PDA

View Full Version : Please help!


tehdave
05-17-2010, 12:09 AM
Hey guys,

I just got a copy of KOTOR from direct2drive and im having some trouble getting it to run. The install is fine and the hardware specs are all met but everytime i start the game up im getting the blue cursor and then the error report message and it closes. I've tried some of the things ive found here but nothing seems to work. ANY feedback would be greatly appreciated!

Q
05-17-2010, 01:22 AM
For starters, please post your system specs using the game's configuration utility:
Post your system specs
Sometimes we're just not going to be able to help you if we don't know what kind of hardware you have on your machine. If you don't know what you have on your machine, then follow these steps below:
Bring up the launcher menu for Kotor 1 or 2.
Click on "Configure".
Click the "Scan Hardware" button on the lower center of the window.
Click "Yes" to continue.
Click "Details" to view your system specs.
Click "Save Report" and save the file to your desktop.
Whenever you post your problem, open the file you just saved and copy and paste the contents to your post.
Also, please specify which version of Windows you're using, because the game can't recognize anything newer than XP.

tehdave
05-17-2010, 01:27 AM
[SWKotOR]
ReportDateTime=5/17/2010 1:25:07 AM
SysInfoVersion=v1.00.60
GameExists=1
GameVersion=v1.03.514077
GameInstallLocation=C:\Program Files\LucasArts\SWKotOR\

[OS]
Name=WinXP
Version=Windows XP v5.1 build 2600 Service Pack 3
Service Pack=Service Pack 3
Status=Pass

[SwapFiles]
C:\pagefile.sys=672

[CPU]
CPUCount=1
CPUSpeed=1592
CPUFamily=6
CPUModel=13
CPUStepping=8
CPUVendor=Intel
CPUName=Intel(R) Celeron(R) M processor 1.60GHz
Status=Warning

[Memory]
RAM=448
Status=Warning

[Disk Free Space]
C: (NTFS), UNICODE=64.34GB
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=D:\
Drives=HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GMA-4082N,HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GMA-4082N,MAT****A DVD-RAM UJ-841S

[Video]
Video Card Name=ATI RADEON XPRESS 200M Series
Video Memory=256
Desktop Resolution=1280x800x32 @ 60Hz
DirectX=DirectX (9.0+) (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=1.4.5279 WinXP Release
OpenGL Vendor=ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL Renderer=RADEON XPRESS 200M Series SW TCL x86/SSE2
Vid Card Status=Warning
Vid Card Driver Status=Pass
GL Status=Pass
DX Status=Pass

[Audio]
Sound Card Name=Realtek HD Audio output
Status=Pass


;Game Options from swkotor.ini

[Game Options]

[Graphics Options]
EnableHardwareMouse=1
AllowSoftShadows=1

[config]
firstrun=0


sorry this is my first run into pc gaming since xbox and playstation have proven unreliable. im using windows xp on a laptop.

Q
05-17-2010, 02:07 AM
Thanks. :)

The first thing that you're going to want to try is the Dantooine lag fix:
First, figure out where the .ini is installed. Default is "C:\Program Files\Lucasarts\swkotor(2)\swkotor(2).ini". If its not in that location, then your going to have to do some searching around on the hard drive a bit.
When you find it, just double-click on the file to open it in Notepad.
Scroll down the file until you find the Graphics Options
Under the last line ("last line" as in the last line of the list of entries under "Graphics Options", NOT the last line of "swkotor(2).ini), add "Disable Vertex Buffer Objects=1", without the quotes.
Goto File, then Save.

tehdave
05-17-2010, 02:14 AM
Thanks for responding I really appreciate it. I found the file and added that line but all im getting is the cursor. It sits for about a minute then the error comes up.

Q
05-17-2010, 02:26 AM
You're welcome. We'll figure this out. :)

I have a feeling that this might be a resolution incompatibility problem. Try opening your laptop's graphics control panel (Start>Control Panel>Appearance and Themes>Change the screen resolution>Advanced>Adapter>List All Modes) and see if you can find out what resolutions it supports. The game's default resolution is 800x600 @60Hz.

tehdave
05-17-2010, 02:34 AM
it says im running 1280 by 800 truecolor (32 bit) 60 hz. Im going to be honest with you.... I have no idea what any of this means lol

tehdave
05-17-2010, 02:37 AM
I tried running it at 800x600 and still nothing if that means anything

Q
05-17-2010, 02:40 AM
it says im running 1280 by 800 truecolor (32 bit) 60 hz. Im going to be honest with you.... I have no idea what any of this means lol
OK, see if there is an option to change it to 800x600 @60Hz, and, if there is, change it to that and then try launching the game.

tehdave
05-17-2010, 02:46 AM
tried on 3 different 800x600 settings and no difference. for some reason im getting sound now but no picture still

Q
05-17-2010, 02:53 AM
Try opening swkotor.ini again and make sure that the line you added is still there. You should also try this since your graphics processor is an ATI model:
I downloaded ATI System Tools, created a game profile where I set Direct3d and OpenGL settings to Auto Balanced and it worked like a charm!

tehdave
05-17-2010, 03:10 AM
this atitool is not working for me. and i have no idea how to use it. maybe this laptop is too old?

Q
05-17-2010, 05:03 AM
No, it should run it. Weird. :(

Hm. PM sent.

