PDA

View Full Version : changing flipping policy intel


redmonke255
08-07-2010, 04:02 AM
Ugh it's late, sorry for posting this in the sticky, a new topic would be better:

Hey everyone I was wondering if someone could help me out. I have an Intel GMA 4500M and I've read all the directions and followed everything for installing. My only problem is that I can't find the option to change my flipping policy. I have the latest drivers and my driver control thing looks like this:
http://www.hardwarezone.com.au/img/data/articles/2009/3093/GraphicsControlPanel.JPG;pvd9795a91bb84408d

If anyone knows how to change the flipping policy with the latest (or any version of the drivers that have the new "updated" options panel) I would really appreciate it.

Thanks.

Here is my scanning log thing:


[SWKotOR]
ReportDateTime=8/7/2010 3:01:12 AM
SysInfoVersion=v1.00.60
GameExists=1
GameVersion=v2.10.427
GameInstallLocation=C:\Program Files\LucasArts\SWKotOR2\

[OS]
Name=WinXP
Version=Windows XP v5.1 build 2600 Service Pack 2
Service Pack=Service Pack 2
Status=Pass

[SwapFiles]
c:\pagefile.sys=2872

[CPU]
CPUCount=1
CPUSpeed=1995
CPUFamily=6
CPUModel=15
CPUStepping=13
CPUVendor=Intel
CPUName=Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T3200 @ 2.00GHz
Status=Pass

[Memory]
RAM=1024
Status=Pass

[Disk Free Space]
C: (NTFS), UNICODE=36.47GB
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=D:\
Drives=MAT****A DVD-RAM UJ880AS

[Video]
Video Card Name=RDPDD Chained DD
Video Memory=1024
Desktop Resolution=1280x800x32 @ 60Hz
DirectX=DirectX 9.0c (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=2.1.0 - Build 8.15.10.2182
OpenGL Vendor=Intel
OpenGL Renderer=Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family
Vid Card Status=Warning
Vid Card Driver Status=Pass
GL Status=Pass
DX Status=Pass

[Audio]
Sound Card Name=Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Status=Pass


;Game Options from swkotor2.ini

[Display Options]
FullScreen=1
Disable Movies=0
Disable Intro Movies=0
Sort Modules=1
Width=640
Height=480
BitsPerPixels=32
RefreshRate=60

[Sound Options]
Music Volume=85
Voiceover Volume=85
Sound Effects Volume=85
Movie Volume=85
Number 3D Voices=32
Number 2D Voices=32
2D3D Bias=1.00
EAX=0
Sound Init=0
Disable Sound=0
Force Software=0

[Graphics Options]
Grass=1
Shadows=1
EnableHardwareMouse=1
FullScreen=0
RefreshRate=0
Width=1024
Height=768
Emitters=1
Anisotropy=1
Frame Buffer=1
Soft Shadows=1
Brightness=57
V-Sync=0
Texture Quality=2
Anti Aliasing=0

[Game Options]
Enable Tooltips=1
Keyboard Camera Deceleration=2000.000000
Keyboard Camera Acceleration=500.000000
Keyboard Camera DPS=200.000000
TextureVariation=0
BodyVariation=0
AppearanceType=0
PCGender=0
GameCompleted=0
CurSithLord=0
Hide InGame GUI=0
Use Small Fonts=0
Hide Unequippable=0
Tutorial Popups=1
Subtitles=1
Mini Map=1
Floating Numbers=1
Status Summary=1
Enable Mouse Teleporting To Buttons=1
Mouse Sensitivity=44
Difficulty Level=1
Auto Level Up NPCs=0
Mouse Look=0
AutoSave=1
EnableScreenShot=0
Reverse Mouse Buttons=0
Reverse Ingame YAxis=0
Reverse Minigame YAxis=0
Combat Movement=1
UnlockedPlanetSongs=1
TooltipDelay Sec=1
Disable Movies=0

