PDA

View Full Version : Help with 2DA editng


JuniorModder
10-20-2009, 04:13 PM
I edited Mira's underwear and renamed it PFBAMcathar.

I wrote PFBAMcathar in the appearance.2da files under modela and texa, then saved it and put it into the override folder.

I go to the game, and when I select "None" while picking her clothing, the game freezes up, and shuts down.

It is so frustrating!

If someone could help me that would be great.

Thanks,
JuniorModder

Marius Fett
10-20-2009, 04:17 PM
Try using a name shorter name than PFBAMCathar.

I'm pretty sure you can't use that many characters.

JuniorModder
10-20-2009, 04:34 PM
I renamed it to PFBAMX, and it still froze. :(

JuniorModder

Marius Fett
10-20-2009, 05:00 PM
Did you make sure to name the .mdl and .mdx files correctly?

Does the .mdx actually have an mdx extension? I sometimes get the problem where it just saves as a file with no extension.

Edit:

Unless you want a custom model name for a specific reason, the suggestion below will be a lot easier and les confusing for you, because if you rename models, you don't even need to touch any 2da files.

Rtas Vadum
10-20-2009, 05:02 PM
I renamed it to PFBAMX, and it still froze. :(

JuniorModder

Try just using the normal model(not renamed), just put the name of the edited texture in the texa field.

JuniorModder
10-20-2009, 05:45 PM
Did you make sure to name the .mdl and .mdx files correctly?

Does the .mdx actually have an mdx extension? I sometimes get the problem where it just saves as a file with no extension.

Edit:

Unless you want a custom model name for a specific reason, the suggestion below will be a lot easier and les confusing for you, because if you rename models, you don't even need to touch any 2da files.

I didn't remodel her at all, I just changed some of the colors on her underwear tga file.

Try just using the normal model(not renamed), just put the name of the edited texture in the texa field.

I was going to do that, but her underwear tga's are shared by other characters, and my edit is supposed to be specificly for her.


JuniorModder

Marius Fett
10-20-2009, 05:49 PM
Just alter the texture name in the 2da file then, no need to mess with the model name.

Just name your new texture as mira01.tga or something, then enter mira in the texa column WITHOUT THE 01 ON THE END AND WITHOUT THE .TGA.

JuniorModder
10-20-2009, 06:17 PM
I did what you said, but when I select the "none" option when picking her clothing, the game freezes before I can see what Mira looks like.


JuniorModder

VarsityPuppet
10-20-2009, 07:39 PM
I did what you said, but when I select the "none" option when picking her clothing, the game freezes before I can see what Mira looks like.


JuniorModder

Make sure that there isn't a baseitems.2da override going on.

in modela column for mira, it should be "PFBAM".. that exactly
in texa column for mira, write: "PFBAMira"
and just for the hell of it, in texaevil, write "PFBAMira"

and of course, the name of your texture will be: PFBAMira01.tga


hmm, let's see.. make sure your texture is 512x512...

Idk, if you've done all that or something similar, I'm out of ideas

JuniorModder
10-20-2009, 08:09 PM
YES! That did it. Thanks!

I will be posting the mod soon so you can see it. :)

JuniorModder

VarsityPuppet
10-20-2009, 09:24 PM
YES! That did it. Thanks!

I will be posting the mod soon so you can see it. :)

JuniorModder

Wait, so what exactly was the issue, as far as you can tell?

JuniorModder
10-20-2009, 09:35 PM
There must have been something wrong with the name. Once I renamed it, everything worked fine.

JuniorModder