PDA

View Full Version : KOTOR 1 help!


Wastewalker
06-13-2010, 10:24 PM
I recently reinstalled KOTOR on my computer, and am now riddled with errors. At first it crashed to the desktop after just a few minutes of gameplay and gave the generic error message, but now when I try to start it, I get a message that says "Conflict with disc emulator software detected." I tried going into the swkotor.ini file and adding the line "Disable Vertex Buffer objects=1", and I tried setting it to only one core, and neither worked. This game always used to run perfectly.

Specs:
[SWKotOR]
ReportDateTime=6/13/2010 6:23:05 PM
SysInfoVersion=v1.00.60
GameExists=1
GameVersion=v1.03.514077
GameInstallLocation=C:\Program Files\LucasArts\SWKotOR\

[OS]
Name=WinXP
Version=Windows XP v5.1 build 2600 Service Pack 3
Service Pack=Service Pack 3
Status=Pass

[SwapFiles]
C:\pagefile.sys=2046

[CPU]
CPUCount=1
CPUSpeed=2800
CPUFamily=15
CPUModel=3
CPUStepping=4
CPUVendor=Intel
CPUName= Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz
Status=Pass

[Memory]
RAM=1536
Status=Pass

[Disk Free Space]
C: (NTFS), UNICODE=84.08GB
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=D:\,E:\
Drives=IDE-DVD ROM 6116,PHILIPS DVD8421

[Video]
Video Card Name=NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT
Video Memory=256
Desktop Resolution=1024x768x32 @ 60Hz
DirectX=DirectX (9.0+) (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=2.1.2
OpenGL Vendor=NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL Renderer=GeForce 7300 GT/PCI/SSE2
NVidia Driver=6.14.11.9621
Vid Card Status=Warning
Vid Card Driver Status=Pass
GL Status=Pass
DX Status=Pass

[Audio]
Sound Card Name=Realtek HD Audio rear output
Status=Pass


;Game Options from swkotor.ini

[Sound Options]
Music Volume=85
Voiceover Volume=85
Sound Effects Volume=85
Movie Volume=100
Force Software=0
EAX=2
Disable Sound=0
Number 3D Voices=16
Number 2D Voices=24
Environment Effects Level=0.60
2D3D Bias=1.50
Environment Effects=1
Environment Effects Nonstreaming=1
Environment Effects Streaming=1

[Game Options]
EnableScreenShot=0
Reverse Mouse Buttons=0
Hide InGame GUI=0
Use Small Fonts=0
Keyboard Camera Deceleration=2000.000000
Keyboard Camera Acceleration=500.000000
Keyboard Camera DPS=200.000000
Hide Unequippable=0
Tutorial Popups=1
Subtitles=1
Mini Map=1
Floating Numbers=1
Status Summary=1
Enable Mouse Teleporting To Buttons=1
Mouse Sensitivity=33
Auto Level Up NPCs=0
Mouse Look=0
AutoSave=1
Reverse Minigame YAxis=0
Combat Movement=1
Enable Tooltips=1
Difficulty Level=1
TooltipDelay Sec=1.000000
Memory Access=1
Memory Level=1
Disable Movies=0

[Movies Shown]
Movie 0=16
Movie 1=0
Movie 2=0
Movie 3=0
Movie 4=0
Movie 5=0
Movie 6=0
Movie 7=0
Movie 8=0
Movie 9=0
Movie10=0

[Alias]
HD0=.\
OVERRIDE=.\Override
TEMP=.\Temp
MODULES=.\Modules
LOGS=.\Logs
LOCALVAULT=.\LocalVault
DMVAULT=.\DMVault
SERVERVAULT=.\ServerVault
STREAMMUSIC=.\StreamMusic
TEMPCLIENT=.\Tempclient
SAVES=.\saves
CURRENTGAME=.\currentgame
TEXTUREPACKS=.\texturepacks
STREAMWAVES=.\StreamWaves

