PDA

View Full Version : Becoming Darth


newbiemodder
06-02-2009, 12:44 PM
This question must have been asked before, but I'm unable to find any threads on it. Is it possible thru scripting to change the name of your PC to Darth during the game--once you decide to follow the dark path and have it show on screens rather than your initial name.

Gargoyle King
06-02-2009, 12:58 PM
You've never used KSE (http://www.starwarsknights.com/mtools/kse_333.zip) (Kotor Save Editor)?

VarsityPuppet
06-02-2009, 01:30 PM
Perhaps he wants an in-game option to do so? Otherwise, that would pretty much solve it.

newbiemodder
06-02-2009, 02:02 PM
Yep, in game option...where you are assigned or get to choose a new name..and that becomes your default name for the remainder of the game.

Demongo
06-02-2009, 02:30 PM
This may be a sick idea, but maybe there's a script to bring up the "new game screen" in-game:D Or maybe you could check KSE's scripts.(it is VERY VERY LOOOOOOONG)

VarsityPuppet
06-02-2009, 08:54 PM
Okay, that's it... we need to find an experienced scripter! This could possibly the greatest mod that every darksider needs!

newbiemodder
06-02-2009, 09:20 PM
Haven't you guys ever thought about this before? I always considered this a big flaw in both games. Scripters needed

Silveredge9
06-02-2009, 09:55 PM
To my knowledge, an in-game option wouldn't be possible. You would have to use KSE.

glovemaster
06-03-2009, 06:03 AM
After a while of pondering :p It doesn't seem possible to me.

There is no script function to change the name of a Character short of using custom tokens, nor are you able to swap the PC for a different NPC.

R2-X2
06-03-2009, 07:55 AM
Would be funny if you could make a script that fires KSE and changes your name using it while playing the game :p. But thats "even more impossible".

Fair Strides 2
02-20-2012, 12:39 AM
This question must have been asked before, but I'm unable to find any threads on it. Is it possible thru scripting to change the name of your PC to Darth during the game--once you decide to follow the dark path and have it show on screens rather than your initial name.

I know jack about scripting. What I do know is that they follow simple "If...,then" statements. What I am pretty sure about is that there is a script that inserts name given at the new game screen. If I am correct, find that script, figure out how it relates to the dialogues, and adapt the script to do an alignment check(i.e.:Alignment in KSE reads 20 or less), and chuck it in the override.

I'm good with the theoretical aspects behind things, but ask me to do something and watch what happens.

90SK
02-20-2012, 01:33 AM
I will look into this, I am interested in working more with this idea Newbiemodder

Fair Strides 2
02-20-2012, 02:05 AM
I will look into this, I am interested in working more with this idea Newbiemodder

Did you just decide that after reading my thoughts on the matter? If so, thank you and your welcome for bumping the thread.

VarsityPuppet
02-20-2012, 02:16 AM
Wow I posted in this thread a long time ago too... hmmm

Knowing what I know now, I wonder if it would still be possible...

Fair Strides 2
02-20-2012, 02:22 AM
Wow I posted in this thread a long time ago too... hmmm

Knowing what I know now, I wonder if it would still be possible...

WOAH! Where'd you come from?! I'm sitting here waiting for 90 SK's reply, and then YOU show up. You subscribed to my activity or what?

newbiemodder
02-20-2012, 09:06 AM
wow...a flash from the past...good luck

Fair Strides 2
02-20-2012, 12:39 PM
wow...a flash from the past...good luck

It's because of things like this that KOTOR modding still lives on 8 years after the game came out. :)

Christos K
02-20-2012, 02:03 PM
I hope this is possible. Even though I usually play Dark Side 1 out of every 3 playthroughs this would be great to have.

90SK
02-20-2012, 07:32 PM
I'm trying to remember if there are prompts like that in game, that you can use to change aspects of the character like the name. I feel like there aren't any, its usually a selection option rather than typing in new information. Sorry if this is an old thread I wasn't paying attention to the dates.

I was already trying to make a mod where you can voluntarily change your characters identity after you defeat Darth Nihilus, but its still a rough idea.

newbiemodder
02-20-2012, 08:27 PM
I'm trying to remember if there are prompts like that in game, that you can use to change aspects of the character like the name. I feel like there aren't any, its usually a selection option rather than typing in new information. Sorry if this is an old thread I wasn't paying attention to the dates.

I was already trying to make a mod where you can voluntarily change your characters identity after you defeat Darth Nihilus, but its still a rough idea.

The only thing I can think of is when you choose your path..Jedi guardian, sentinel etc....your class changes from whatever you started as

JCarter426
02-22-2012, 01:13 AM
It doesn't change your class; it adds a new class. There seem to be no script functions to permanently change anything about your character. Well, almost anything, but most of those are only in K2. The character creation system probably runs on its own code; I can't see any of its source files anywhere - or at least anything that is obviously from the character creation system. Even if you could find them, I suspect it wouldn't matter; the system creates a character from scratch and assigns it to the PC - it doesn't change the PC in any way. So in short, I doubt it's possible... but that doesn't mean it's impossible. Good luck, anyone who still wants to fumble in the dark. :p