PDA

View Full Version : Game Lagging/Crashing; Videocard failing, comp crashing, Windows 7


Zerro
09-22-2010, 07:07 PM
I don't know if all these tie in together but I want to explore and eliminate all possibilities.

This is SW:KotOR(1) for the PC on Windows 7 64bit. I have the game set to Windowed mode at 1024x768 resolution. I'm trying to do a recording using a screen recorder called Camtasia Studios 7 which has worked with other Windowed PC games.

So I've made it to the point where I defeat the large rancor and get into the Vulkar base but it hasn't been a smooth ride. Sometimes the game gets extremely lagged. Sometimes the game stops working. Sometimes the videocard stops working and sometimes the laptop just likes to freeze up.

Any help and thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

Q
09-22-2010, 07:47 PM
Did you install the game according to the large-print instructions at the top of the second post in this thread (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=194324)?

Zerro
09-22-2010, 08:58 PM
Thanks I'll definately check out the link. I just did a normal install for the game

Q
09-22-2010, 09:02 PM
Then you should reinstall it following those instructions.

Zerro
09-23-2010, 01:05 PM
Ok so I think I might have glitched this:

I messed up one of the steps so I had to go back and reinstall KotOR but now everytime I run Setup.exe it just asks me if I want to UNinstall the game. If I click 'Ok' it just does the uninstall thing and quits. Cancel also just quits the setup.

Also I am unsure of how the patch file works since I've never manually patched a game before. I'm just used to how an install wizard does everything.

I've figured everything else out, my only problem is trying to install the game again

EDIT: I've also just noticed that for some reason now the Windows XP SP2 combatibility option is greyed out.

Q
09-24-2010, 02:22 AM
Also I am unsure of how the patch file works since I've never manually patched a game before. I'm just used to how an install wizard does everything.
It's an executable (.exe), so after setting it to run in XP SP2 compatibility mode as an administrator just right-click on it and select "Run as administrator". Call me paranoid, but I do that (right-click; "run as admin") with every .exe when I'm using Vista or 7 even though I have user account control disabled. It's especially important with installers.