PDA

View Full Version : Kotor 2 PC - Help!


starkiller1157
11-28-2010, 01:59 AM
Like many others, I've been attempting to run Kotor 2 on my Windows 7 computer, keep running into problems with the video graphics card. I discussed it with my dad and we decided to just use one of our older XP computers.

I began to install when the computer froze. The PC games have 4 discs and whenever I popped one of the discs out to add another, an error message like "can't read disc, please put back in". Well its an old enough computer(2001) where it doesn't like multible discs popping in an out, even if the softwware/game requires it.

I recently found a thread on this forum that I believe could help run my game on Windows 7. Well now the game won't run??? I'm thinking the previous computer freezing and having error messages may have screwed the information on the disc. I don't know if this is possible, but its the only thing that I can think of.

As soon as I pop the first disc in, a small windows comes up and asks if I want to run it. I click it, I see an hour glass/cirle for loading and then it stopps and nothing happens. I restarted my comptuer did the same thing.

My question is, is my disc fried/screwed up? if not is there a ways to fix it for the computer to install, because it installed before, but now no.

Oh, also, not sure if this has anything to do with it, I had to reformate my Windows 7 and I did not install it again until now. Could this be the problem? some sort of settings change?

Q
11-28-2010, 04:39 PM
1) Are your disks scratched or dirty?

2) When installing this game on Windows 7, you're going to have to follow the large-print instructions at the top of the second post in this thread (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=194324).

starkiller1157
11-29-2010, 08:04 AM
1) Are your disks scratched or dirty?.
There are a few small scratches and finger prints :S


2) When installing this game on Windows 7, you're going to have to follow the large-print instructions at the top of the second post in this thread (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=194324).
Yeah, I saw that. I attempted to follow the instructions, but I kept getting confused. I'm not that tech-savvy. Not to mention, ever time I tried to change the downloaded "mss32.dll" file, it wouldn't regonize it or something.

I went ahead and loaded the game on my dads old XP computer. It's running fine, at least I'm able to play it. I'm just puzzled why my Windows 7 computer won't even install or recognize the disc like the last time :S