PDA

View Full Version : Glowing Eyes Question


NiuHaka
11-17-2009, 06:24 PM
I've noticed that some armors and weapons use texture transparencies to make parts of the armor appear to be shiny or glowing. Is there a way to apply this affect to the head models of the characters? I am extremely interested in making a head model that uses one of these affects. I would love to make a head with glowing cybernetic parts or shiny metallic parts or glossy lips or even glowing eyes.

I will lose interest if the process is too complicated but I would be interested in working with other people to create these. The fact that i haven't seen it done yet tells me it can't be done or that its too complicated but i see glowing droid eyes etc. in the game all the time.

Rtas Vadum
11-17-2009, 06:32 PM
Something like this?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v635/KomaB1ack/StarWars/Mods/RV%20Head%20Reskin%20pack/K1_pfhc03.jpg

Though it doesn't show very well in that shot, in a module such as the Korriban tombs, or another other "dark" place in the game, you'll see the eyes if the effect is done right. Granted, it won't glow like the Ebon Hawk's Engines in the videos, but it will be a noticeable effect.

Its the same process that you'd use to add a metallic shine to a texture, only in this case, you'll want to use "CM_Bright" instead of "CM_Baremetal". Which means you'll need to make the eyes on an alpha layer, something I find easiest in GIMP.

NiuHaka
11-17-2009, 06:41 PM
Its the same process that you'd use to add a metallic shine to a texture, only in this case, you'll want to use "CM_Bright" instead of "CM_Baremetal". Which means you'll need to make the eyes on an alpha layer, something I find easiest in GIMP.

HAH! This is it. I am very good with the texture end of things. It's what I do for a living. But I have no idea what CM_Bright or CM_Baremetal means. I have no idea how to do the nuts and bolts of modding for this game.

Rtas Vadum
11-17-2009, 06:50 PM
HAH! This is it. I am very good with the texture end of things. It's what I do for a living. But I have no idea what CM_Bright or CM_Baremetal means. I have no idea how to do the nuts and bolts of modding for this game.

Well, in a way, I'm just as clueless as you are. At least when it comes to how these effects work on the model. But "CM_Baremetal" and "CM_Bright" are textures the game comes with, that are used for underlay effects, in the sense that they go on the model under its main texture, and since the main texture would have a section that is either fully or slightly transparent, the under-laid texture shows through. And those are specified in a .txi file, separate from the texture.

Though the first part of setting effect up is adding the alpha(transparency) to the layer, in this case, selecting the eyes in the texture, deleting the eyes on the original layer, and then pasting the copied eyes to a new layer. Gimp( a similar program to photoshop, only its free), its easier on alpha layers, at least for me.

NiuHaka
11-17-2009, 07:01 PM
A quick question before I stop being lazy and start searching. If i use these, uh, CM_Bright things, is it just as easy for other players to just drop something into their override folder like using custom textures to get them to work?

Canderis
11-17-2009, 08:20 PM
What you need is a TXI file. It is a simple notpad file just saved with a different extension. What you would want to do it put this in it:
envmaptexture CM_Bright

You save the text doc with the extension .txi and drop it into the override with the texture. Don't forget the alpha channel.

NiuHaka
11-17-2009, 09:48 PM
wait, i'm confused. I'm sure I missed something even though I read through your instructions several times. That doesn't seem like enough information to type into the txi file. How would it know what head/texture to apply the CM_Bright to?

Canderis
11-17-2009, 09:49 PM
You name the TXI the same as the texture. Thats all thats needed :D

NiuHaka
11-17-2009, 10:02 PM
That's all?... *wipes tears from eyes* I love you people. You are the greatest thing that ever happened to me. *Vanishes into a cloud of ninja smoke*

(EDIT) Oh wait! do I need to make a txi file for each darkside transition texture?

(RE-EDIT) Actually my wife and child are the greatest things that ever happened to me. HAH! *Vanishes into a cloud of ninja smoke again*

Canderis
11-17-2009, 10:08 PM
Yes

Rtas Vadum
11-17-2009, 10:22 PM
Yes

Not exactly. For the head in the picture, I only used one txi file(named pfhc03.txi), and it gives the glowing eye effect to all of the textures for the pfhc03 model.

NiuHaka
11-17-2009, 11:18 PM
Thank's guys. you really are an awesome and helpful crew.

