PDA

View Full Version : Modual help KOTOR1


darthriddick
06-30-2009, 03:38 AM
:cry8::cry8::cry8::giveup::giveup:


I've started working on a new area, (using existing module), and I placed some items in it to test it, loaded the game up warped into the module and all the items were invisible! ???

I'm using Sandrals estate.

Please, please, please, I'm beggin anyone who knows what's up to help me. PLEASE! :confused:

I'm on my hands and knees here. Don't ignore me like everyone usually does... HELP Meee! *Whines pitifully*.

Canderis
06-30-2009, 08:51 AM
What do you mean items? Like placables?

R2-X2
06-30-2009, 10:05 AM
You have to change most things' Z-coordinate if you use the module editor. Warp into the module, type "whereami" and use the Z-co. for your placeables/doors.

darthriddick
06-30-2009, 02:34 PM
EDIT: Yes, placables.

Hmmm...

I'm still at a loss.
Ok here is what is happening in slightly more detail....

I downloaded the map file from the kotor tool site, put it the maps folder of kotor tool, extracted the module I wanted to use, 16danm or something like that, and I placed that into a empty folder for my project.

Then I started the Kotor tool Module editor and selected the project folder.

Everything showed up fine.

Then I Placed a few tester items into the world space, using the place items function of the module editor. I then loaded the game from a save point in a neutral location and warped into my new module. However for some idiotic reason all of the items I had placed were invisible. (They still registered as being in the world space, I.E. I could run into them, but they had no texture/model.

EXCEPT for two pillars I had placed in there. They showed up fine. (The pillars from the pillar energy minigame puzzle).

Now I know that if I'm working with the module editor and a new area I don't have to manually place the items. (I remember this working about a year ago the last time I worked on a new module), so does anyone have any ideas as to what the smeg is going on?

Also thank you so much for the prompt replies. It's really nice to have a couple of people around here who are willing to help a fellow modder in need.