PDA

View Full Version : 3D Acceleration on an 8500GT?


KitsuFox
09-13-2009, 06:53 PM
OS: Windows Vista 64-bit Home Premium
Q6600
4 GB RAM (doesn't affect performance)
Nvidia GeForce 8500GT


I can run the game just fine (levels load in like than a second)
But when I try to run the game with 3D Acceleration on, I get this.
http://img16.imageshack.us/img16/3251/jshot001.th.jpg (http://img16.imageshack.us/i/jshot001.jpg/)

It's like Kyle stopped seeing the world around him and ultimately only saw himself in a black void of nothing. Amusing potential for existentialism, but really crippling in a game.

This is running the game with all standard settings, custom profile created, and compatibility mode set. I haven't used any mods or any patches. The gun shows up just fine, how do I get the rest of the world to show up, though?

I'd much prefer to have 3D Acceleration on with as little problem as possible, only because running without it causes a TON of lag when I get near anything with transparency (as in, I'll drop to around 1-2 FPS up close)

swaaye
09-16-2009, 05:55 PM
I had this prob with a 8800GTX too. The game only works well with pre DX10 cards.

KitsuFox
09-17-2009, 12:51 AM
On another forum, word is that with NVidia cards, reverting drivers may help.

KitsuFox
09-17-2009, 01:35 PM
Double post:

After following another person's suggestion and reverting Drivers to an older version (Revision 186.18 for GeForce owners), I have successfully managed to get 3D Acceleration to work properly.

http://img3.imageshack.us/img3/5149/wehavedice.th.jpg (http://img3.imageshack.us/i/wehavedice.jpg/)