CaptainHanSolo
05-19-2010, 01:10 AM
Hey fellas... hopefully you're up for discussing this further. I registered an account on here, because I've been looking for a solution to the same problem.

I downloaded KOTOR from direct2drive and installed it. When I try to launch the game, I will sometimes get a black screen with the blue KOTOR pointer, and sometimes it will immediately crash to the error report message. I've been all over the forums searching for answers, at BioWare and AMD/ATI... and still haven't found answers.

tehdave, here are a couple of links with suggested solutions/workarounds... just because they didn't work for me doesn't mean they won't work for you--so it's worth taking a look at them. The first URL is the forum discussion on this topic at game.amd.com, and it explains the problems with the latest ATI Catalyst drivers and OpenGL apps like SW:KOTOR, and the second URL is to the Catalyst 9.12 hotfix they are talking about.

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=279&threadid=128067&highlight_key=y&keyword1=kotor

http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/ATICatalyst912Hotfix.aspx

For the rest of you guys... I still need help, if you can look into this. I am running an AMD X2 5600+ 2.8GHz with 3 GB RAM and an HD 4870 1 GB graphics card on a Windows XP Professional SP3 OS.

Here's my Hardware Scan from the game launcher:

[SWKotOR]
ReportDateTime=5/19/2010 12:04:37 AM
SysInfoVersion=v1.00.60
GameExists=1
GameVersion=v1.03.514077
GameInstallLocation=C:\Program Files\LucasArts\SWKotOR\

[OS]
Name=WinXP
Version=Windows XP v5.1 build 2600 Service Pack 3
Service Pack=Service Pack 3
Status=Pass

[SwapFiles]
C:\pagefile.sys=0

[CPU]
CPUCount=2
CPUSpeed=2812
CPUFamily=15
CPUModel=3
CPUStepping=3
CPUVendor=AMD
CPUName=AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5600+
Status=Pass

[Memory]
RAM=2048
Status=Pass

[Disk Free Space]
C: (NTFS), UNICODE=86.72GB
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=D:\
Drives=LITE-ON DVDRW LH-20A1H,LITE-ON DVDRW LH-20A1H

[Video]
Video Card Name=ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series
Video Memory=2048
Desktop Resolution=1280x1024x32 @ 60Hz
DirectX=DirectX (9.0+) (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=Not Installed
OpenGL Vendor=(null)
OpenGL Renderer=(null)
Vid Card Status=Warning
Vid Card Driver Status=Fail
GL Status=Fail
DX Status=Pass

[Audio]
Sound Card Name=USB Audio Device
Status=Pass


;Game Options from swkotor.ini

[Sound Options]
Sound Init=0
Music Volume=85
Voiceover Volume=85
Sound Effects Volume=85
Movie Volume=100
Force Software=0
EAX=2
Disable Sound=0
Number 3D Voices=16
Number 2D Voices=24
Environment Effects Level=0.60
2D3D Bias=1.50
Environment Effects=1
Environment Effects Nonstreaming=1
Environment Effects Streaming=1

[Game Options]
Hide InGame GUI=0
Use Small Fonts=0
Keyboard Camera Deceleration=2000.000000
Keyboard Camera Acceleration=500.000000
Keyboard Camera DPS=200.000000
Hide Unequippable=0
Tutorial Popups=1
Subtitles=1
Mini Map=1
Floating Numbers=1
Status Summary=1
Enable Mouse Teleporting To Buttons=1
Mouse Sensitivity=33
Auto Level Up NPCs=0
Mouse Look=0
AutoSave=1
Reverse Minigame YAxis=0
Combat Movement=1
Enable Tooltips=1
Difficulty Level=1
TooltipDelay Sec=1.000000
Memory Access=1
Memory Level=1
Disable Movies=1

[Movies Shown]
Movie 0=0
Movie 1=0
Movie 2=0
Movie 3=0
Movie 4=0
Movie 5=0
Movie 6=0
Movie 7=0
Movie 8=0
Movie 9=0
Movie10=0

[Alias]
HD0=.\
OVERRIDE=.\Override
TEMP=.\Temp
MODULES=.\Modules
LOGS=.\Logs
LOCALVAULT=.\LocalVault
DMVAULT=.\DMVault
SERVERVAULT=.\ServerVault
STREAMMUSIC=.\StreamMusic
TEMPCLIENT=.\Tempclient
SAVES=.\saves
CURRENTGAME=.\currentgame
TEXTUREPACKS=.\texturepacks
STREAMWAVES=.\StreamWaves

[Graphics Options]
V-Sync=0
Anisotropy=1
Frame Buffer=1
Anti Aliasing=0
Texture Quality=2
Emitters=1
Grass=1
Soft Shadows=0
Shadows=1
Brightness=57
EnableHardwareMouse=1
AllowWindowedMode=1
FullScreen=0
Disable Vertex Buffer Objects=1
RefreshRate=60
Width=800
Height=600

[Autopause Options]
Mine Sighted=1
End Of Combat Round=0
Enemy Sighted=1
Party Killed=1
Action Menu=0
New Target Selected=1

[config]
firstrun=0



I noted that my video card failed the test, presumably because it's too new to be recognized by the game. At any rate, I'm still looking for a workaround/fix, so please let me know if you come up with anything!

Cheers.