PDA

View Full Version : Forum Mods, please read


Lord Tirion
10-13-2001, 07:42 AM
Is there anyway we can make these forums a little more ... atmospheric for star wars? =P I dunno, but this brown background makes me think im being smothered by Obi-Wans cloak or something. Probably a nice space background or a Naboo setting. Whatcha think?

PS. Any luck on my name change to Lord Tirion yet? =P

Luke Skywalker
10-13-2001, 09:28 AM
You now what would like nice, the naboo buildings on the side. BTW I still like the layout though. :D

Boba Rhett
10-13-2001, 11:46 AM
The mods are the wrong people to be talking to about this. :)

Luke Skywalker
10-13-2001, 11:51 AM
We need to talk to Chris bout this one. :D

Kvan
10-13-2001, 04:10 PM
Originally posted by Luke Skywalker
We need to talk to Chris bout this one. :D
Well actually I don't think Chris does the design...doesn't Jackal do it? Or ZeroXscape?

Luke Skywalker
10-13-2001, 04:18 PM
Ive heard that zeroXcape does it, but Im not sure if thats true or no send them an email. :D

Young David
10-13-2001, 05:03 PM
If there were a contest "Design a new Forum Layout" ... I'd be in.

If there weren't a contest and someone asked me ... I'd do it.

So I hope I can do it ... and may do it

darthfergie
10-13-2001, 05:23 PM
Well we have a volunteer...:)

ChrisC3po
10-13-2001, 08:04 PM
Aristotle is actually behind the current design of the forums. Jackal and I did the original look. If you guys want to try your hands at a new design feel free. If we see something impressive we just might go with it.

Eets
10-13-2001, 08:57 PM
I sent in a header, and Aristotle put it in the resources section... It must not have been too impressive.

Tie Guy
10-13-2001, 10:39 PM
I'd like to see a nice Imperial Blue background.

Eets
10-13-2001, 10:41 PM
The header I made would go nicely with a blue background...

Kvan
10-14-2001, 12:13 AM
Originally posted by Tie Guy
I'd like to see a nice Imperial Blue background.
Like I said first ;) an Imperial Blue would look nice as a background

Young David
10-14-2001, 09:46 AM
Anyone of the important guys actually reading this? ... hope so.

Because I like editing, blue and imperials ... I made a design for the forum. It didn't change much, only the look (pictures/colors).

Well ... take a look for yourself here:

http://www.rendo.dekooi.nl/~gkonings/forumlayout.htm

hope anyone actually likes it.

YD

Clefo
10-14-2001, 10:22 AM
I like it.. Its cool

darthfergie
10-14-2001, 12:18 PM
COOL
I like it YD!!!:)

Link Antilles
10-15-2001, 02:58 PM
We could change it every like 3 months and have one for each civ.

(but skip the Gungans!) :D

Thrawn
10-15-2001, 03:38 PM
Looks VERY cool!!! I'd make the blue a bit darker. . . More like a Imperial navy blue. . . :D

JEDI_MASTA
10-15-2001, 04:06 PM
yeah how about a new background with stars :D

ChrisC3po
10-15-2001, 07:25 PM
Looks good Young David, although I prefer designs that will resize to all resolutions.

Young David
10-15-2001, 07:50 PM
The current one doesn't do that to. For that you would need images of 2 layers (like they do on theforce.net) One repeating layer, and a layer with logo and such.

I made it this way because the logo was this way too.

darthfergie
10-15-2001, 08:07 PM
One repeating layer, and a layer with logo and such

Well I'm lost...
I design my website but that is it...
What you just said...I understood about 2/3 of it...
Could you please explain this little tidbit for people with a little less experiance than you???:D

Tie Guy
10-15-2001, 09:41 PM
It looks great Dave! I think we should implement it, for a little change of pace.

Young David
10-17-2001, 05:34 AM
Originally posted by darthfergie


Well I'm lost...
I design my website but that is it...
What you just said...I understood about 2/3 of it...
Could you please explain this little tidbit for people with a little less experiance than you???:D

When you look at the banner on TheForce.Net (http://www.theforce.net) you'll notice that no matter how wide your screen is ... the banner will not start all over again. How did they do this ...

They made a repeatable banner first, one that can be repeated as long as you like and it still looks like a seamless picture. This banner is the background.

Over that background comes a transparant gif with the logo and some aditional pictures, this banner does not repeat.

When the logo banner stops, the background banner goes on in infinity.

Is this english for you?

Kudar
10-17-2001, 10:13 AM
What are you talking about??

The page doesn't have a background image!?

check the coding, it's simply a large image set at width of 778 within a table

in the background of the table that the logo is in, is another picture, which was originally part of the logo which has been cut in 2 pieces,

The picture in the background is also 778 wide so it's only needed a high resolutions when the screen is wider that 778 you see the other picture which joins on perfectly! BUT if the screen resolution were to be an unlikely 1600 wide or so then you would be able to see the table background image of the table would repeat itself, as it is doing already at the current resolution!

There isn't any transparent gifs anywhere to be seen.

darthfergie
10-17-2001, 05:56 PM
Originally posted by Young David


When you look at the banner on TheForce.Net (http://www.theforce.net) you'll notice that no matter how wide your screen is ... the banner will not start all over again. How did they do this ...

They made a repeatable banner first, one that can be repeated as long as you like and it still looks like a seamless picture. This banner is the background.

Over that background comes a transparant gif with the logo and some aditional pictures, this banner does not repeat.

When the logo banner stops, the background banner goes on in infinity.

Is this english for you?

Thanx YD I understand now:)