PDA

View Full Version : Can someone get a model in-game for me?


Gob
07-26-2009, 10:04 AM
This is kind of weird, but could someone help get a model to work properly for me? I've tried and tried, but I can't seem to get it working right. It's a head model that uses a skin that requires a new UV map. Even though I adjusted the UV map, it still uses the old one in-game, so it looks pretty jacked up. So if I send all of the files you need, can someone try and get it in-game so that it uses the new UV map?

Canderis
07-26-2009, 10:17 AM
Are you using the replacer?

Gob
07-26-2009, 11:08 AM
Yep... I use it for all of my models, and the UV map usually comes out right. But that's probably because this is the first model that actually needed a new UV map. I've tried replacing it with head02 checked, head_g checked, and everything checked, but it was still distorted each time.

Canderis
07-26-2009, 11:10 AM
Have you checked the texture co-ords boxes?

TriggerGod
07-26-2009, 02:53 PM
Did you end up detaching parts of the map? (in GMax, its harder to tell. Did you have to make the map into different parts than what it was?) IIRC, we still can't exactly detach uv coords and have it work correctly in game.

Gob
07-26-2009, 07:23 PM
Have you checked the texture co-ords boxes?

I checked the only boxes that were there. There are two columns of model parts next to the "Start Replacing" button, and the left one can be checked/unchecked. Those were the ones I checked.

Did you end up detaching parts of the map? (in GMax, its harder to tell. Did you have to make the map into different parts than what it was?) IIRC, we still can't exactly detach uv coords and have it work correctly in game.

I guess that must be the problem. This is the UV map:

http://img154.imageshack.us/img154/6129/40100406.jpg

So when I put it in the game, the face basically appears sideways. Any ideas on how to fix the UV map accordingly, or will I have to redo the map?

TriggerGod
07-26-2009, 08:23 PM
I guess that must be the problem. This is the UV map:

http://img154.imageshack.us/img154/6129/40100406.jpg

So when I put it in the game, the face basically appears sideways. Any ideas on how to fix the UV map accordingly, or will I have to redo the map?

Yikes. Did you happen to mess with the hair...?

Anyways, yeah, you'll probably have to re-do the map. You aren't supposed to make extra green lines. It means you'll have to do a little texture editing, but the end result will be worth it.

Gob
07-26-2009, 08:33 PM
Yikes. Did you happen to mess with the hair...?

Anyways, yeah, you'll probably have to re-do the map. You aren't supposed to make extra green lines. It means you'll have to do a little texture editing, but the end result will be worth it.

Nope, I didn't touch the hair.

This may be repeating the question I had in my other thread, but how would I cover both sides of the face without making new green lines? Though it does make sense now.

TriggerGod
07-26-2009, 08:52 PM
This may be repeating the question I had in my other thread, but how would I cover both sides of the face without making new green lines? Though it does make sense now.
this (http://oldflash.bravehost.com/7of9/)

In a nutshell:
Select half the face
use the flip horizontal button
move around the texture map until you get what you need

By using the flip horizontal button, you don't create new green lines, and it will be able to export into the game.

Gob
07-29-2009, 11:54 AM
this (http://oldflash.bravehost.com/7of9/)

In a nutshell:
Select half the face
use the flip horizontal button
move around the texture map until you get what you need

By using the flip horizontal button, you don't create new green lines, and it will be able to export into the game.

That's the tutorial I was working with before, but thanks to your explanation, I think I figured it out. But one last question. When I flip and move it, the parts of the UV map that are stretched also show up...

Quanon
07-31-2009, 05:20 PM
Hmmmz, I not sure what you did with the hair part?

Was it like that on the model when you started?
Did you use the auto MDLops from Kotor-Tool ? I've sometimes had bad luck with that one.
It often worked better if I first just extract the Binary MDL & MDX and then compile seperatly.

Anyway, I can't see what I can say better then whats shown in the tutorial.
Other then to first apply your own texture to head, it'll look wrong first, but like that you don't have to exit the UVW map screen.

Other tip is to be very precise and carefull when you start to select faces.
You might want to to turn on Ignore Backface ... euh stuff in the Editable Mesh settings.

Else you'll be annoyed with miss selecting other faces and so on... to tired to go into details :p

Good night!

Gob
07-31-2009, 07:30 PM
Hmmmz, I not sure what you did with the hair part?

Was it like that on the model when you started?
Did you use the auto MDLops from Kotor-Tool ? I've sometimes had bad luck with that one.
It often worked better if I first just extract the Binary MDL & MDX and then compile seperatly.

