PDA

View Full Version : NEED HELP WITH LIGHTSABER!!!!


newby
05-11-2009, 08:39 PM
i was following a tutorial on how to make a lightsaber,http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=143805, and made a custom color for the lightsaber,http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=143456, and I made a uti to make it a seperete item, but when I start the game the handle is there and everything works fine except the blade. The blade is all white like the "blade" when you export a lightsaber in Gmax(yes I have NWmax).(cant put a picture, cant figure out how becuase it only give insert pic from a website, its on my desktop) NEED HELP!!!!

Quanon
05-12-2009, 05:29 AM
Lightsaber problem: I think you'll need to hex-edit your model to give the blade a differant color.

So, euh; a small summery:

1) Make your model like the tutorial says
2) Export and run the Replacer of MDLops
3) Hex-edit the modelname-k1-bin.mdl to replace the old texture.

Be carefull, to do succesfull replacement the amount of characters needs to be the same. So if the old name was BLADE ( 5 characters) your new one needs 5 aswell; something like GLADE => Just an example :lol:

Make sure your new blade texture is a TGA file and put in the Override folder.
Else the game won't use it.


To get pictures in a thread, you must upload them to an image hosting site like Photobucket or Imageshack.

You can then use the http:// URL for your picture**

**example of URL => http://i129.photobucket.com/albums/p214/Quanon/HeadCube01.jpg

The combo of the two :p

http://i129.photobucket.com/albums/p214/Quanon/HeadCube01.jpg

newby
05-12-2009, 06:54 PM
well I changed thw saber model some, so I could try following it exactly, but also I haven't made a texture and can't figure out how to. Also I did hex edite my model, I changed the w_lsabreblue01 to w_lsabrered02. (the dot is in the hex too, or else I would have changed w_lsabreblue01 to w_lsabrered011)

TriggerGod
05-12-2009, 07:07 PM
First, unless you have a custom blade texture, you don't exactly need to hex edit the mdl file. From the looks of what you are describing, it looks like you have your texture made and saved as the name you are trying to hex edit to.

Also I did hex edite my model, I changed the w_lsabreblue01 to w_lsabrered02. (the dot is in the hex too, or else I would have changed w_lsabreblue01 to w_lsabrered011)
Is or isn't? The way you are saying it says 2 different things. If you put the dot in the file, remove it. If it isn't, than it should be ok.
For reference, you don't add any extra characters to the file you are editing. Otherwise, you'd break it, and you would have to re-export.

newby
05-12-2009, 07:27 PM
yes I have a custom blade, in the hex editor I used in order to write or change something, you have to move the cursor(flashing line thing while typing)to the spot before the letter or number you are trying to change, then when you type something it replaces the letter after the flashing line thing. ie. lets say you have w_lsabreblue01, you move the cursor(you should know what I'm talking about now)to inbetween the e and b. You type r and it replaces the b so now its w_lsabrerlue01. I did that the whole time, but if I didn't change the last number(the 1) then it would be w_lsabrered011, so I changed it to a period(.) which I thnk means there is nothing written there.