Darth Darkus
11-18-2009, 02:45 AM
I have question here too: Where can I find txi files? 'Cause I'm working on some armored robes and I already made the alpha for them but off course now you just see what's behind the character instead of a metallic shine...

NiuHaka
11-18-2009, 03:52 AM
I have question here too: Where can I find txi files? 'Cause I'm working on some armored robes and I already made the alpha for them but off course now you just see what's behind the character instead of a metallic shine...

Just create one using notepad. It works brilliantly.

(EDIT) Nope I was wrong. It didn't work. *Slaps self on forehead*

Darth Darkus
11-18-2009, 04:06 AM
notepad? I use german windows, is it something like wordpad or editor?

Canderis
11-18-2009, 07:16 AM
Download notepad++
http://notepad-plus.sourceforge.net/uk/site.htm

NiuHaka
11-18-2009, 11:04 PM
Something like this?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v635/KomaB1ack/StarWars/Mods/RV%20Head%20Reskin%20pack/K1_pfhc03.jpg


What mod is this anyways?

Rtas Vadum
11-18-2009, 11:45 PM
What mod is this anyways?

Its something of mine, I haven't released it yet. Its supposed to be part of a reskin pack for K1,(as in a pack that reskins most of the party members, along with some of the Republic affiliates, Sith Officers, Dark Jedi, some of the player heads[mostly female ones], etc). Trouble is, though I have alot of reskins done, the few remaining ones I don't know what to do with(such as Jolee).

NiuHaka
11-19-2009, 12:00 AM
Awesome! I can't wait to see this mod. It looks to be something quite special and reskins of this magnitude seem to be something that a lot of people are interested in. I've had a few requests of this nature but I just don't have the patience for something so grand. I hope you do finish this.

So, anyways i recently got home from work and I got back to working on this glowing eyes thing. I thought I had it working but I was just looking at one of the brighter eyed textures that I was working on. Don't I feel silly for getting so excited that it worked. The .txi file didn't work at all. The name of the texture i'm working on is PMHA03.tga and the name of the text file is PMHA03.txi and the entry in the txi file is "envmaptexture CM_Bright" but all I get is transparent eyes, not glowing ones. Am I missing a step here that others may have assumed i've already taken?

Darth Darkus
11-19-2009, 12:08 PM
Just create one using notepad. It works brilliantly.

didn't work... background is still showing through...

*edit* forget it I'm a dumbass! Forgot the envmaptexture...

NiuHaka
11-19-2009, 02:58 PM
(EDIT)

Okay I figured it out. when you save as you have to make sure to set Save As Type to All.

TriggerGod
11-20-2009, 07:42 PM
I have question here too: Where can I find txi files? 'Cause I'm working on some armored robes and I already made the alpha for them but off course now you just see what's behind the character instead of a metallic shine...

AFAIK, you can't just open a tree and find the .txi files like you can find the .tpc files, or the .uti files. When you look at the texture using KTool's image viewer, there should be a little white text box in the lower left corner. That is your .txi file. You can just copy that to notepad (or other notepad-like program) and make your own txi. Thats what I did when I was testing a lightning texture, and a saber blade texture, I copied the txi info for a lightsaber blade.

Darth Darkus
12-14-2009, 10:16 AM
I've tried it out but it still doesn't work for me. Doesn't matter if I choose all files at the save as section it still is transparent in game I'll post some screens here maybe I'm just a dumbass and forgot something....

Here's the photoshop layers with the alpha (do I have to save the alpha as a single file?)

http://i667.photobucket.com/albums/vv37/DarthDarkus/photoshop.jpg

and here's the notepad file should be right I guess

http://i667.photobucket.com/albums/vv37/DarthDarkus/notepad.jpg

after putting all this in my override folder the alpha layered parts are still transparent... HELP!!!!

Quanon
12-14-2009, 11:35 AM
Hmmm, I believe in the Appearance.2DA file, it gets listed what the standard effect needs to be on a bodymodel.

Perhaps your TXI file gets overriden by the .2DA.
I can't remember the details of it all though, but I experienced this kind of stuff with another model.

Have a screenshot of what I mean:
So I opened appearance.2da, scrolled a good part to the right.
There's this column named Envmap, which list what CM_Effect a model gets.