[config]
firstrun=0

[Keymapping]
Action286B=8
Action286A=7
Action285B=10
Action285A=9
Action284B=54
Action284A=51
Action283B=54
Action283A=51
Action282B=69
Action282A=73
Action281B=53
Action281A=76
Action280B=69
Action280A=73
Action268=52
Action265=58
Action264=57
Action263=43
Action262=85
Action261=84
Action260=83
Action259=82
Action258=81
Action257=80
Action256=79
Action255=78
Action254=77
Action253=31
Action245=75
Action244=55
Action243=67
Action242=74
Action241=87
Action240=56
Action239=68
Action238=82
Action236=83
Action234=81
Action232=80
Action230=79
Action228=78
Action226=77
Action225=70
Action224=90
Action223=31
Action222=25
Action221=24
Action220=29
Action219=28
Action218=42
Action217=87
Action216=65
Action215=63
Action214=60
Action213=62
Action212=61
Action211=66
Action210=59
Action209=71
Action208=89
Action207=72
Action206=30
Action205=55
Action204=67

[Autopause Options]
End Of Combat Round=0
Mine Sighted=0
Enemy Sighted=1
Party Killed=1
Action Menu=0
New Target Selected=1

[Movies Shown]
Movie10=0
Movie 9=0
Movie 8=0
Movie 7=0
Movie 6=0
Movie 5=0
Movie 4=0
Movie 3=0
Movie 2=0
Movie 1=0
Movie 0=4




I am using Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit. I was able to play KotOR 1 perfectly on highest settings, but KotOR 2 crashes right after the first intro and I can't change the flipping policy.

Q
08-07-2010, 12:58 PM
If you didn't the first time around, you're going to have to uninstall and then reinstall the game according to the large-print instructions at the top of the second post in this thread (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=194324). There are links to instructions on how to change the flipping policy there.

redmonke255
08-07-2010, 01:09 PM
If you didn't the first time around, you're going to have to uninstall and then reinstall the game according to the large-print instructions at the top of the second post in this thread (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=194324). There are links to instructions on how to change the flipping policy there.

I did that, but the problem is that under the 3D tab I only get the options that are shown above. No flipping policy anywhere in site.

Q
08-07-2010, 01:19 PM
Sorry, I don't have access to a computer that can use that updated driver, so I have no way to figure this out on my own. Have you tried contacting Intel (yeah, I know; sucky option)?

Worst case scenario is that you'll have to download an older driver with the old control panel.

redmonke255
08-07-2010, 01:34 PM
Sorry, I don't have access to a computer that can use that updated driver, so I have no way to figure this out on my own. Have you tried contacting Intel (yeah, I know; sucky option)?

Worst case scenario is that you'll have to download an older driver with the old control panel.

I've posted on the Intel forums without getting any replies (even with 120+ views), I've emailed Intel and haven't gotten a response, I called Toshiba tech support (my laptop manufacturer, I couldn't find a number for Intel so I thought what the heck might as well). This place seems like the only place willing to actually help. :P

I'll look for the older version. I wish I knew which one to look for since I believe it's rather old (around a year old I think).

Thanks for your help. :)

Edit: Do you have a computer with the old drivers? Can you tell me the version (should be able to get to it from the device manager).

Q
08-07-2010, 01:55 PM
My laptop has a completely different chipset than yours. It's a Mobile 965 with an X3100 GPU and uses completely different drivers, the most up to date of which still feature the old control panel.

I think that your best bet is to roll back your drivers to an older version that has that control panel.

Before you do that, though, you need to open swkotor2.ini, implement the Dantooine lag fix, and set Fullscreen=1 and set the width and height to the same values (KotOR 2 supports 1280x768 natively) under both [Display Options] and [Graphics Options]. Then start the game, go into the graphics options menu and turn off all of the eye candy by setting anisotropic filtering and antialiasing to 0, texture to low, and turning off frame buffer effects, shadows, soft shadows and grass. I would also try turning v-sync on. Once you get the game running, you can turn the eye candy back on one at a time to see what works and what doesn't.

You'll have to do all of this stuff anyway, and the game might run without having to roll back your drivers.

redmonke255
08-07-2010, 02:27 PM
My laptop has a completely different chipset than yours. It's a Mobile 965 with an X3100 GPU and uses completely different drivers, the most up to date of which still feature the old control panel.

I think that your best bet is to roll back your drivers to an older version that has that control panel.

