PDA

View Full Version : Adding custom items to inventory??


azmn6
09-07-2010, 02:17 PM
OK Im sure this is an easy question but Im trying to figure out how to add my custom items that i mad in KOTOR Tool to my players inventory. I know that I save the new file to my override folder but I cant seem to get it to the inventory, anyone able to help out?

Dak Drexl
09-07-2010, 03:04 PM
Use the "giveitem" code and type your item's name. Like magic!

Note that if you're playing TSL the console will be invisible, but it's all there.

Seikan
09-07-2010, 04:55 PM
Or use KSE... That's an other option ^^

azmn6
09-07-2010, 07:08 PM
ok first how do i get the console to come up, i understand you cant see it but how do i enable it and how do i get it to be active and... if i do all that, what folder does the console look in... ok and i do have KSE, and i know how to add items to my inventory but its only the default items (unless im just updating an item) but my own custom items that changed the name on, how do i get KSE to look in the override folder??

Dak Drexl
09-07-2010, 07:29 PM
First enable your console. Then in game, press the `/~ key and type in your item's name. As for KSE, it will automatically come up. I think the custom item will be in red IIRC (maybe it's blue, but I think red). Hope that helps.

GeorgNihilus
09-08-2010, 10:36 AM
Certainly giveitem cheat is the fastest way in KotOR, not recommended in TSL if you ask me. In my keyboard to activate the console in KotOR, I type ALT+`(key to the right of the P) and then BACKSPACE. Then type giveitem mysword (without the uti extension obviously) and ENTER. And voilą. BUT I do have a spanish keyboard :doh: ... so suit yourself.

With KSE, choose your savedgame, click in the + sign of the Inventory branch to open the default inventory, then click ON the Inventory word to rebuild the master item list. There you will see ALL the items, custom included. Click on your custom item (it will be in red, in blue vanilla items not in your inventory already) and click Add item field to add 1 item to inventory. Once you are done click in the Commit Changes button to save the changes to the savegame.

and IF you see a BadStr (badstring) message in the bottom of the Inventory list after adding your item, DO NOT SAVE YOUR GAME there or you will screw it forever. Quit KSE and retry again in that case or try adding another item.

hope that helps dude :)