PDA

View Full Version : Assistance would be greatly appreciated!


-TC-
09-27-2009, 11:56 PM
Hey! I'm extremely new to this forum (and to modding!) and I would like some help!

My problem: I've made 3 models, yet I have absolutely no idea how to...put textures on them? Is that the correct way of saying that? I've looked through a bunch of tutorials, and all of them are just...I'm sure they're very helpful, but so far they've just hurt my brain.

So, I guess I'm asking two questions: 1) Would somebody maybe stick some textures (again, not sure if this is the correct term) on these models of mine or 2) Would somebody be willing to take the time to explain how to go about doing this?

Muchos gracias,
- TC

Canderis
09-28-2009, 12:02 AM
Hey! I'm extremely new to this forum (and to modding!) and I would like some help!

My problem: I've made 3 models, yet I have absolutely no idea how to...put textures on them? Is that the correct way of saying that? I've looked through a bunch of tutorials, and all of them are just...I'm sure they're very helpful, but so far they've just hurt my brain.

So, I guess I'm asking two questions: 1) Would somebody maybe stick some textures (again, not sure if this is the correct term) on these models of mine or 2) Would somebody be willing to take the time to explain how to go about doing this?

Muchos gracias,
- TC
What modeling program are you using?

-TC-
09-28-2009, 12:07 AM
SketchUp, but I've downloaded a 3ds export plugin deal, so I can use gmax and stuff.

Canderis
09-28-2009, 12:11 AM
SketchUp, but I've downloaded a 3ds export plugin deal, so I can use gmax and stuff.

sorry to tell you but sketchup screws up models. There is no way to get them in the game, aside from re-making them. I've learned from experience.

-TC-
09-28-2009, 12:16 AM
That's incredibly suckish.

Thanks for letting me know, though!

Edit

Even if you convert them to .3ds?

Canderis
09-28-2009, 12:25 AM
That's incredibly suckish.

Thanks for letting me know, though!

Edit

Even if you convert them to .3ds?
that's where the problem begins. If you have 3ds why don't you use that?

-TC-
09-28-2009, 12:29 AM
SketchUp is insanely easy to use, and frankly I've been too lazy to properly learn how to use Gmax.

Although now after typing that I feel like an idiot because it seems I should just learn HOW to use Gmax...

miro42
09-28-2009, 02:56 AM
I've made the switch from Maya to 3ds specifically for modding KOTOR, and while it can be frustrating at times because things aren't called the same thing or in the same spot it is very rewarding to be able to see your own work in game.
With 3ds (and GMax) there's a little annoying bastard called the UVW Unwrap modifier so once you get into it check that out. I'd tell you specifics but my HDD crashed which has all my art programs on it :(. But you can check out this link (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=143301) to find out what you need to do in GMax.

Canderis
09-28-2009, 07:53 AM
SketchUp is insanely easy to use, and frankly I've been too lazy to properly learn how to use Gmax.

Although now after typing that I feel like an idiot because it seems I should just learn HOW to use Gmax...

Same way I felt. But once you know gmax its almost easer to make good models in it.

DarthParametric
09-28-2009, 10:59 AM
Even if you model and UV map successfully in a different program, you'll still need to import it into GMax regardless to be able to export a game model via NWMax. If you're only just starting out and using a free program then you might as well just switch over to GMax completely. The Max interface (which they still use seemingly) is arguably the worst of any 3D app ever made, but once you learn its ins and outs it's tolerable.