PDA

View Full Version : Overwriting a Blaster Pistol Model


DarthNandis
05-21-2009, 12:27 PM
Yes, i want do to that... KFiles didn't help me with their tutorial, because it was 3ds max.

Can someone write other one? I have a pistol model and want to try it in the game... but i can't :(

Demongo
05-21-2009, 01:27 PM
Yes, i want do to that... KFiles didn't help me with their tutorial, because it was 3ds max.

Can someone write other one? I have a pistol model and want to try it in the game... but i can't :(

If you already have a model, just name it to:
w_blstrpstl_001.mdl
and
w_blstrpstl_001.mdx

Put them in your Override and that should do it. The Blaster Pistol is replaced.(I don't know much about how to get the textures in game but for the models it should do it).

Trench
05-21-2009, 02:10 PM
DarthDac is right, but he left out one thing. You have to use Gmax to load up the original blaster model, then import your model. Then you move your blaster to the position of the original and delete the latter. After this you link your model to the Aurora base and your done.
The link button is in the top right area of the toolbar.

DarthNandis
05-21-2009, 07:00 PM
But the model i have is only a ediable mesh.

TriggerGod
05-21-2009, 08:32 PM
But the model i have is only a ediable mesh.

That is good. The game doesn't accept Editable Poly. It has to be a mesh. just follow the same steps in the KFiles tutorial. (they have the same set up, I was able to get a blaster in game back when I used GMax.) If you want a more run down version, do this:

1) Extract the blaster pistol models that DarthDac mentioned above from KTool.
2) Use MdlOps to convert your model into an ascii model, a file that nwmax recognizes. Just click "Read and Write" after you select your model.
3) Using Nwmax, find your ascii model that was made by mdlops, and press import. Before doing so, press the "Import Goem only" button.
4) Position (and scale/rotate, if you need to) your pistol to be where the base pistol is.
5) delete the base pistol you extracted.
6) Link your blaster to the aurora base (the blue box)
7) Click the aurora base, and than press export.
7.5) I recommend that you export it to a different place than where the base pistol model files are.
8) In mdlops, press the "Read and Write" button after selecting the model that you exported.
9) Put in override.

DarthNandis
05-21-2009, 09:01 PM
Something is happening, i extracted but there's no files on the folder, why? It says sanity check fail too.

TriggerGod
05-21-2009, 09:15 PM
Something is happening, i extracted but there's no files on the folder, why? It says sanity check fail too.

Oh, I forgot to include a step. Find your GMax folder, get into your nwmax folder (should be in scripts -> startup) and click the snoop executable file.

DarthNandis
05-21-2009, 09:20 PM
I don't have this file :o

EDIT: It extracted now! i will test it!