PDA

View Full Version : Anyone with a ready-to-go model? Worships help!


Chicken Spank
02-08-2010, 12:31 PM
Hi, I've tried to make my own character before but I got completely freaked out at the weighing part (and the other parts that I skipped..) and the "wrong version" of this and that and the painful google searches.

So my question is (and I would pay you in hugs).. can anyone give me a already finished model where my only job is to edit the shape of the model? Or, is there a way to replace bodyparts completely with new shapes? I'm talking about very, very basic shapes here, click and drag a ball for a head etc.
One of my biggest dreams is to run around in jedi knight II being my own character, a human sized chicken with a lightsaber you see.
In other words, the modeling process probably won't be a problem, as I would only click and drag vertices until the model looks amazing, and then hit a compile button? :D
I have 3DS max to help me out, and Milkshape 3D. Is this as possible as I make it sound like?
*shaking in eager*

acdcfanbill
02-08-2010, 01:10 PM
I'm moving the thread to the requests section, but I'd be surprised if you you got very many hits on this.

Psyk0Sith
02-09-2010, 12:21 AM
I have a basic model ready for export on my site, along with tools and tutorials:
http://www3.sympatico.ca/psykopat/tools/skinwrap.rar
This model has Kyle's body with some other dude's head, max 7 file, you could use this to transfer his weights to one of your models. If you have a max version above 8 i dont think it will work.

Tutorial on how to use it:
http://www3.sympatico.ca/psykopat/tutorials/skinwrap.html

If you feel you could do it all by yourself, i suggest you watch this video tutorial to understand how the skin modifier works:
http://www.3dworldmag.com/page/3dworld?entry=3d_world_114_s_3ds

along with other crap i wrote ages ago:
http://www3.sympatico.ca/psykopat/tutorials/jk2_guide.htm

Chicken Spank
02-09-2010, 09:14 AM
OO I'll try this, thank you.
But before I do all this, is this a process that only works for JA, or is there something I can do in the end to make it ready for JO? (like renaming bodyparts, heard some rumors around there..)

Psyk0Sith
02-09-2010, 01:10 PM
Oh it's not a rumor, the skeleton actually comes from Jedi Outcast SDK ;)
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=201599

You just need to rename one of the bones and tweak the weighting for the lhand bone & tag.