PDA

View Full Version : NEED HELP: Heads importing issues


Laura Muffin
09-05-2009, 10:38 PM
So I've been working ALLLLLLL day on trying to mod this one head..All I want is longer hair XD but it seems that every time I go thru the process and put it in override..something NEW is wrong with it..I'm sure it has something to do with my inexperience with Gmax but I'm calling out for help!

The head I'm modding is the PFHC07 head that comes with the Slender Body Mod ( http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filefront.com/file/Slender_Body_for_Females;41158 ). Like I said, I just want to make the hair longer (like, a LOT longer..i.e. between her shoulderblades), have the bangs hang over her face a bit more and make them thicker (kind of like my hair in my avvie). Ideally!!! I'd also like to make another of the SAME head using straight bangs across the forehead (kinda like my current hair - refer to my profile album for a reference) I'm also replacing the texture with a modded version of the "Athena Too" texture ( http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filefront.com/file/Athena_Too_Selectable_Female_PC;76021 )...You can email me if you want my version of the texture.


When I apply those changes in Gmax and then do the whole tania's replacer the head has either..had weird long pointies coming out of her head, missing/invisible parts of hair or a missing head altogether! Gah!

My hope is that someone will either let me know what I'm doing wrong in Gmax or they'll offer to make the changes for me..tho I'd REALLY just like to know what is going wrong so I can do this myself.

HALPS PL0X :hurk: <3

Trench
09-06-2009, 12:56 AM
Did you import and export with animations on? And did you convert the .MDL to an ascii with animations turned on in MDLops? I'm not sure what that has to do with anything:p, but when I try to edit head models, they turn out weird if I forget the animations.
Also, did you add or remove any vertices?
Check out this thread for more info:
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=193050

Laura Muffin
09-06-2009, 01:51 AM
Heh, yes, its not a problem with that at all..It's weirdness that happens like this:

http://i401.photobucket.com/albums/pp95/_-Princess-Buttercup-_/weirdnesss.jpg

http://i401.photobucket.com/albums/pp95/_-Princess-Buttercup-_/weirdnessssssss2.jpg


Again, i don't know what I'm doing wrong..since I'm not modifying much in Gmax (just a few "blue dots" on the hair to make it longer)

Trench
09-06-2009, 02:11 AM
Hmmm... I've had the "headless horseman" problem, but the warped vertices have never been as bad for me. I'm probably not the best person to be talking to you about this.
There are plenty of people who are more experienced than I, so I'll let them do the talking typing.

By the way: Welcome to LucasForums;)

jonathan7
09-06-2009, 07:42 AM
Which tutorials were you using to guide you through the process? Have you had a look through the following tutorials?

Trex's new head tutorial; Click Me (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=193050)

Body mesh editing and adding; Click Me (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=151385)

miro42
09-06-2009, 12:25 PM
Is this a completely new head within the .2da file, or is this just an override of the existing head? If it's a new head you might have to tinker with Hex Editing a bit. If it's just an override try this: Restart. Yeah that doesn't sound like fun, but honestly you might get a better product, and one that works! When I was doing my Juhani head I must have restarted a bazillion times, and everytime it came out better than the last. And then I went through Trex's tut and wrote my own while physically getting Juhani's head to work. Maybe just taking that extra time helped. Honestly, it could be a million things, but more than likely it's something incredibly simple that you just over looked. When you figure it out, it'll just be a DOH! moment.

Yes, this is just to plug myself, but I also have a Make a New Head Tutorial (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=199095) which actually is based off of Trex's Tut, but I streamlined it, taking out a lot of excessive writing. Check it out for easy to read step by step directions. :thmbup1:

Welcome to lucasforums and as always, good luck!

Laura Muffin
09-06-2009, 02:15 PM
Yes, I've used Trex's head tutorial to guide me through the steps, but now I'm rather comfortable with the PROCESS..I just feel like the error witht he polygons must lie somewhere when I'm modding in Gmax..like I'm messing up the vertices or something.

As for if it's a new head, no it's not. I'm modding the PFHC07 head that the Slender Body Mod overrides (refer to links above). And the only part I'm modding is the hair. Maybe I'm making the hair too long or something..I dunno, it's not like I'm doing floor-length hair lol!

I noticed in your "streamlined" tutorial, you only clicked GEOM and not MODEL AND ANIMATIONS...I'll try that method and see if it makes a difference and get back to y'all with my results!!

Thank you all for your continued replies and I hope to get more help if anyone comes up with something new..Perhaps anyone with free time could try modding the face theirselves and tell me if they find any success.

Marius Fett
09-06-2009, 02:25 PM
Howdy. When playing around with body and head models, I only ever get those weird polygon thingies floating around if I hit resetXforms before I export (though sometimes if I don't).

Have you been doing that?

If you haven't, try selecting the object you edited and hitting it and see if that makes a difference.

