PDA

View Full Version : KOTOR II keeps goofing up - Help!!!


kothandki
05-09-2010, 02:20 PM
Hey guys.

First, if there is an official thread and its not locked, I couldn't find it.

Second, the game is installed. I can create my character. I can see the opening crawl and the Ebon Hawk on fire. But when the game actually begins, my computer won't load. The screen just turns black. I am playing this on a Microsoft Windows XP 2002 version computer.

Please help!

Thanks
Kothandki

Ctrl Alt Del
05-09-2010, 07:06 PM
Are your video card drivers up to date?

RedHawke
05-10-2010, 10:56 AM
Moved to Work Bench...

Q
05-11-2010, 05:01 AM
Post your system specs
Sometimes we're just not going to be able to help you if we don't know what kind of hardware you have on your machine. If you don't know what you have on your machine, then follow these steps below:
Bring up the launcher menu for Kotor 1 or 2.
Click on "Configure".
Click the "Scan Hardware" button on the lower center of the window.
Click "Yes" to continue.
Click "Details" to view your system specs.
Click "Save Report" and save the file to your desktop.
Whenever you post your problem, open the file you just saved and copy and paste the contents to your post.
Also, please list what version of Windows that you're using because the game can't accurately detect anything newer than XP.

kothandki
05-22-2010, 10:59 AM
It says everything is up to date except for my video card - I use an ATI Radeon 9550.

Q
05-22-2010, 11:52 PM
I need to see the report. It can help me see where the problem is.

kothandki
05-23-2010, 01:18 AM
[SWKotOR]
ReportDateTime=5/23/2010 12:16:12 AM
SysInfoVersion=v1.00.60
GameExists=1
GameVersion=v2.00.424
GameInstallLocation=C:\Program Files\LucasArts\SWKotOR2\

[OS]
Name=WinXP
Version=Windows XP v5.1 build 2600 Service Pack 3
Service Pack=Service Pack 3
Status=Pass

[SwapFiles]
C:\pagefile.sys=0

[CPU]
CPUCount=1
CPUSpeed=2525
CPUFamily=15
CPUModel=2
CPUStepping=7
CPUVendor=Intel
CPUName= Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.53GHz
Status=Pass

[Memory]
RAM=768
Status=Pass

[Disk Free Space]
C: (NTFS), UNICODE=214MB
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=D:\,E:\
Drives=ATAPI DVD A DH20A4P,HL-DT-ST CD-RW GCE-8481B,LITEON DVD-ROM LTD163

[Video]
Video Card Name=RADEON 9550
Video Memory=128
Desktop Resolution=1024x768x32 @ 60Hz
DirectX=DirectX 9.0c (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=1.5.4202 WinXP Release
OpenGL Vendor=ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL Renderer=RADEON 9550 x86/SSE2
Vid Card Status=Warning
Vid Card Driver Status=Pass
GL Status=Pass
DX Status=Pass

[Audio]
Sound Card Name=SoundMAX Integrated Digital Audio
Status=Pass


;Game Options from swkotor2.ini

[Display Options]
FullScreen=1
Disable Movies=0
Disable Intro Movies=0
Sort Modules=1
Width=640
Height=480
BitsPerPixels=32
RefreshRate=60

[Sound Options]
Music Volume=85
Voiceover Volume=85
Sound Effects Volume=85
Movie Volume=85
Number 3D Voices=32
Number 2D Voices=32
2D3D Bias=1.00
EAX=0
Sound Init=0
Disable Sound=0
Force Software=0

[Graphics Options]
Grass=1
Shadows=1
EnableHardwareMouse=1
FullScreen=1
AllowSoftShadows=1
RefreshRate=60
Width=800
Height=600
Emitters=1
Anisotropy=1
Frame Buffer=1
Soft Shadows=0
Brightness=57
V-Sync=0
Texture Quality=2
Anti Aliasing=0

[Game Options]
Enable Tooltips=1
Keyboard Camera Deceleration=2000.000000
Keyboard Camera Acceleration=500.000000
Keyboard Camera DPS=200.000000
TextureVariation=0
BodyVariation=0
AppearanceType=0
PCGender=0
GameCompleted=0
CurSithLord=0
Hide InGame GUI=0
Use Small Fonts=0
Hide Unequippable=0
Tutorial Popups=1
Subtitles=1
Mini Map=1
Floating Numbers=1
Status Summary=1
Enable Mouse Teleporting To Buttons=1
Mouse Sensitivity=44
Difficulty Level=1
Auto Level Up NPCs=0
Mouse Look=0
AutoSave=1
EnableScreenShot=0
Reverse Mouse Buttons=0
Reverse Ingame YAxis=0
Reverse Minigame YAxis=0
Combat Movement=1
UnlockedPlanetSongs=1
TooltipDelay Sec=1
Disable Movies=0

[config]
firstrun=0

[Keymapping]
Action286B=8
Action286A=7
Action285B=10
Action285A=9
Action284B=54
Action284A=51
Action283B=54
Action283A=51
Action282B=69
Action282A=73
Action281B=53
Action281A=76
Action280B=69
Action280A=73
Action268=52
Action265=58
Action264=57
Action263=43
Action262=85
Action261=84
Action260=83
Action259=82
Action258=81
Action257=80
Action256=79
Action255=78
Action254=77
Action253=31
Action245=75
Action244=55
Action243=67
Action242=74
Action241=87
Action240=56
Action239=68
Action238=82
Action236=83
Action234=81
Action232=80
Action230=79
Action228=78
Action226=77
Action225=70
Action224=90
Action223=31
Action222=25
Action221=24
Action220=29
Action219=28
Action218=42
Action217=87
Action216=65
Action215=63
Action214=60
Action213=62
Action212=61
Action211=66
Action210=59
Action209=71
Action208=89
Action207=72
Action206=30
Action205=55
Action204=67

[Autopause Options]
End Of Combat Round=0
Mine Sighted=0
Enemy Sighted=1
Party Killed=1
Action Menu=0
New Target Selected=1

[Movies Shown]
Movie10=0
Movie 9=0
Movie 8=0
Movie 7=0
Movie 6=0
Movie 5=0
Movie 4=0
Movie 3=0
Movie 2=0
Movie 1=0
Movie 0=4

Q
05-23-2010, 04:45 PM
Thanks. Your video card should run the game OK, but you might have to turn down the resolution/eye candy. :)

Try the Dantooine lag fix first:
First, figure out where the .ini is installed. Default is "C:\Program Files\Lucasarts\swkotor(2)\swkotor(2).ini". If its not in that location, then your going to have to do some searching around on the hard drive a bit.
When you find it, just double-click on the file to open it in Notepad.
Scroll down the file until you find the Graphics Options
Under the last line ("last line" as in the last line of the list of entries under "Graphics Options", NOT the last line of "swkotor(2).ini), add "Disable Vertex Buffer Objects=1", without the quotes.
Goto File, then Save.
ATI cards have traditionally had problems with both KotOR games and have never run them perfectly, so you might need to try this if the above doesn't work:
I downloaded ATI System Tools, created a game profile where I set Direct3d and OpenGL settings to Auto Balanced and it worked like a charm!

kothandki
06-11-2010, 04:44 PM
Forgot to say thank you to you guys, stingerhs's suggestion worked. So thanks everyone! (I'd had the game [not working] for 6 months lol). So thanks again!!! :)

Q
06-13-2010, 05:23 PM
You're welcome! :)