And the game?

Demongo
04-21-2009, 10:36 AM
And the game?

KotOR 1

Demongo
04-22-2009, 11:43 AM
*sigh*
I have more truoble with these spawn scripts......I don't know why..
Somewhy I can't spawn Zaalbar!
I tried everything with gff editor and ktool, but nothing works

Here's the Code:

NOTE: I created a .utc file named "zaalb.utc"

void main()

{

CreateObject( OBJECT_TYPE_CREATURE,
"zaalb", GetLocation(GetFirstPC()));

}


Can someone help me?

Ulmont
04-22-2009, 07:16 PM
I suspect this is a minor problem caused by your computer, or a slightly corrupted version of KotOR Tool. I have no idea why that script doesn't work for you, as I just used it in KTool, and I worked for me. Do you want me to send you a compiled version? The only thing I could possibly think that may work to fix this, is that you follow these steps exactly:

1. Copy the entire code into KotorTool's text editor.
2. Under the Script menu, select "Script is for Kotor I
3. Go to File > Save As > spawner.nss
4. Go to Script > Compile
5. MAKE SURE THAT YOU TYPE IN THE CORRECT SCRIPT NAME INTO YOUR .DLG FILE
6. Test in game.

Demongo
04-23-2009, 07:59 AM
I suspect this is a minor problem caused by your computer, or a slightly corrupted version of KotOR Tool. I have no idea why that script doesn't work for you, as I just used it in KTool, and I worked for me. Do you want me to send you a compiled version? The only thing I could possibly think that may work to fix this, is that you follow these steps exactly:

1. Copy the entire code into KotorTool's text editor.
2. Under the Script menu, select "Script is for Kotor I
3. Go to File > Save As > spawner.nss
4. Go to Script > Compile
5. MAKE SURE THAT YOU TYPE IN THE CORRECT SCRIPT NAME INTO YOUR .DLG FILE
6. Test in game.


Sadly Ktool's Script Compiler doesn't work for me:(
I always used HazardX's Script Compiler and it usually worked for me

Ulmont
04-23-2009, 10:10 AM
It doesn't? It should work, but you have to save the file as a .nss before compiling. If not, I'll go download HazardX's Compiler and see if it works using that.