PDA

View Full Version : Will KOTOR run on my PC? And, if so will I need any patches?


Darth Bassplayer
06-14-2010, 07:22 PM
Hi,
I have played the Xbox versions of Kotor 1 and 2 several times, and I am thinking about purchasing the PC version. I tried the Mac version on my 1.42ghz eMac to horrendous results. Will it run smoothly on my PC, and if so will I need to download any patches, and what version should I buy the normal or the Best of PC version?

Here's my specs:
Pentium 4 3.6ghz Processor
2gb RAM
40gb hardrive
Nvidia Quadro FX 1300 Video Card
Windows XP Home Service Pack 3 w/COA

Q
06-14-2010, 08:36 PM
Yeah, it'll play it. Make sure to do this fix after installing the game:
First, figure out where the .ini is installed. Default is "C:\Program Files\Lucasarts\swkotor(2)\swkotor(2).ini". If its not in that location, then your going to have to do some searching around on the hard drive a bit.
When you find it, just double-click on the file to open it in Notepad.
Scroll down the file until you find the Graphics Options
Under the last line ("last line" as in the last line of the list of entries under "Graphics Options", NOT the last line of "swkotor(2).ini), add "Disable Vertex Buffer Objects=1", without the quotes.
Goto File, then Save.
And yeah, you should patch it to the latest version.

Darth Bassplayer
06-14-2010, 08:49 PM
What is the latest patch, and are there any problems with it? I know the patches for KOTOR are notorious for doing more harm than good.

Q
06-14-2010, 10:40 PM
Here are the manual patches for both games (KotOR1 (http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filefront.com/file/KOTOR_Patch;65132)) (KotOR2 (http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filefront.com/file/TSL_Patch_US_Version;41126)).

And you heard right if you're referring to the KotOR2 patch causing a bug, but there are numerous fixes for it. I haven't heard of the KotOR1 patch causing any problems.