Anyway, I can't see what I can say better then whats shown in the tutorial.
Other then to first apply your own texture to head, it'll look wrong first, but like that you don't have to exit the UVW map screen.

Other tip is to be very precise and carefull when you start to select faces.
You might want to to turn on Ignore Backface ... euh stuff in the Editable Mesh settings.

Else you'll be annoyed with miss selecting other faces and so on... to tired to go into details :p

Good night!

The hair was like that from the beginning. I didn't touch it. It looks fine in-game, though.

I realized that, being the fool I am, I was clicking mirror vertically, not flip vertically. Alas, even when I rectified that error, it still comes up like this in-game...

http://img43.imageshack.us/img43/7844/render1o.jpg

If what TG is saying is true, then the game's just using the default UV map because it can't register the new one. Also, I don't know if this matters, but when I click "Editable Mesh," it reverts back to the old UV map, but I can't do anything about that.

TriggerGod
07-31-2009, 07:54 PM
When you click back to Mesh, it reverts the map automatically to before you did any changes, that's just one of the quirks of Max.

Now, as for your problem, did it look ok in Max before you exported? If it did, tell us exactly what you did during the export, and using Taina's replacer.

Gob
07-31-2009, 08:40 PM
When you click back to Mesh, it reverts the map automatically to before you did any changes, that's just one of the quirks of Max.

Now, as for your problem, did it look ok in Max before you exported? If it did, tell us exactly what you did during the export, and using Taina's replacer.

It looked perfect before I exported. Here's the tutorial I'm using. (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=193050) Here's what I did:

1. Clicked on the aurorabase square thing
2. Clicked "export geom + anims" (Usually doesn't export properly when I hit "geoms only")
3. Went to my export folder, renamed it from "pmhc04ascii_new.mdl" to "pmhc04_new.mdl"
4. Put the original "pmhc04.mdl" with its corresponding .mdx file, along with the original "pmhc04-ascii.mdl" in the same folder
5. Opened Taina's Replacer, hit "Open ASCII Models"
6. First opened "pmhc04-ascii.mdl," then "pmhc04ascii_new"
7. Hit "Start Replacing" (Again, I tried it with different assortments of items checked, but none of them worked)
8. Opened "pmhc04.mdl" then saved as "pmhc04_new.mdl"
9. Hit "Start Replacing" again
10. Opened "pmhc04.mdx" and saved as "pmhc04_new.mdx"
11. Took my new files, moved them somewhere else, then removed the "_new" from the filenames
12. Put them in the override, along with the new textures, and it came up as the picture above

I tried this exact same process without changing the UV map, and it works fine. And its only if I don't change the UV map at all. Even if I just rotate the face or something without flipping it, it still uses the old map.

TriggerGod
07-31-2009, 10:09 PM
It looked perfect before I exported. Here's the tutorial I'm using. (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=193050) Here's what I did:

1. Clicked on the aurorabase square thing
2. Clicked "export geom + anims" (Usually doesn't export properly when I hit "geoms only")
3. Went to my export folder, renamed it from "pmhc04ascii_new.mdl" to "pmhc04_new.mdl"
4. Put the original "pmhc04.mdl" with its corresponding .mdx file, along with the original "pmhc04-ascii.mdl" in the same folder
5. Opened Taina's Replacer, hit "Open ASCII Models"
6. First opened "pmhc04-ascii.mdl," then "pmhc04ascii_new"
7. Hit "Start Replacing" (Again, I tried it with different assortments of items checked, but none of them worked)
8. Opened "pmhc04.mdl" then saved as "pmhc04_new.mdl"
9. Hit "Start Replacing" again
10. Opened "pmhc04.mdx" and saved as "pmhc04_new.mdx"
11. Took my new files, moved them somewhere else, then removed the "_new" from the filenames
12. Put them in the override, along with the new textures, and it came up as the picture above

I tried this exact same process without changing the UV map, and it works fine. And its only if I don't change the UV map at all. Even if I just rotate the face or something without flipping it, it still uses the old map.

The only thing I can think of at this point is either re-export and re-download Taina's replacer, and try again, or, this one is far-fetched, double check that the texture you put in the override folder is the right one.

And try running your new model files (after replacing) through mdlops, and import them into Max. Check the map.

Gob
07-31-2009, 11:10 PM
And try running your new model files (after replacing) through mdlops, and import them into Max. Check the map.

I tried this, and interestingly enough, it had the old UV map when I imported my new model back into max... Obviously, something's wrong with the way I'm exporting the model, and it's not exporting the updated UV with the model. I consulted the 7/9 tutorial, but I can't really understand the exporting instructions...

