PDA

View Full Version : Modding question


Darth_Calo
08-06-2010, 07:45 PM
as you all know I am collaborating on a modding project for Kotor1. However, the custom modules I have compiled and placed in my modules folder are not working correctly. The game sees the modules, but nothing that is "in" the module. I hope that makes sense. essentially, I can warp to the module, but there's nothing there when there should be (not even the doors)


EDIT:
System Specs:
[SWKotOR]
ReportDateTime=8/9/2010 8:34:45 PM
SysInfoVersion=v1.00.19
GameExists=1
GameVersion=v1.00.514058
GameInstallLocation=C:\Program Files\LucasArts\SWKotOR\

[OS]
Name=Win9x
Version=Windows 9X v6.0 build 6002 Service Pack 2
Service Pack=None
Status=Fail

[SwapFiles]
?:\pagefile.sys=0

[CPU]
CPUCount=1
CPUSpeed=2499
CPUFamily=6
CPUModel=7
CPUStepping=10
CPUVendor=Intel
CPUName=Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q8300 @ 2.50GHz
Status=Pass

[Memory]
RAM=4096
Status=Pass

[Disk Free Space]
C: (NTFS), UNICODE=381.29GB
D: (NTFS), UNICODE=5.58GB
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=E:\,J:\
Drives=

[Video]
Video Card Name=
Video Memory=4096
Desktop Resolution=1024x768x32
DirectX=DirectX (9.0+) (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=2.1.7770 Release
OpenGL Vendor=ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL Renderer=ATI Radeon HD 3450
Vid Card Status=Warning
GL Status=Pass
DX Status=Pass

[Audio]
Sound Card Name=Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Status=Pass



New Target Selected=1

[config]
firstrun=0

[Keymapping]
Action265=52
Action286B=8
Action286A=7
Action285B=10
Action285A=9
Action284B=54
Action284A=51
Action283B=54
Action283A=51
Action282B=69
Action282A=73
Action281B=53
Action281A=76
Action280B=69
Action280A=73
Action264=57
Action263=43
Action262=85
Action261=84
Action260=83
Action259=82
Action258=81
Action257=80
Action256=79
Action255=78
Action254=77
Action253=31
Action245=75
Action244=55
Action243=67
Action242=74
Action241=87
Action240=56
Action239=68
Action238=82
Action236=83
Action234=81
Action232=80
Action230=79
Action228=78
Action226=77
Action225=70
Action224=90
Action223=31
Action222=25
Action221=24
Action220=29
Action219=28
Action218=42
Action217=87
Action216=65
Action215=63
Action214=62
Action213=60
Action212=61
Action211=66
Action210=59
Action209=71
Action208=89
Action207=72
Action206=30
Action205=55
Action204=67

if anyone has any thoughts on this, insight would be much appreciated

Yatsookey
08-06-2010, 07:52 PM
be sure the .uti's are in the override folder along with whatever skins and dlg you made with your mod, hope that helped.

Holty1-5
08-07-2010, 12:32 PM
I had similar Problems when i first did this :P

be sure the .uti's are in the override folder along with whatever skins and dlg you made with your mod, hope that helped.

Really? I knew about UTI's but i though the dlg could be put in the .Mod? then again i never really go that far xD

Any way when you make the Doors UTD or Characters UTC or Placeables UTP or.... i could go on..

Make sure the template resref matches the name of the file
so e.g.
File: Me.UTC
Name: Holty (Can be whatever)
Tag: (Can be whatever)
Template ResRef: Me

Then it should appear... if you already have it like that then maybe more detail is needed?

Darth_Calo
08-07-2010, 05:52 PM
I've recompiled these things numerous times :p and I've sent it to a few other people (Yat, Canderis, Logan) for their opinions. As far as they can tell I've done it right. the .utds, .uts, .are, .ifo, .git, .bfd, and .utp files are all compiled into the .mod file. files are available for download in the group and I can send it to you if you want to take a look. again, as far as everybody else can tell, I've done everything right, but I am not getting the results.

newbiemodder
08-07-2010, 05:59 PM
I'd like to take a look at...where can I download...

Darth_Calo
08-07-2010, 06:09 PM
I'd like to take a look at...where can I download...

in the group under files (link to the group is in my sig, just request to join and ill let you in)

EDIT: the file in question is on the second page of the 'files' topic in the group

EDIT2: it's also for the first KotOR game

Darth_Calo
08-09-2010, 08:29 PM
update:

changed modules & override folders from "Read-Only" to not Read-Only.
Changed SWKOTOR.exe to Run as Admin and compatibility mode--Windows XP Service Pack 2
reinstalled kotor 08/08/10
backed-up then cleared override folder
placed files from Return To Dantooine's Override folder into Lucasarts/SWKotOR/Override
placed all .mod files from Return to Dantooine's "MOD Files" folder in Lucasarts/SWKotOR/Modules
placed all files (except the .ifo, .are, .git) from the Return To Dantooine's folders for each module into Lucasarts/SWKotOR/Override


End result: No change. module does not work properly. thoughts?

Yatsookey
08-09-2010, 08:55 PM
sorry calo, no idea whatsoever, everything worked perfectly for me and i dont even have a clean install.

Darth_Calo
08-10-2010, 12:07 PM
I know this is insane...