Before you do that, though, you need to open swkotor2.ini, implement the Dantooine lag fix, and set Fullscreen=1 and set the width and height to the same values (KotOR 2 supports 1280x768 natively) under both [Display Options] and [Graphics Options]. Then start the game, go into the graphics options menu and turn off all of the eye candy by setting anisotropic filtering and antialiasing to 0, texture to low, and turning off frame buffer effects, shadows, soft shadows and grass. I would also try turning v-sync on. Once you get the game running, you can turn the eye candy back on one at a time to see what works and what doesn't.

You'll have to do all of this stuff anyway, and the game might run without having to roll back your drivers.

Ah I got closer. I could hear the droid beeping. Memories from when I played it on xbox, but then it crashed. I guess I'll have to search for some drivers the. Thanks for the help so far.

Q
08-07-2010, 02:49 PM
Have you:
patched the game?
removed the read-only property from the game folder?
replaced the mss32.dll file?
replaced the swkotor2.exe with the updated file from SecuROM?

Just trying to cover all of the bases.

redmonke255
08-07-2010, 03:13 PM
Ok downgraded my drivers and I changed the option, still crashes. I've done the first three.

Where can I get the SecuROM updated file?

Q
08-07-2010, 03:22 PM
OK, did you really follow the directions in the second post of this thread ([url=http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=194324) when you installed the game? All of the stuff that I've asked you about is covered there. If you haven't, then I strongly suggest that you do; otherwise, we're just wasting our time.

redmonke255
08-07-2010, 04:02 PM
I just redid everything from the beginning exactly like the guide says and I still crash at that one spot. I can hear some beeps and some steam it sounds like, then it just crashes.

Q
08-07-2010, 04:09 PM
Please post your specs again just like you did in the first post. I need to see if the changes that you made actually took.

redmonke255
08-07-2010, 05:00 PM
[SWKotOR]
ReportDateTime=8/7/2010 3:58:47 PM
SysInfoVersion=v1.00.60
GameExists=1
GameVersion=v2.10.427
GameInstallLocation=C:\Program Files\LucasArts\SWKotOR2\

[OS]
Name=WinXP
Version=Windows XP v5.1 build 2600 Service Pack 2
Service Pack=None
Status=Pass

[SwapFiles]
c:\pagefile.sys=2872

[CPU]
CPUCount=1
CPUSpeed=1995
CPUFamily=6
CPUModel=15
CPUStepping=13
CPUVendor=Intel
CPUName=Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T3200 @ 2.00GHz
Status=Pass

[Memory]
RAM=1920
Status=Pass

[Disk Free Space]
C: (NTFS), UNICODE=35.39GB
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=D:\,E:\
Drives=MAT****A DVD-RAM UJ880AS

[Video]
Video Card Name=RDPDD Chained DD
Video Memory=1024
Desktop Resolution=1280x800x32 @ 60Hz
DirectX=DirectX 9.0c (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=1.5.0 - Build 7.15.10.1502
OpenGL Vendor=Intel
OpenGL Renderer=Intel Cantiga
Vid Card Status=Warning
Vid Card Driver Status=Pass
GL Status=Pass
DX Status=Pass

[Audio]
Sound Card Name=Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Status=Pass


;Game Options from swkotor2.ini

[Display Options]
FullScreen=1
Disable Movies=0
Disable Intro Movies=0
Sort Modules=1
Width=1024
Height=768
BitsPerPixels=32
RefreshRate=60

[Sound Options]
Music Volume=85
Voiceover Volume=85
Sound Effects Volume=85
Movie Volume=85
Number 3D Voices=32
Number 2D Voices=32
2D3D Bias=1.00
EAX=0
Sound Init=0
Disable Sound=0
Force Software=0

[Graphics Options]
Grass=0
Shadows=0
EnableHardwareMouse=1
FullScreen=1
RefreshRate=60
Width=1024
Height=768
Emitters=1
Anisotropy=1
Frame Buffer=0
Soft Shadows=0
Brightness=57
V-Sync=0
Texture Quality=0
Anti Aliasing=0
Disable Vertex Buffer Objects=1

