PDA

View Full Version : Skin is transparent!


merky
10-28-2009, 09:08 PM
So I modified a skin for K1 in photoshop. And the first couple of small edits I made worked great.

The problem is that after making some new layers, the character is not fully opaque in game.

Is this an alpha setting or something I have wrong?

I tried merging my layers, and the view in photoshop looks opaque.

What gives?

harIII
10-28-2009, 09:21 PM
I've ran into this problem a few times before though I was never able to figure it out. I think it is something to do with having a txi file configured with it and I have no idea how to do that.

merky
10-28-2009, 09:32 PM
The thing I don't understand is that I had the skin working just fine, 2 more steps then it was broke.

Marius Fett
10-29-2009, 09:21 AM
You've probably added an Alpha channel by mistake. Try deleting that channel in your skinning program then try the skin in game again.

Quanon
10-29-2009, 01:37 PM
No doubt like Marius mentioned you have a Alpha channel messing about your texture/skin.
If you use the standard layout of PS, just look for the Tab Channels next to the Layers.

In the Layer Pallete; there should be a third tab as well named Paths.

You could delete the alpha if you made it by mistake, though the alpha channels serves to apply certain effects to your texture. For example make it shiny aka BLING BLING.

Though you need to say which effect you want, you do this in the TXI file.
Now the TXI file is just a simple textfile, made in notepad. The only thing you need to do is add the right line of text for the effect and save as Texture/Skin_name.TXI

Remember the TXI has the same name as the TGA, else it won't do anything.

Example what would be typed into the TXI for the BLING BLING :lol:


envmaptexture CM_Baremetal