PDA

View Full Version : light saber with no blade


Darth Cryptic
07-03-2009, 01:01 AM
I was wondering if it's possible to make a light saber that when equipped and activated doesn't produce a blade.

Why I want it is Griff's gonna be selling it and if you do purchase it it's broken, there's no way to make it work (unless you manage a difficult repair roll). if you try taking it back Griff tells you no refunds.

VarsityPuppet
07-03-2009, 01:22 AM
I don't see why you couldn't do it. Just make a saber model, don't UV map the blade. You'd probably still be able to do damage with it though... hm

Trench
07-03-2009, 01:23 AM
Just make the entire targa for the blade black. For TSL it makes the blade invisible, but in K1 it just makes the blade black.

VarsityPuppet
07-03-2009, 01:54 AM
As for making it NOT do any damage, you could make it into a prop. TSL has a few of them, such as cups, pazaak cards and an empty hand. Give it no damage properties, see if you can instead 'write in' the effects that Griff says it has.

And when you attack with/equip it, you should have a dlg pop up and say "This lightsaber won't activate. The emitter seems to be fractured and is irreparable. This is more useless than scrap metal."

Eh? how about it? Eh?

Trench
07-03-2009, 01:58 AM
Ooh! Me likes that idea:D. Me thinks that that would be kandosii!

R2-X2
07-03-2009, 02:49 AM
Ropy a lightsaber row in baseitems.2da and change the "powereditem" column to 0. Then open your new .uti ing a GFF editor (I prefer K-GFF) and change the "baseitem" number to the number of your new row.

Darth Cryptic
07-04-2009, 12:30 AM
R2, thanks. that actually helps me doubly I think.

Trench
07-04-2009, 12:41 AM
If possible you could also add a sparking effect that happens every time the blade is "ignited".