PDA

View Full Version : Kotor (1&2) CTD on Vista


Nole4694
07-22-2010, 07:29 PM
Now I've looked around, and with all the problem threads that are on here I haven't been able to find a thread about this.

Ok so, I have vista. DOn't know if that has anything to do with it... but theres the problem, I've run into it on several occasions in different places. ALL are very annoying and one is truly game breaking as I can't proceed in the story others. So heres the problem...

On one occasion in Kotor 1, on Korriban, that beast you have to kill in the caves across that bridge, well when I kill it it releases that puff of smoke or something and then my game freezes up and I have to exit out.

On another (also in Kotor, and what is REALLY game breaking), on Mannan underwater when you have to kill the huge shark(or explode the mining thing) when the cutscene takes place at the end of the cutscene it freezes and I have to cut out. This also happens if I just walk across the bridge.

Now in Kotor 2 on Korriban, when you are trying to get across that room with the two creatures (I believe the same in Kotor 1) it freezes when I kill one. (I got around this by just running past them, still its REALLY annoying.)

I don't know if there are any other occurances in Kotor 1 because I can't get past manann. I've unistalled the game and everything, but I'm not going to reinstall until somone can please help me with this problem. I will be forever greatful for any help.

Q
07-22-2010, 08:22 PM
Did you install the game according to the large-print instructions at the top of the second post in this thread (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=194324)?

Nole4694
07-22-2010, 09:22 PM
Ummmm, I did the Vista Fix. Is that not enough? Is doing that going fix the problem for sure? I read it before posting here, but I didn't want to waste my time reinstalling by that post if the problem wasn't fixed by it, so I guess I was looking for some confirmation :P.

thanks dude