[Graphics Options]
V-Sync=0
Anisotropy=1
Frame Buffer=0
Anti Aliasing=0
Texture Quality=2
Emitters=1
Grass=1
Soft Shadows=0
Shadows=1
Brightness=57
EnableHardwareMouse=1
FullScreen=1
RefreshRate=60
Width=800
Height=600
Disable Vertex Buffer Objects=1

[Autopause Options]
Mine Sighted=1
End Of Combat Round=0
Enemy Sighted=1
Party Killed=1
Action Menu=0
New Target Selected=1

[config]
firstrun=0

[Keymapping]
Action286B=8
Action286A=7
Action285B=10
Action285A=9
Action284B=54
Action284A=51
Action283B=54
Action283A=51
Action282B=69
Action282A=73
Action281B=53
Action281A=76
Action280B=69
Action280A=73
Action264=57
Action263=43
Action262=85
Action261=84
Action260=83
Action259=82
Action258=81
Action257=80
Action256=79
Action255=78
Action254=77
Action253=31
Action245=75
Action244=55
Action243=67
Action242=74
Action241=87
Action240=56
Action239=68
Action238=82
Action236=83
Action234=81
Action232=80
Action230=79
Action228=78
Action226=77
Action225=70
Action224=90
Action223=31
Action222=25
Action221=24
Action220=29
Action219=28
Action218=42
Action217=87
Action216=65
Action215=63
Action214=62
Action213=60
Action212=61
Action211=66
Action210=59
Action209=71
Action208=89
Action207=72
Action206=30
Action205=55
Action204=67

Q
06-14-2010, 11:07 PM
Disk emulator? Are you using disk images and Damon Tools? SecuROM can tell if you are.

Wastewalker
06-14-2010, 11:48 PM
I'm not, but it actually doesn't seem to be doing that anymore though. It still randomly crashes, and it seems like its always right when combat begins.

Q
06-15-2010, 12:02 AM
You are using XP, right? The reason I ask is that KotOR can't recognize any OS newer than XP. And keep "Disable Vertex Buffer Objects=1" in the .ini file, because it's pretty much necessary for all video hardware now.

Wastewalker
06-15-2010, 12:08 AM
Yeah, I'm using XP. Everything I've read seems to point towards that line being necessary too, so I'll just leave it. It hasn't fixed the random crashes though.

Q
06-15-2010, 12:16 AM
Hm. You might want to try uninstalling and reinstalling the game. After you uninstall, delete any leftover files and folders, empty the recycle bin, run CCleaner's registry cleaner and reboot before reinstalling.

Wastewalker
06-15-2010, 12:19 AM
Thanks! I had thought about reinstalling, but not the other things.

Edit: I'm into the Lower City without any crashes, so it seems to have worked! Thanks again!

Edit: A new problem has come up. For some reason, whenever I try to enter Javyar's Cantina, the game returns me to the menu screen, and none of the buttons will work, so I have to Ctrl-Alr-Del my way out.

Wastewalker
06-15-2010, 05:10 PM
Thanks! I had thought about reinstalling, but not the other things.

Edit: I'm into the Lower City without any crashes, so it seems to have worked! Thanks again!

Edit: A new problem has come up. For some reason, whenever I try to enter Javyar's Cantina, the game returns me to the menu screen, and none of the buttons will work, so I have to Ctrl-Alr-Del my way out.

Edit: Ok, scratch that, it keeps crashing. IOt only sems to do it combat, when blaster fire kills someone. It buzzes, then shuts down the computer.

Q
06-15-2010, 07:23 PM
It shuts down the computer? This sounds like a hardware failure to me. What type of power supply does your computer have, and how old is it?

Wastewalker
06-15-2010, 07:47 PM
I'm not sure, I don't know where to look to find out what power supply it has. Is it under the DirextX diagnostic? I do know that this is the only game that does this. I can run mass Effect, Assassin's Creed, and Fallout 3 perfectly with this computer, so I don't know what's going on here.