PDA

View Full Version : [K1] Gmax unable to export/Sanity checks?


Nikcdc
05-27-2009, 02:29 PM
Hello,

I've been trying to learn how to make models for the past week or so, and I'm starting to become decent at modifying stuff. However, I can't seem to save my changes; it throws an error when I export, and even if it *does* create a .mdl file, my changes don't show up.

------------------
Here's my test process, maybe someone can see where I'm going wrong...
(1)I pull a .mdl & .mdx file from Kotor tools, and convert with mdlops.
(2)I open Gmax with the NWmax plugin, and use the "MDL loading" button to import the model (trying both "Geom Only" and "Geom + Anim" options)
(3)Then, I use the Create button to make a 3D box somewhere
(4)I click the blue Aurorabase lines, then the "Export Geom Only" button.

(5)It'll start compiling or whatever it's doing, then a pop-up will appear that says "Failed Sanity Check". I click okay, and it still exports the model.
However, if I open the exported model, it won't show the 3D box I made.
------------------

The changes stay if I just move the existing vertexes around but don't add anything new. That's obviously not good enough, though. :)

If anyone can tell me where I'm goofing up, I'd greatly appreciate it. Thanks.

disbeliever
05-27-2009, 02:34 PM
Just an idea:

Maybe you need to work with centering the pivot points of your new 3d object, and then resetingxform on it.

I always ignore sanity checks anyways. When the mdl gets created, open it in notepad and see if the orientation and position of your new object is jacked up. Search for the name of the object. Maybe its out of scene or something.

oldflash
05-27-2009, 03:03 PM
Try to use NWmax-gmax-v0_7

Nikcdc
05-27-2009, 04:57 PM
@disbeliever: Ah, I forgot to mention that I'm doing the resetXform thing too. I'll give the pivot points a try (although now I need to go look up info on that...so much to learn). Thanks!

@oldflash: I've got version 8; I take it they made some changes that mess up KOTOR models? Would you mind telling where I can download v7; I had a hard enough time finding the plugin with all the broken links for it.

DarthParametric
05-27-2009, 05:46 PM
The official site has been dead for a while now and NWN Vault only seems to have v0.8. However, I did find this working v0.7 mirror listed in the Vault's comments - http://homepages.paradise.net.nz/twl-jame/nwmax/

Running it through VirusTotal (http://www.virustotal.com/analisis/6693b70ed76cdbbaee73b59e915b954b1ceb84aa2413d9d994 0240ab1de5fbd1-1243460406) it gets flagged as suspicious by a couple of apps I've never heard of, but given that all the major AV apps call it clean I'm willing to go out on a limb and say those are false positives.

Nikcdc
05-27-2009, 10:13 PM
@DarthParametric: Thanks! It seems to work fine, so unless my computer explodes... :)

I think my problem is that somehow I'm corrupting my .mdl files when I export them. Because now when I try to reimport something I made, the loading bar will stop and give me something like this...

-------------
MAX script roll error
-----------------
Unable to import: content <node>
--------------

...and, when I try to use mdlops to reconvert it to binary, it gets stuck and doesn't advance beyond "Loading original binary model from...".
Argh...I've been looking through several tutorials and I still can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. Are there any special considerations for a K1 head model versus, say, a blaster model?

DarthParametric
05-28-2009, 01:51 AM
There's no point attempting to add stuff to head or body models. You can't if you want a game-usable mesh. All you can do is adjust vertex positions.

oldflash
05-28-2009, 02:51 AM
@DarthParametric: Thanks! It seems to work fine, so unless my computer explodes... :)

I think my problem is that somehow I'm corrupting my .mdl files when I export them. Because now when I try to reimport something I made, the loading bar will stop and give me something like this...

-------------
MAX script roll error
-----------------
Unable to import: content <node>
--------------

...and, when I try to use mdlops to reconvert it to binary, it gets stuck and doesn't advance beyond "Loading original binary model from...".
Argh...I've been looking through several tutorials and I still can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. Are there any special considerations for a K1 head model versus, say, a blaster model?

That means you must have original models in same location with ascii file and to be with right name.

Nikcdc
05-28-2009, 10:17 AM
@Darth: Oh, okay. Didn't know that. Thanks! Well, that'll make what I want to do harder, but still possible.
***Now I'm able to compile it with Mdlops, but the game crashes when I try to stick it in Override. Hmm...

DarthParametric
05-28-2009, 11:53 AM
You need to be more specific about what it is you are trying to do.

Nikcdc
05-28-2009, 10:02 PM
Yeah, I guess that'd help, huh? :)

----Test Process----
(1)I extract and decompile a body or head model (say, candbb01.mdl & .mdx).
(2)Import it into Gmax via NWmax.
(3)Grab a vertex or two, move them around (for instance, pulling some of the outer vertex on the pouch towards the legs, to make the pouch smaller)
(4)Go to NWmax and click "resetXform"
(5)Click AuroraBase, export candbb01.mdl

(6)Sanity check message pops up (ignoring it)
(7)Use Mdlops/Taina's Replacer to compile ascii into binary
(8)Stick new candbb01.mdl & .mdx into Override, and...

(9)Game crashes when I load a save file that has Canderous in it.
----------------------

What's weird is, I can create masks and weapons just fine, and they work in-game no problem. It's just the body/head files that are causing problems.

DarthParametric
05-29-2009, 02:51 AM
You can only use Taina's Replacer for compiling edited body meshes. What steps are you following in that? Do you get any error messages? Also, going on what oldflash said in another thread, possibly the resetXform step is the cause of your problems.

oldflash
05-29-2009, 06:19 AM
Yeah, I guess that'd help, huh? :)

----Test Process----
(1)I extract and decompile a body or head model (say, candbb01.mdl & .mdx).
(2)Import it into Gmax via NWmax.
(3)Grab a vertex or two, move them around (for instance, pulling some of the outer vertex on the pouch towards the legs, to make the pouch smaller)
(4)Go to NWmax and click "resetXform"
(5)Click AuroraBase, export candbb01.mdl

(6)Sanity check message pops up (ignoring it)
(7)Use Mdlops/Taina's Replacer to compile ascii into binary
(8)Stick new candbb01.mdl & .mdx into Override, and...

(9)Game crashes when I load a save file that has Canderous in it.
----------------------

What's weird is, I can create masks and weapons just fine, and they work in-game no problem. It's just the body/head files that are causing problems.

For body models: skip step 4 (do not use resetXform on body models).
If the body has also head you can't use mdlops for conversion back to binary.
Be sure you use mwmax v0.7
Sample of edited P_CandBB (http://oldflash.diinoweb.com/files/wip/cand_2.jpg)

Nikcdc
05-29-2009, 08:58 PM
Alright! I guess that resetXform was the problem, because now it works. Well...not entirely (there are random polygons shooting off the character in-game), but I guess that's because I don't know enough to set the correct vertex weights.

You'll both definitely be in the credits for the mod I'm making (assuming it's good enough, haha). Thanks again!

oldflash
05-30-2009, 06:41 AM
This thread (http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=197137) may give you some hints about setting vertex weight.