Laura Muffin
09-06-2009, 02:37 PM
I dunno what ResetXforms are so I don't think I was pressing that..What do you mean by "hitting it"?

Apart from that I just went thru the process again, only exporting geom and not model and anims, but I still ended up with the neck spikes lol! *ssssiiiiiiiggggh* I really wanna use this head for my LS game but I can't seem to do it right lol...I wish Kotor 1/2 just had long-hairs available >.>


http://i401.photobucket.com/albums/pp95/_-Princess-Buttercup-_/weirdsness3.jpg



*EDIT* Thought that I would include what the head looks like with ONLY the texture overriden and without any of modding on it:
As you can see, this head is completely fine and has no weird errors on it.

http://i401.photobucket.com/albums/pp95/_-Princess-Buttercup-_/NORMALNESS.jpg

Canderis
09-06-2009, 02:43 PM
ResetXfourms is a tool in the NWmax pallet "Hitting it" means to click on it.
http://i313.photobucket.com/albums/ll378/canderis/rxf.jpg

Laura Muffin
09-06-2009, 04:48 PM
Nope, I've never pressed that button before. Anyways, I made a little video fo me modding to further help anyone who wants to look at it. I modded JUST the back end of the hair (i.e. the length) and had zero problems..but as you can see in the vid when I went thru and modded the bangs a little, thats when I ended up with the spikey neck issue.

http://www.filefront.com/14480199/Da%20Spikey%20Neck%20Blues.7z

Canderis
09-06-2009, 05:10 PM
You SHOULD press the button.

Laura Muffin
09-06-2009, 05:25 PM
Oh! I misunderstood what you meant in your earlier post..

I only ever get those weird polygon thingies floating around if I hit resetXforms before I export

I thought you meant I shouldn't hit that...I'll try that next time.

Marius Fett
09-06-2009, 05:30 PM
I said '(though sometimes if I don't).' on the end of that sentence too, meaning sometimes I get it if I press the button and sometimes only if I forget. It's confusing and annoying, yes? :p

This 3D thing is hit and miss, tbh. ^_^

Great texture job on that head, btw. :D

Laura Muffin
09-06-2009, 06:15 PM
Credit goes to the creator of Athena Too (link in first post)...Heh all I did was retexture the nose a little, the lips, and the eyeshadow area.


EDIT: I just went thru and I selected the whole "head" area and did the resetXforms thing..But I still managed to come up with headchunks missing (pictured below)

http://i401.photobucket.com/albums/pp95/_-Princess-Buttercup-_/ldjflaeadf.jpg

miro42
09-06-2009, 06:35 PM
The video was very low res, but it didn't seem like you unchecked the guides in the replacer. Try unchecking everything but what you changed, so since the bangs are a separate entity from the head, uncheck everything but the bangs object. They probably aren't called 'bangs' so make sure you notice the correct object name, probably Object1 or HairTop or some such. I really don't know if that has any bearing, but it works for me.
If you still haven't gotten it squared away, you can send me a PM with links to all of your files (or on here if you don't care) and I'll see what I can do for you.

As a side note, you might want to bring the neck verts down a bit. On the Mira body it looks like it's floating a bit above the choker.

Laura Muffin
09-06-2009, 07:06 PM
It seems that I lack the skill for this lol! I'll keep trying at it, but here are the pieces I'm working with. The mdl and mdx are both the "base" shape without any editting. I included the ascii to cut out the mdlops step. I also included the Gmax "scene" of what I'd ideally like the hair to be like (or something close to it).

http://www.filefront.com/14481051/LMuffHeadPieces.7z

miro42
09-06-2009, 09:43 PM
Okay this sucks. I thought I'd be the hero and figure everything out. And I would, except now TSL will not run. It used to without fail and now it just decided that it hates me. Well you know what? I hate it right back!
Anyhoo, I hope you figure it out soon. I know how frustrating it is to have a mod do that to you. If I can figure out what happened with my game I'll be sure to get back to work on your problem. Until then, good luck!

miro42
09-08-2009, 02:02 PM
Alright I have a possible solution for you. I've been messing with adding geometry to heads in K1 and I found that when the new geom is too close to the original mesh it'll distort wildly. However when I pull it away from the original mesh the distortion is gone. So my suggestion would be to pull the bangs/hair away from the face model and see what happens. It might do nothing, but then again it might actually work. Let us know if that works out.

VarsityPuppet
09-09-2009, 09:16 AM
Can't help you with the head, but let me say that it looks pretty awesome! I hope you get the whole issue with the hair fixed soon.

miro42
09-18-2009, 04:15 PM
I still haven't gotten TSL in a working condition but in messing with K1 modding, I might have an answer for your missing head chunks. Have you detached that part of the head from the main object? If you don't reattach it it won't be a part of the model and thus won't show up. If you haven't detached, then, well...