PDA

View Full Version : Resetxform Problem...


Dak Drexl
08-03-2010, 01:35 PM
Ok so I've just made a gun model with working textures and UVmaps and everything it normally needs to work. Now all I need to do is link the model, but every single time when I "resetxforms" my texture gets all warped. I go to my UVWMap but everything is in place, but on the model itself the skin is still warped :confused:

What causes this to happen? Any help is appreciated.

e-varmint
08-03-2010, 02:25 PM
I've had the same texture problem, and finally started detaching polygons (in groups). Probably not the technically correct solution, but it seems to work.

I detach the left side, the right side, and sometimes the top and bottom.

UVW experts are cringing as they read this, but I detach as separate objects, not elements

Inyri has also suggested unlinking everything, then resetting to solve scale issues, and I find it to be sound advice.

Dak Drexl
08-03-2010, 03:00 PM
Hm I thought it might be something with detaching but I don't even know what detaching is even doing, so I couldn't say what I was doing wrong. So you end up detaching the entire gun as objects? I'll give it a try. Oh, and it kind of leads me to another question: Do I have to detach everything in the end, or only the stuff I mapped myself?

Thanks for the help varmint!

e-varmint
08-03-2010, 05:54 PM
I would only detach areas that are getting warped when your item is in-game. If you are using combos of new and "game" parts, I would expect that the "game" parts would be OK. Then again, I'm no expert, and the game does wacky stuff if you have a newer computer.

I'll be modding again this weekend, so I'll play around with it.

TriggerGod
08-03-2010, 06:13 PM
Heres what you do for detaching (in GMax, if i recall correctly) :

First, you collapse your mesh. All you'd have to do is either right click on the window in the corner that has your Editable Mesh/Poly/Whatever and you Unwrap modifier, and click collapse all, or you can right click on your model and click editable mesh. After that, go into your polygon selection mode, and select all the polys that are in a certain part of your map. If you unwrapped your map correctly, then you shouldn't have to select every poly individually. After you selected the polys in a certain part, you want to find the button that's called "Detach", press it, and then select "Detach to Element." That won't detach the part from your actual model, but into an element which is, essentially, polys grouped together for easier selection.

Dak Drexl
08-03-2010, 06:17 PM
Well usually I detach as I map so I don't forget what to group together, but this has never happened before. I'm guessing I forgot to detach something, so I'll just have to go through and check (trial and error). Is there a way to "un-detach" stuff so I can do it over again or do I just have to re-make the model (which isn't a huge problem anyway).

TriggerGod
08-03-2010, 06:32 PM
Well usually I detach as I map so I don't forget what to group together, but this has never happened before. I'm guessing I forgot to detach something, so I'll just have to go through and check (trial and error). Is there a way to "un-detach" stuff so I can do it over again or do I just have to re-make the model (which isn't a huge problem anyway).

I do not believe it is possible to undetach elements from itself, so you either have to re-detach (which I do not believe helps...) or remake the model.

Canderis
08-03-2010, 06:58 PM
Weld the vertices. it will make it a single element again.

Dak Drexl
08-08-2010, 01:29 AM
I found a workaround for this, if anyone is interested.

Just UVWmap the model after you link it and resetxform. The new map will export perfectly fine.

DarthParametric
08-08-2010, 02:08 AM
I've never encountered that problem myself, but I've never unwrapped (or modelled) in GMax. I've only ever used it as an export tool, exporting models modelled and mapped in another app. Detaching the faces as TriggerGod described is something I've always had to do to prevent UV screwiness, but I don't recall that this was ever related to ResetXForm (in my case anyway). It was always after export, and visible on the map when reimported. In my case, I believe it was due to the way Max/GMax and the exporter handle overlapping UV co-ords. In your case it sounds like the UV co-ords are getting screwed up by the ResetXForm. Seems like you resolved the issue though.