PDA

View Full Version : Creating RIM's and ERF's? (TSL)


gsusfrk
06-24-2009, 11:41 AM
Hello everyone. I'm new to the forums and I was wondering if there was a way to modify the original KOTOR II TSL RIM's and ERF's, or to save a mod as an ERF and two RIM's, as the original game does. What I want to do is add a dialogue option in the very beginning of the Peragus level, right as your character wakes up, in order to choose between playing the regular game and playing my mod (which is a WIP by the way).
Is there a way in order to do this? Thanks for the help!

stoffe
06-24-2009, 11:45 AM
Hello everyone. I'm new to the forums and I was wondering if there was a way to modify the original KOTOR II TSL RIM's and ERF's, or to save a mod as an ERF and two RIM's, as the original game does. What I want to do is add a dialogue option in the very beginning of the Peragus level, right as your character wakes up, in order to choose between playing the regular game and playing my mod (which is a WIP by the way).
Is there a way in order to do this? Thanks for the help!

You can edit the content of the ERF and RIM files of the game if needed; look in the Tools forum, should be threads about ERF/RIM editors there you can use (this one (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=165051) for example).

Generally it's best to avoid editing the standard game archive files though unless it's really necessary. It's easier for people to keep different mods compatible if the modded files are placed in the override folder instead. Sometimes it's unavoidable though, depending on what needs to be modified.

gsusfrk
06-24-2009, 04:16 PM
I've already extracted the 101PER files I need (two RIM's and an ERF) and I've done my modifying, but when I use KOTOR Tool to patch it all up (using the ERF button on the main screen), I can't save anything as a RIM. My only options are MOD, which I would use for my custom levels, ERF, HAK, and SAV. I have a suspicion that the modified 101PER files must be in the two RIM, one ERF format, or the game will hit an error when it tries to load 101PER. Am I correct? Is that the only way the game will load 101PER? Or is there a way where I could save files as a RIM? I apologize if I didn't explain myself clearly before, and I am grateful for all help received.


EDIT: I poked around with the ERF file builder in KOTOR Tool, and I found I could specify my file format in the file format drop-box (where I was given the options of MOD, ERF, HAK, and SAV), so I could type in RIM. My question now is, for those who have done it before, will simply typing in RIM in the drop-box and saving in that format work correctly in-game? (If I want to test it, I've made backups of the original 101PER files)

stoffe
06-24-2009, 05:42 PM
I've already extracted the 101PER files I need (two RIM's and an ERF) and I've done my modifying, but when I use KOTOR Tool to patch it all up (using the ERF button on the main screen), I can't save anything as a RIM.

You can edit the content of the ERF and RIM files of the game if needed; look in the Tools forum, should be threads about ERF/RIM editors there you can use (this one (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=165051) for example).


:dev8:

KotorTool cannot edit RIM or ERF format files, or create RIM files.

gsusfrk
06-24-2009, 06:44 PM
:dev8:

KotorTool cannot edit RIM or ERF format files, or create RIM files.

Thanks for the help! I've tried your tool and the game still functions, so it works. I seem to be having trouble with a script I'm executing, but I'll ask that somewhere where it applies. Thanks a lot!