PDA

View Full Version : [KOTOR] Simple Q & A - Please Help =)


TheDirective
09-17-2009, 09:27 PM
I've been playing around with a few professionals' mods and think I'm starting to get my head round this business... though I was curious about one or two things... I was wondering...

Is it possible to port an area (module, right?) from TSL in to K1?

Is it possible to port NPCs from TSL in to K1?

Where can I find dialogue sound files to extract from K1?
(For the purpose of sampling and remixing in to new dialogue).

And just out of interest:
Can you add more work to pre-existing quests (ones already part of the game)? Again K1. xP


To be quite frank, I've only been editing .tga files these past few days. But I'm going to see what its like to create some items of my own soon. Then see what adding dialogue is like... and work my way up the modding ladder from there.

BUT... when I get pretty high up (if I can hehe)... being able to take modules from one game and adding them to another would be very cool to see. Oh and by the way, I did search the Holowan Forums with the keywords "port" in conjuncture with "TSL" and "KOTOR" but only found an item made by Achilles. Perhaps there are threads looking in to this sort of an idea but I missed them, I don't know. Anyway, thanks in advance to any replies, you very smart people!

Ataris
09-17-2009, 10:21 PM
It seems you are not allowed to port things from one game to another, and this forum does not allow discussion of doing so either. That would be why you won't find much on it. :D

Canderis
09-17-2009, 10:24 PM
I've been playing around with a few professionals' mods and think I'm starting to get my head round this business... though I was curious about one or two things... I was wondering...

Is it possible to port an area (module, right?) from TSL in to K1?

Is it possible to port NPCs from TSL in to K1?

Where can I find dialogue sound files to extract from K1?
(For the purpose of sampling and remixing in to new dialogue).

And just out of interest:
Can you add more work to pre-existing quests (ones already part of the game)? Again K1. xP


To be quite frank, I've only been editing .tga files these past few days. But I'm going to see what its like to create some items of my own soon. Then see what adding dialogue is like... and work my way up the modding ladder from there.

BUT... when I get pretty high up (if I can hehe)... being able to take modules from one game and adding them to another would be very cool to see. Oh and by the way, I did search the Holowan Forums with the keywords "port" in conjuncture with "TSL" and "KOTOR" but only found an item made by Achilles. Perhaps there are threads looking in to this sort of an idea but I missed them, I don't know. Anyway, thanks in advance to any replies, you very smart people!


Porting assets from one game to another, while most certainly possible, it not legal. Sorry.

TheDirective
09-17-2009, 11:08 PM
Wow, I didn't know that, not even for private usage?

Also,
Do you know where dialogue can be found using the Kotor Tool?

Mono_Giganto
09-17-2009, 11:47 PM
Wow, I didn't know that, not even for private usage?

Also,
Do you know where dialogue can be found using the Kotor Tool?

Nobody here is going to probe what you do on your own copy of the game, but you can't discuss it or release any mods that contain ported assets.

Dialog can be found in their respective module folders, under RIMs I believe.

Star Admiral
09-17-2009, 11:47 PM
There are a few under KOTOR I -> BIFs -> templates.bif -> Dialog. The rest are under KOTOR I -> RIMs -> Modules -> modulename -> Dialog.

- Star Admiral

TheDirective
09-17-2009, 11:51 PM
Thanks a lot guys!!
This will help my modding progress faster.

That's a shame about the ports considering a lot of stuff was re-used from K1 anyway. TSL owes K1, but nevermind. xP

Mono_Giganto
09-17-2009, 11:57 PM
Thanks a lot guys!!
This will help my modding progress faster.

That's a shame about the ports considering a lot of stuff was re-used from K1 anyway. TSL owes K1, but nevermind. xP

Well, as long as you mention it, any K1 assets that are included with TSL, whether they were used or not (Examples include the Star Forge Robe model, or the Selkath), are perfectly fine to use.