Quanon
08-01-2009, 05:17 AM
I tried this, and interestingly enough, it had the old UV map when I imported my new model back into max... Obviously, something's wrong with the way I'm exporting the model, and it's not exporting the updated UV with the model. I consulted the 7/9 tutorial, but I can't really understand the exporting instructions...

Hmmm, perhaps the UVWmap needs to be baked back into the mesh again.
As there is no UVW (unwrap thingy) modifier on the model in the beginning.

I'm not sure why in the tutorial they link thing and delete things and so on...
Never done this extensive head editing, so I'm a bit clueless on this specific topic.

Anyway, I think I got something you could try out. I've test it on a head, though I've haven't brought the head into the game, as I extracted that one without anims.

1) Import head
2) Click on Editable mesh, click Yes or HoldYes in the warning pop up
3) Click on Select by Face/ poly in the editable Mesh, then look for Ignore Backfacing. Put that on aswell. Then deselect the mesh.
4) Right click on Perspective Viewport. Go to go Configure and put on Edged Faces in Rendering Levels. It'll be easier to select things while editing the UVWmap.
5) Now add the Unwrap Modifier.
6) Select the half of the face. Go to Tools use one of the Flips :p
7) Use the move and scale tool, then use the Rotate +90 buttons, down at the right of the UVW edit window. Like that its easy to place the new unfolded face.
8) Quit the Edit screen, close it.
9) Now right click on the Unwrap modifier in the stack.
10) Pick Collapse To => NOT Collapse All
11) Max wil throw another warning at you, just click yes. => This is the bit I'm not a 100% on if it'll work. It could be we just destroyed the animations...
12) Export and do the magic with Taina's replacer.

Like I said I did a very short test, export out and import back into Max.
The edit of the UVW was succesfull as I got it back in like I put it out :lol:

Gob
08-01-2009, 10:41 PM
Hmmm, perhaps the UVWmap needs to be baked back into the mesh again.
As there is no UVW (unwrap thingy) modifier on the model in the beginning.

I'm not sure why in the tutorial they link thing and delete things and so on...
Never done this extensive head editing, so I'm a bit clueless on this specific topic.

Anyway, I think I got something you could try out. I've test it on a head, though I've haven't brought the head into the game, as I extracted that one without anims.

1) Import head
2) Click on Editable mesh, click Yes or HoldYes in the warning pop up
3) Click on Select by Face/ poly in the editable Mesh, then look for Ignore Backfacing. Put that on aswell. Then deselect the mesh.
4) Right click on Perspective Viewport. Go to go Configure and put on Edged Faces in Rendering Levels. It'll be easier to select things while editing the UVWmap.
5) Now add the Unwrap Modifier.
6) Select the half of the face. Go to Tools use one of the Flips :p
7) Use the move and scale tool, then use the Rotate +90 buttons, down at the right of the UVW edit window. Like that its easy to place the new unfolded face.
8) Quit the Edit screen, close it.
9) Now right click on the Unwrap modifier in the stack.
10) Pick Collapse To => NOT Collapse All
11) Max wil throw another warning at you, just click yes. => This is the bit I'm not a 100% on if it'll work. It could be we just destroyed the animations...
12) Export and do the magic with Taina's replacer.

Like I said I did a very short test, export out and import back into Max.
The edit of the UVW was succesfull as I got it back in like I put it out :lol:

Still not working.... But I did notice that when I tried importing it back into Max and checking the UV map, it was updated appropriately. As in, it had the new map. It's just when I click on "Skin" that it reverts back to the old one... So the model's carrying the new UV map with it, but for some reason, it's not using it. I wonder what I'm doing wrong? There has to be something astray that's causing this problem.

By the way, thanks to the both of you guys for helping me with this. At least I'm making progress with your help. :thmbup1:

Quanon
08-02-2009, 05:03 AM
So the Skin modifier keeps using the old UVW somehow...
A very wild shot, why not add the Unwrap on top of the Skin modifier.

Perhaps this will give you better results.

Gob
08-02-2009, 11:07 AM
So the Skin modifier keeps using the old UVW somehow...
A very wild shot, why not add the Unwrap on top of the Skin modifier.

Perhaps this will give you better results.

I don't think it's working... But the weird thing is that there are actually 4 head02 units and 4 head_g units. Even when I update the UV map for all of them, it fails to work.

What I might end up doing is releasing a scarless version and include the scarred model and skin files so that other people can try to get it working. Then, I can re-release it with the scar.