PDA

View Full Version : Serious Problem!!! Need Help!!!!


Commander Dimal
06-13-2010, 12:10 PM
I have two problems. For KOTOR II when I am on the level where you are on the surface of the Telos Restoration Zone and when I cross into the Czerka Outpost, it starts to load and then crashes and an error report appears. Any ideas how to fix this? For KOTOR I downloaded an update for it on the LA website, and now it won't work anymore. When I start it up it says to insert the CD and even when I do it still says it.

Seikan
06-13-2010, 12:34 PM
Well, i have never dl uptdates to kotor, i think it was a good choince, so to k1 you should reinstall the game, and let it without the uptdate, and for TSL, do you have any mod?

Commander Dimal
06-13-2010, 01:21 PM
No I don't have any mod for TSL. The TSL problem is my main problem. I have not been able to go on any further because it keeps crashing at the same part.

Seikan
06-13-2010, 03:01 PM
have you try to reinstall the game? you put your savegame in some other fold, and unistall the game, then install it again, and put the savegame back the the savegames folder, and try if it's fixed.

Commander Dimal
06-13-2010, 03:03 PM
How do you uninstall it though. Is there something you're supposed to click on in the TSL Gamedata folder?

Q
06-13-2010, 03:25 PM
First of all; what version of Windows are you using?

Commander Dimal
06-13-2010, 03:32 PM
I'm using Windows XP Professional.

Q
06-13-2010, 03:36 PM
Please use the game's configuration utility to post your system specs and we'll go from there:
Post your system specs
Sometimes we're just not going to be able to help you if we don't know what kind of hardware you have on your machine. If you don't know what you have on your machine, then follow these steps below:
Bring up the launcher menu for Kotor 1 or 2.
Click on "Configure".
Click the "Scan Hardware" button on the lower center of the window.
Click "Yes" to continue.
Click "Details" to view your system specs.
Click "Save Report" and save the file to your desktop.
Whenever you post your problem, open the file you just saved and copy and paste the contents to your post.

Commander Dimal
06-13-2010, 03:50 PM
These are the results of the report:[SWKotOR]
ReportDateTime=6/13/2010 3:46:18 PM
SysInfoVersion=v1.00.60
GameExists=1
GameVersion=v2.00.424
GameInstallLocation=C:\Program Files\LucasArts\SWKotOR2\

[OS]
Name=WinXP
Version=Windows XP v5.1 build 2600 Service Pack 2
Service Pack=Service Pack 2
Status=Pass

[SwapFiles]
C:\pagefile.sys=768

[CPU]
CPUCount=1
CPUSpeed=2793
CPUFamily=15
CPUModel=4
CPUStepping=1
CPUVendor=Intel
CPUName= Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz
Status=Pass

[Memory]
RAM=1024
Status=Pass

[Disk Free Space]
C: (NTFS), UNICODE=159.33GB
F: (NTFS), UNICODE=112.85GB
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=D:\,E:\,W:\
Drives=LITE-ON CD-ROM LTN-489S,PHILIPS DVD+-RW DVD8631,PHILIPS DVD+-RW DVD8631,SONY CD-RW CRX195E1,SONY DVD RW DRU-720A,SONY DVD RW DRU-720A

[Video]
Video Card Name=NVIDIA GeForce 9400 GT
Video Memory=512
Desktop Resolution=1024x768x32 @ 60Hz
DirectX=DirectX 9.0c (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=2.1.2
OpenGL Vendor=NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL Renderer=unknown board/PCI/SSE2
NVidia Driver=6.14.11.7519
Vid Card Status=Warning
Vid Card Driver Status=Pass
GL Status=Pass
DX Status=Pass

[Audio]
Sound Card Name=Aureal Vortex Game Port
Status=Pass


;Game Options from swkotor2.ini

[Display Options]
FullScreen=1
Disable Movies=0
Disable Intro Movies=0
Sort Modules=1
Width=640
Height=480
BitsPerPixels=32
RefreshRate=60

[Sound Options]
Music Volume=85
Voiceover Volume=85
Sound Effects Volume=85
Movie Volume=85
Number 3D Voices=16
Number 2D Voices=24
2D3D Bias=1.00
EAX=0
Sound Init=0
Disable Sound=0
Force Software=0

[Graphics Options]
Grass=1
Shadows=1
EnableHardwareMouse=1
FullScreen=1
RefreshRate=60
Width=800
Height=600
Emitters=1
Anisotropy=1
Frame Buffer=1
Soft Shadows=1
Brightness=57
V-Sync=0
Texture Quality=2
Anti Aliasing=0

[Game Options]
EnableCheats=1
Enable Tooltips=1
Keyboard Camera Deceleration=2000.000000
Keyboard Camera Acceleration=500.000000
Keyboard Camera DPS=200.000000
TextureVariation=3
BodyVariation=8
AppearanceType=174
PCGender=0
GameCompleted=0
CurSithLord=0
Hide InGame GUI=0
Use Small Fonts=0
Hide Unequippable=0
Tutorial Popups=1
Subtitles=1
Mini Map=1
Floating Numbers=1
Status Summary=1
Enable Mouse Teleporting To Buttons=1
Mouse Sensitivity=44
Difficulty Level=1
Auto Level Up NPCs=0
Mouse Look=0
AutoSave=1
EnableScreenShot=0
Reverse Mouse Buttons=0
Reverse Ingame YAxis=0
Reverse Minigame YAxis=0
Combat Movement=1
UnlockedPlanetSongs=7
TooltipDelay Sec=1
Disable Movies=0