[Game Options]
Enable Tooltips=1
Keyboard Camera Deceleration=2000.000000
Keyboard Camera Acceleration=500.000000
Keyboard Camera DPS=200.000000
TextureVariation=0
BodyVariation=0
AppearanceType=0
PCGender=0
GameCompleted=0
CurSithLord=0
Hide InGame GUI=0
Use Small Fonts=0
Hide Unequippable=0
Tutorial Popups=1
Subtitles=1
Mini Map=1
Floating Numbers=1
Status Summary=1
Enable Mouse Teleporting To Buttons=1
Mouse Sensitivity=44
Difficulty Level=1
Auto Level Up NPCs=0
Mouse Look=0
AutoSave=1
EnableScreenShot=0
Reverse Mouse Buttons=0
Reverse Ingame YAxis=0
Reverse Minigame YAxis=0
Combat Movement=1
UnlockedPlanetSongs=1
TooltipDelay Sec=1
Disable Movies=0

[config]
firstrun=0

[Keymapping]
Action286B=8
Action286A=7
Action285B=10
Action285A=9
Action284B=54
Action284A=51
Action283B=54
Action283A=51
Action282B=69
Action282A=73
Action281B=53
Action281A=76
Action280B=69
Action280A=73
Action268=52
Action265=58
Action264=57
Action263=43
Action262=85
Action261=84
Action260=83
Action259=82
Action258=81
Action257=80
Action256=79
Action255=78
Action254=77
Action253=31
Action245=75
Action244=55
Action243=67
Action242=74
Action241=87
Action240=56
Action239=68
Action238=82
Action236=83
Action234=81
Action232=80
Action230=79
Action228=78
Action226=77
Action225=70
Action224=90
Action223=31
Action222=25
Action221=24
Action220=29
Action219=28
Action218=42
Action217=87
Action216=65
Action215=63
Action214=60
Action213=62
Action212=61
Action211=66
Action210=59
Action209=71
Action208=89
Action207=72
Action206=30
Action205=55
Action204=67

[Autopause Options]
End Of Combat Round=0
Mine Sighted=0
Enemy Sighted=1
Party Killed=1
Action Menu=0
New Target Selected=1

[Movies Shown]
Movie10=0
Movie 9=0
Movie 8=0
Movie 7=0
Movie 6=0
Movie 5=0
Movie 4=0
Movie 3=0
Movie 2=0
Movie 1=0
Movie 0=4

Q
08-07-2010, 05:08 PM
Try turning v-sync on. This could be a scaling issue, so go ahead and change the Width to 1280 and the Height to 768 under both [Display Options] and [Graphics Options] in the swkotor2.ini file. That resolution is supported by the game and is very close to your screen's native res.

The only other suggestion that I have is to play around with the resolution/scaling options in the graphics driver control panel.

redmonke255
08-07-2010, 05:18 PM
Turned V-Sync on and changed the resolution (I'm surprised it supports that), didn't work, though.

I currently have my scaling options set to "center" which will keep the resolution the same and just add black frames (no scaling pretty much). I prefer this since it doesn't warp the games.

I'm starting to think that I'm just not going to be able to play it with my card. Disappointing that I ran KotOR 1 perfectly but can't even get this to start.

Q
08-07-2010, 05:30 PM
I'm seeing this happen a lot with GMA 4500 machines. I wish that I had one so I could figure this out, because the solution is probably something ridiculously simple. I've never had a problem getting it to run on my X3100 GPU. I did have to use the SecuROM swkotor2.exe and the game disk, though, because the same cracked .exe (necessary for the widescreen mod) that worked on my different desktops for years just refused to work on it. The game would crash every single time and I could never figure out why.

redmonke255
08-07-2010, 05:39 PM
Well I really appreciate your help. :)

If I ever find a solution I'll be sure to check back and submit it to that topic, but for now it seems like I'll just have to hold out on this game a bit longer.

Q
08-07-2010, 05:40 PM
Sorry that I couldn't help you any more than I could. :(

Have you tried over at Obsidian's forums? These 4500M machines are very common, and maybe someone over there has figured it out.

redmonke255
08-07-2010, 05:50 PM
I'll check them out. Thanks.

Maybe this will help some people: http://forums.obsidian.net/index.php?showtopic=46850 Didn't work for me though. I think I'm hopeless haha.