PDA

View Full Version : how to create your own portrait for TSL?


redshtef
08-30-2009, 03:23 PM
is there anyway to do it?

jonathan7
08-30-2009, 04:43 PM
Yes it is entirely possible, have a look around this mod to see how to do it; http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filefront.com/file/Custom_Party_Member_Portraits_for_TSL;90738 - you will need photoshop, gimp, or some other photoediting suite to do it...

Darth Avlectus
08-30-2009, 06:44 PM
The simplest might be taking a screenshot in-game at the desired camera angle (kinda hard to do--dunno whaere the tools for that went either. Sorry!) with a solid color background. You can go in and change the solid color to whatever you desire with photo editing software J7 mentioned above.

TriggerGod
08-31-2009, 11:59 AM
If you want to replace an existing portrait, make sure you have your screenshot of your character. You could just resize it to be 128x128 (or 256x256. I usually use this size for portraits) and leave it at that. Or, you can do what I do: Crop out as much as you possibly can from the screenshot without cropping your character out. Then, select the area that you want to be in the portrait. Move that selection to a new canvas (again, using 128x128 or 256x256) and shrink it down to fit the new canvas. Now, you can fill the new image with a solid color, but that isn't very appealing IMO. A gradient (I usually use the radial gradient) looks much better. If you have a more interesting idea for your portrait's background, go ahead and put it there.

(kinda hard to do--dunno whaere the tools for that went either. Sorry!)

You can do that just by rotating the camera in game. Otherwise, you can edit cameras.2da to get the exact angle you want. :)

VarsityPuppet
08-31-2009, 12:22 PM
Making portraits isn't too hard... but making good portraits takes a little work.

Darth Avlectus
08-31-2009, 04:34 PM
^^Ah, but well worth it in the end when your final work of art is at its finished product--and it pleases you.

Depends on what you want, ultimately.

If you want to replace an existing portrait, make sure you have your screenshot of your character. You could just resize it to be 128x128 (or 256x256. I usually use this size for portraits) and leave it at that. Or, you can do what I do: Crop out as much as you possibly can from the screenshot without cropping your character out. Then, select the area that you want to be in the portrait. Move that selection to a new canvas (again, using 128x128 or 256x256) and shrink it down to fit the new canvas. Now, you can fill the new image with a solid color, but that isn't very appealing IMO. A gradient (I usually use the radial gradient) looks much better. If you have a more interesting idea for your portrait's background, go ahead and put it there.

I'd also like to add you can either use KOTOR's engine to enable snapshots, or you could use another program like FRAPS. Just be sure you have some way to ultimately convert it to the correct format file type.

I think the snapshot function does this already, but you may like fraps' free download enough to buy the full version--and it serves a multitude of purposes for taking screenshots in general.

Should you decide to crop, a solid color background isn't essential, but contrast is rather helpful and saves time and eye strain. Again make sure your editing software can either save as correct file type, or you have a way to convert it to such.

You can do that just by rotating the camera in game. Otherwise, you can edit cameras.2da to get the exact angle you want. :)

That's it?!? Wow. Cool. :thmbup1:

redshtef
09-01-2009, 04:55 AM
If you want to replace an existing portrait, make sure you have your screenshot of your character. You could just resize it to be 128x128 (or 256x256. I usually use this size for portraits) and leave it at that. Or, you can do what I do: Crop out as much as you possibly can from the screenshot without cropping your character out. Then, select the area that you want to be in the portrait. Move that selection to a new canvas (again, using 128x128 or 256x256) and shrink it down to fit the new canvas. Now, you can fill the new image with a solid color, but that isn't very appealing IMO. A gradient (I usually use the radial gradient) looks much better. If you have a more interesting idea for your portrait's background, go ahead and put it there.



You can do that just by rotating the camera in game. Otherwise, you can edit cameras.2da to get the exact angle you want. :)

well, i'm not a modder so where do i put that portrait?

jonathan7
09-01-2009, 07:15 AM
well, i'm not a modder so where do i put that portrait?

You put most mods, unless they state in the Override folder (default somethign like; C:Program Files/Lucas Arts/SWKOTOR2/Override )

Secondly, if I may observe this question suggests you haven't bothered downloading and looking around Shem's mod that I suggested - as in the readme it explains how to install that; seriously the quickest way to learn is to see how others have done what you want to do

redshtef
09-02-2009, 04:54 AM
oooh, now i get it. thanks