[config]
firstrun=0

[Keymapping]
Action286B=8
Action286A=7
Action285B=10
Action285A=9
Action284B=54
Action284A=51
Action283B=54
Action283A=51
Action282B=69
Action282A=73
Action281B=53
Action281A=76
Action280B=69
Action280A=73
Action268=52
Action265=58
Action264=57
Action263=43
Action262=85
Action261=84
Action260=83
Action259=82
Action258=81
Action257=80
Action256=79
Action255=78
Action254=77
Action253=31
Action245=75
Action244=55
Action243=67
Action242=74
Action241=87
Action240=56
Action239=68
Action238=82
Action236=83
Action234=81
Action232=80
Action230=79
Action228=78
Action226=77
Action225=70
Action224=90
Action223=31
Action222=25
Action221=24
Action220=29
Action219=28
Action218=42
Action217=87
Action216=65
Action215=63
Action214=60
Action213=62
Action212=61
Action211=66
Action210=59
Action209=71
Action208=89
Action207=72
Action206=30
Action205=55
Action204=67

[Autopause Options]
End Of Combat Round=0
Mine Sighted=0
Enemy Sighted=1
Party Killed=1
Action Menu=0
New Target Selected=1

[Movies Shown]
Movie10=0
Movie 9=0
Movie 8=0
Movie 7=24
Movie 6=0
Movie 5=2
Movie 4=0
Movie 3=0
Movie 2=0
Movie 1=245
Movie 0=253

Q
06-13-2010, 04:00 PM
Thank you. :)

First off, regarding your KotOR1 error: I think that it would be best to reinstall the game. Go to START>All Programs>Lucasarts>Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic>Uninstall Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic to uninstall the game. Once it's uninstalled delete any leftover files and folders, run CCleaner's registry cleaner, empty the recycle bin and restart your computer, then reinstall the game.

Secondly, you're going to have to use the Dantooine lag fix with both games:
First, figure out where the .ini is installed. Default is "C:\Program Files\Lucasarts\swkotor(2)\swkotor(2).ini". If its not in that location, then your going to have to do some searching around on the hard drive a bit.
When you find it, just double-click on the file to open it in Notepad.
Scroll down the file until you find the Graphics Options
Under the last line ("last line" as in the last line of the list of entries under "Graphics Options", NOT the last line of "swkotor(2).ini), add "Disable Vertex Buffer Objects=1", without the quotes.
Goto File, then Save.
Since you're using XP, that should be all that you'll have to do.

Commander Dimal
06-13-2010, 05:12 PM
It didn't work for TSL. When I cross from the Telos Restoration Zone to the Czerka Camp and when it's about to start loading, the screen turns black and an error report message appears that gives you the option to send or don't send.

Edit: On the test everything passed except one thing that didn't passed the recommended requirement.
Video: NVIDIA GeForce 9400 GT 512MB
and it said: Graphics Recommended: ATI Radeon 9200 or better, Nvidia Geforce4 or better (128MB VRAM)

What does this mean?

Q
06-13-2010, 05:22 PM
Are you using any mods with TSL?

Have you tried going back to an earlier save from the previous area of the restoration zone?

Seikan
06-13-2010, 05:25 PM
No I don't have any mod for TSL.

The problem beeing during the loading of the new module, the problem will probably remains even with an earlier save game, i still think he should reinstall the game.

Commander Dimal
06-13-2010, 05:38 PM
I've tried starting new game but that didn't work but I haven't tried reinstalling. How do I reinstall it?

Q
06-13-2010, 06:03 PM
The exact same way that I indicated in post #10. Is TSL patched?
The problem beeing during the loading of the new module, the problem will probably remains even with an earlier save game, i still think he should reinstall the game. °°
Oops, I missed the part where he said that he didn't have any mods installed. My suggestion was that he try an earlier save from two or more modules ago. Several area transitions might fix the problem without having to reinstall the game.

Seikan
06-13-2010, 07:00 PM
Yes, that's an option, if he have it... =/

I think he can keep his savegame, in an other folder and reinstall the game, then he put it back, and the problem may be solve, and if it isn't then start the game again...

Q
06-13-2010, 07:15 PM
Yes, but if the problem is in the save itself, which I believe is the case here, that wouldn't solve anything, and he will have gone through the process of reinstalling the game for nothing.

Commander Dimal
06-13-2010, 07:24 PM
I've started lots of new games but I still have the same problem in the same place. On the test everything passed except one thing that didn't passed the recommended requirement.
Video: NVIDIA GeForce 9400 GT 512MB
and it said: Graphics Recommended: ATI Radeon 9200 or better, Nvidia Geforce4 or better (128MB VRAM)

What does that mean?

Q
06-13-2010, 08:58 PM
Your card is fine. The game is so old that it doesn't recognize newer video cards or any OS newer than XP.

I'm going to ask again:
Are the games patched to the newest version?

Commander Dimal
06-14-2010, 12:34 PM
No. The patch stops about halfway and says it doesn't recognize something.

Q
06-14-2010, 08:44 PM
If you're using the autopatcher, well, don't. Just download the manual patches here (http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filefront.com/file/KOTOR_Patch;65132) and here (http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filefront.com/file/TSL_Patch_US_Version;41126) and use them instead.