PDA

View Full Version : hidden planets?


birthdaycake13
09-13-2010, 03:55 PM
:confused:hey guys today i was using kotor tool and i was in a file called galaxymap.gui or somthing like that and i found 6 hidden planets called live planets. i did some reaserch on them and there were some more threads on other sites on the topic and i hear there is a way to enable them, does anybody know how to do this?

harIII
09-13-2010, 04:08 PM
Yes this is certainly possible, I've done it first hand though it's been a while. When Bioware made KOTOR I guess the originally intended for maybe 15 planets (that's a guess) but only used 11 or 12 if you have Yavin IV merchant ship. You can actually go back in and add additional planets to the galaxy map by following these tutorials. One is for KOTOR and the other for TSL. Hope this helps...

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=127001
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=169825

deathdisco
09-13-2010, 04:47 PM
To clarify, these are slots for adding additional planets. There are no extra planets hidden within the game.

logan23
09-13-2010, 05:14 PM
Bioware made a larger number of slots for just incase since at the time of the scripts creation they were not sure how many planets would be in the game. The benifit of extra slots are if Bioware decided to do an expansion they gave themselves the freedom. Having 15 slots does not mean they had 15 planets. The engine and code were built first as bioware started to lock down thier story. Developers need to know what thier code and engine will allow before final or formal game story pacing or layout to be locked in.