PDA

View Full Version : Help with modeling


Seikan
06-14-2010, 11:08 AM
Well i'm triying to change a head model, to do it... well compact all the vertex to make the head the smallest possible, there is not any problem if the head is ugly, of the poorest quality ever, or wathever i just want it really small. The problem is that after changing the model, using taina's replacer, and all the stuff, when i get it in game, there are big blades of head that go everywhere, and i have already try many times =/

So maybre there are limits to the movements of the vertex or i don't know (I have only move vertex) maye there are parts of the head i might not move?

Or did someone just know a head model really small...?

Dak Drexl
06-14-2010, 11:30 AM
Hey, I had the same problem. Try doing this: while using the replacer, uncheck all the boxes except the ONE that just says "head". It depends on which game you're using though, it could say "head_geo", but just check the one box that says one of those and see what happens.

Seikan
06-14-2010, 11:57 AM
IT works!!! THANKS!!! :D

But now I have a new problem, changing the name of the head texture in the Heads.2da don't change anything, and if i change it with the mdlops, the head is screwed again...

Dak Drexl
06-14-2010, 12:40 PM
Well, you shouldn't have to change the name in anything. Just name the file of the texture (tga) whatever the head's name is. For example, if you remodeled the head called "pmhc01", then you would name your texture the same. Don't do anything with mdlops; that just affects the mdel.

Seikan
06-14-2010, 12:56 PM
the proble is that i made a new head, for a new appearance, so i renamed the model head PMHC255 (based of PMHC05), then i don't want to alter the PMHC05 textures, so how can i made different textures for the new model?

Dak Drexl
06-14-2010, 01:56 PM
Well I don't know how to go about doing it like that; I think you'd need to add rows in appearance and heads.2da or something. The easiest and most common way to get a "new" head to work is to overwrite one that you don't like. Then you just name your own textures the name of the head you replaced.

Seikan
06-14-2010, 02:05 PM
Well, i did make the new appearance and head, the only problem is that i can't manage to change the head's textures, and the problem with taking an other head is that the new head isn't really made to bee seen, and it might be included into my next mod, si it wouldn't be really cool to see disfigured guys all around the galaxy xD

redrob41
06-14-2010, 04:10 PM
Is this for K1 or TSL? There will be slightly different advice depending on which game you're doing it for.

I always find that it is better to rename the files, and add new lines to the heads.2da, appearance.da & portraits.2da files (rather than overwriting and existing head). The best way to make the 2da changes are with the awesome TSLPatcher.

But now I have a new problem, changing the name of the head texture in the Heads.2da don't change anything, and if i change it with the mdlops, the head is screwed again...

You should probably use a hex editor to change the embedded default texture's name. Whichever hex editor you use, it should have a find and replace tool of some sort. Look for PMHC05 and replace it with your new texture's name, BUT only if it has the same number of characters (see below). You should also rename the mdl and mdx files the same as the texture.

the proble is that i made a new head, for a new appearance, so i renamed the model head PMHC255 (based of PMHC05), then i don't want to alter the PMHC05 textures, so how can i made different textures for the new model?

I wouldn't use the name you have, since it has 7 characters (PMHC255), and the original that you're replacing only has 6 (PMHC05).

Seikan
06-14-2010, 04:23 PM
It's for K1, i change the name of the mdl, mdx and TGA to PMHC55, to match the characters.

For the hex editor i have "XVI32" but i don't really know how to change the default texture with it.

miro42
06-14-2010, 05:45 PM
It's for K1, i change the name of the mdl, mdx and TGA to PMHC55, to match the characters.

For the hex editor i have "XVI32" but i don't really know how to change the default texture with it.

Open your new .mdl file in your hex editor. Find all occurrences of PMHC05 (I believe there are eleven entries) and simply rename them all to PMHC55.

Seikan
06-14-2010, 06:09 PM
Thanks!!! ^^