PDA

View Full Version : Batch Converting .tga's to .jpg format


Qui-Gon Glenn
05-15-2009, 12:36 PM
Hi... sorry if this has been covered before or elsewhere.... the only thing I have found for doing batch conversion of .tga's to .jpg's was a tool for JA... and it inverted all of my images; consequently, no longer being a step saver, I looked for another way.

I use Paint.NET for my artsy stuff... and I am not a super-skilled scripter, so I am not sure how I might go about making a little prog to do it for me.

I am currently taking a lot of screens, and this would be a handy tool in general.

Thanks to anyone with a link or an idea!

disbeliever
05-15-2009, 12:37 PM
You can set up a predefined set of actions in photoshop, save it, and then play it for any number of files. Not as simple as a batch program, but it makes life easier

Qui-Gon Glenn
05-15-2009, 02:07 PM
You can set up a predefined set of actions in photoshop, save it, and then play it for any number of files. Not as simple as a batch program, but it makes life easier
Kinda like a macro?

I wonder if Paint.NET has any of that functionality - I will direct my investigation more narrowly on this route... I do not have $$ for P-Shop, and am too ethical to loot it :|

Thank you for the idea!

I am also going to find that JA converter, and see if there is any source code for it... perhaps then I would know why the image is being inverted for KotOR... or I can get some help modding it!

disbeliever
05-15-2009, 02:18 PM
Essentially, yes.

glovemaster
05-16-2009, 05:49 AM
I believe there was an olde program that was free called "ConvertScreens" or "ConvertShots", it was one of the two :p I'm sure there are much better and technical converters now that will probably cost £££ =/

oldflash
05-16-2009, 06:08 AM
I use Irfanview (http://www.irfanview.com/)

DarthParametric
05-16-2009, 07:11 AM
Why do you need to convert them to JPGs? Paint.NET handles TGAs natively doesn't it?

oldflash
05-16-2009, 10:44 AM
He take ingame screenshhots, means it has alot of tga files and he need to convert all into a jpg file in batch proccess and not one by one. That function is integrated in irfanview (B key if I remember right).

Qui-Gon Glenn
05-16-2009, 10:53 PM
@glovemaster - Yep, that's the one... downloadable at FF... downloaded it again and still inverted. Strange, and unfortunately no source code.
@Darth Parametric - Testing TSLRP, testing my projects, lots and lots of screenshots.... If I am going to have them viewable by the pub, they need to be in .jpg, and as oldflash stated, I have a TON of screens - manually converting one by one is too much trouble if I can help it.

@oldflash - thank you so much! I am going to check the prog out, and feel that I am once again indebted to you.... before it was just for getting to play with your skins and items, now you have helped me :D

Thank you gentlemen!

Qui-Gon Glenn
05-17-2009, 01:30 PM
This thread can be closed if a moderator would like to do so...

irfanview works great! Again, thanks oldflash!

glovemaster
05-17-2009, 02:23 PM
I threw this thing together just, its light-weight and works fine.

Just a pre-warning; its only been tested by me but it should work fine on Windows XP or above.
http://www.theglovemaster.co.uk/mods/tools/Screenshot%20Converter/Screenshot%20Converter.zip

Qui-Gon Glenn
05-17-2009, 04:21 PM
I threw this thing together just, its light-weight and works fine.

Just a pre-warning; its only been tested by me but it should work fine on Windows XP or above.
http://www.theglovemaster.co.uk/mods/tools/Screenshot%20Converter/Screenshot%20Converter.zip
Wow... that was quick, and I'm sure handy... I downloaded it to check it out - it sure has a smaller footprint than irfanview!

Thanks again! Handy tool for testing and sharing!

glovemaster
05-17-2009, 04:33 PM
Wow... that was quick
:lol: Most of the code was ripped out of another program I was working on; a light-weight Targa image viewer, that you just reminded me to finish :p I got fed up with the super slowness that is any product by Apple >.< and I wanted something I could "Right-click -> Open with..."

Anyway, it's done now :p All the tools I throw together are available here:
http://www.theglovemaster.co.uk/?action=tools

Glad to be of help ;)