PDA

View Full Version : TSL - Ravager cutscene CTD


Micah616
09-14-2009, 04:45 PM
Long story short: When I get to the cutscene that introduces Visas Marr and Darth Nihilus, the game CTDs. Well, it goes on until Visas offrers to find the source of the disturbance, then Nihilus answers and gets to the second "phrase" that's when the CTD happens.

I figure it's because of a mod conflict. Currently, I'm running:

USM (with necessary patches and fixes)
Dark Disco's Jedi Temple
M478
Super Enhanced + add on
Ultimate sound mod
High Level Force powers
Handmaiden for female Exile
Kreia's Robes
Holowan Plugin 1.05

Since everything else seems to be working well so far, I'd like to use KSE to skip the cutscene. If anybody knows which global needs to be changed, i'd greatly appreciate it. Even better would be a list of all the globals.

Thanks in advance

Mono_Giganto
09-14-2009, 05:06 PM
Have you tried removing all of your mods and running the game to see if it still gives the CTD?

Micah616
09-14-2009, 05:09 PM
When I remove all the mods, the save games won't load.

Mono_Giganto
09-14-2009, 05:24 PM
Well, it's strange that it would crash the cutscene at the same point every time...

The only conflict I can see right off would be between the Holowan Plug-In and Handmaiden for Female Exiles, because the HPI contains Handmaiden for Female Exiles, but that shouldn't cause something like this.

My only other recommendation is to look around and see if you can find a copy of the mod that removes that cutscene from the game and replaces it with the ingame conversation. Unfortunately I haven't had luck tracking down a working link. :giveup:

Rtas Vadum
09-14-2009, 05:25 PM
You could try turning off the movies(as in, they don't play as you go through the game), until after you get past that sequence. Its done by opening the first menu(the startup, not the main), and click configure. Then click check the "Disable Movies" option.

Micah616
09-14-2009, 05:37 PM
Well, it's strange that it would crash the cutscene at the same point every time...

The only conflict I can see right off would be between the Holowan Plug-In and Handmaiden for Female Exiles, because the HPI contains Handmaiden for Female Exiles, but that shouldn't cause something like this.

My only other recommendation is to look around and see if you can find a copy of the mod that removes that cutscene from the game and replaces it with the ingame conversation. Unfortunately I haven't had luck tracking down a working link. :giveup:

You may have inadvertently solved my problem. The cutscene is already in-game, not a pre-rendered movie. I thought I remembered that scene being pre-rendered, but it's been a couple years since my last play-through, so I just figured I was wrong.

I haven't installed any mods that would change that, except maybe HPI. So now I'm off to dig through the readmes. Thanks

Mono_Giganto
09-14-2009, 05:43 PM
You may have inadvertently solved my problem. The cutscene is already in-game, not a pre-rendered movie. I thought I remembered that scene being pre-rendered, but it's been a couple years since my last play-through, so I just figured I was wrong.

I haven't installed any mods that would change that, except maybe HPI. So now I'm off to dig through the readmes. Thanks

I checked through the readme of HPI before my last post, thinking that it included some such change. I didn't see anything, though it's possible that I skimmed over it.

However, your response definitely sheds more light on the issue. I can understand why an ingame sequence would crash at the same part each time, but I couldn't understand why a pre-rendered scene would consistently crash anywhere other than at the beginning.

Micah616
09-14-2009, 06:08 PM
I didn't see anything in the HPI readmes, but some of the packed mods are unaccounted for. I also went through the readmes for all of the other mods, and I still don't see anything. I'm not familiar enough with the games file formats to know what I'd be looking for in the overrides folder

Edit: I found the proper bik movie. My assumption is that there's a file in the overrides folder that points to an in-game cutscene intead of the bik. What type of file would do that?

Mono_Giganto
09-14-2009, 06:22 PM
Offhand, I wouldn't be able to tell you. However, I managed to get a copy of the mod that makes the change (Thanks Darth Payne!). The edited files are:

853nih_enter.ncs
a_visas_cs_end.ncs
k_align_movie.ncs
nihilus.dlg
wp_cut_pclast.utw

Check and see if these files exist in your override. If they do, try removing just these files and see if the game will run properly.

Micah616
09-14-2009, 07:34 PM
Offhand, I wouldn't be able to tell you. However, I managed to get a copy of the mod that makes the change (Thanks Darth Payne!). The edited files are:

853nih_enter.ncs
a_visas_cs_end.ncs
k_align_movie.ncs
nihilus.dlg
wp_cut_pclast.utw

Check and see if these files exist in your override. If they do, try removing just these files and see if the game will run properly.

Absolutely perfect. Thanks to you and Darth Payne. The files are in HPI, undocumented in any of the readmes, as far as I could see. Anyway, you saved me many hours of trying to figure out what was happening. Thanks again.

Mono_Giganto
09-14-2009, 07:45 PM
Absolutely perfect. Thanks to you and Darth Payne. The files are in HPI, undocumented in any of the readmes, as far as I could see. Anyway, you saved me many hours of trying to figure out what was happening. Thanks again.

Happy to help. :)

If Darkkender ever pops up around here, I'll be sure to mention the lack of documentation. And he always bugged me about the lack of organization in my mods. :xp:

Darkkender
09-17-2009, 11:39 AM
Happy to help. :)

If Darkkender ever pops up around here, I'll be sure to mention the lack of documentation. And he always bugged me about the lack of organization in my mods. :xp:

Ok I'll take that scolding Mono even though you weren't the only one who left out important info in your Readme's especially way back when the HPI was being put together there were alot of peoples mods who just said readme put files in override. So my way back long time ago bad.

Mono_Giganto
09-17-2009, 12:11 PM
Ok I'll take that scolding Mono even though you weren't the only one who left out important info in your Readme's especially way back when the HPI was being put together there were alot of peoples mods who just said readme put files in override. So my way back long time ago bad.

Holy crap, I didn't actually expect you to show up, good to see you! :xp:

And no worries, we seem to have solved the issue, and in any case, stuff like that happens to all of us; it's tough keeping track of file-heavy mods.