IIRC DEFAULT= Transparent. This isn't from the Revan model though. Just to show
what it looks like.
http://i129.photobucket.com/albums/p214/Quanon/2DA_ENVMAP.jpg

TriggerGod
12-14-2009, 06:40 PM
One of the problems I had when I first used Alpha Channels was why there was no shine. I'm sure that my problem was that I tried saving my texture file with my alpha channel active (open, visible, whatever you wish to call it). Try turning your channel off, then saving it.

Hmmm, I believe in the Appearance.2DA file, it gets listed what the standard effect needs to be on a bodymodel.

Perhaps your TXI file gets overriden by the .2DA.
I can't remember the details of it all though, but I experienced this kind of stuff with another model.

Have a screenshot of what I mean:
So I opened appearance.2da, scrolled a good part to the right.
There's this column named Envmap, which list what CM_Effect a model gets.

IIRC DEFAULT= Transparent. This isn't from the Revan model though. Just to show
what it looks like.
http://i129.photobucket.com/albums/p214/Quanon/2DA_ENVMAP.jpg

Actually, thats not entirely correct. If you change a model's envmap in appearance.2da, everything it wears will have that effect, if it has an alpha channel. I'm fairly sure that if you put CM_Baremetal in, say Atton's appearance line, his hair (which has some degree of transparency) will turn out awfully shiny.

Darth Darkus
12-15-2009, 01:37 PM
oh the armor parts are shiny but the background is showing through and I can't get it removed....

I'll give it a try with both your suggestions and hope one will work, thanx a lot....

Quanon
12-15-2009, 03:20 PM
Just something quick I thought about, when you save as a Targa, make sure Save Alpha Channels is on. Normally that is ON by default, but who knows, you switched it off.
http://i129.photobucket.com/albums/p214/Quanon/AlphaCHANNEL.jpg

disbeliever
12-15-2009, 03:34 PM
Just something quick I thought about, when you save as a Targa, make sure Save Alpha Channels is on. Normally that is ON by default, but who knows, you switched it off.
http://www.rhoepsilonchapter.com/sley/AlphaCHANNEL.jpg

Is that your PC in the screenshot Q? :lol:

Quanon
12-15-2009, 06:11 PM
OHO! BUSTED!

Its why I'm on the team with you HOT DIZZY :drool2:

Note the hard core bounty hunter guy club on Sleheyron plan. :p

Darth Darkus
12-16-2009, 01:45 PM
[QUOTE=Quanon;2694193]Just something quick I thought about, when you save as a Targa, make sure Save Alpha Channels is on. Normally that is ON by default, but who knows, you switched it off.



No, I'm aware of that and it's on....

Kainzorus Prime
12-16-2009, 10:05 PM
I've tried it out but it still doesn't work for me. Doesn't matter if I choose all files at the save as section it still is transparent in game I'll post some screens here maybe I'm just a dumbass and forgot something....

Here's the photoshop layers with the alpha (do I have to save the alpha as a single file?)

http://i667.photobucket.com/albums/vv37/DarthDarkus/photoshop.jpg

and here's the notepad file should be right I guess

http://i667.photobucket.com/albums/vv37/DarthDarkus/notepad.jpg

after putting all this in my override folder the alpha layered parts are still transparent... HELP!!!!

Metal shader doesn't and won't work on robes for whatever reason. No point in trying as all previous attempts have failed.

Sidenote, do want that armored robe.

Darth Darkus
12-18-2009, 10:48 AM
aww, really? Man that sux.... hey DK if you want the robes (yeah I made some more of 'em) anyways, I'll just finish them all without metalshader and release a pack of 'em, so just wait another 2 weeks and you'll get 'em

vanir
12-18-2009, 06:19 PM
LOVE those robes. Exactly the kind of thing I've been looking for since I started playing Kotor (there was one I think SK did once, an Obi Wan robe with some armoured pieces but I had problems with it for some reason and wound up abandoning it). In the meantime I put up with reskins of the zeison sha armours but these armoured robes exactly like yours are what I've always pictured for LS Battle Jedi in the age of the Old Republic. The zeishon sha remind me of something the Sith would adopt.

Awesome job. Really looking forward to that mod (upload to kotorfiles?).

This glowing eyes thing has also been a revelation. I've got some nice "movie style" DS transitions I downloaded but the eyes still don't look right without some glow to them. Now that I see how easy it seems to do...well all I can do is thank the thread contributors immensely.

I know nothing about graphics, never touched it.