PDA

View Full Version : Problem with kotor on vista laptop


nosbig
01-21-2011, 04:36 PM
The game installs fine but just won't start, it goes to the picture of the ebon hawk and after a few seconds shuts down without an error window or anything. The system scan says that my computer specs pass. I did the vista fix and I'm running it in windows xp service pack 2 compatibility. Hopefully someone can help.




[SWKotOR]
ReportDateTime=1/21/2011 1:11:46 PM
SysInfoVersion=v1.00.19
GameExists=1
GameVersion=v1.00.514058
GameInstallLocation=C:\Program Files\LucasArts\SWKotOR\

[OS]
Name=WinXP
Version=Windows XP v5.1 build 2600 Service Pack 2
Service Pack=Service Pack 2
Status=Pass

[SwapFiles]
?:\pagefile.sys=0

[CPU]
CPUCount=2
CPUSpeed=1707
CPUFamily=15
CPUModel=8
CPUStepping=1
CPUVendor=AMD
CPUName=AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor TK-53 1707MHz
Status=Pass

[Memory]
RAM=959
Status=Pass

[Disk Free Space]
C: (NTFS), UNICODE=46.15GB
D: (NTFS), UNICODE=1.75GB
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=E:\,F:\
Drives=Optiarc DVD RW AD-7530B ATA Device

[Video]
Video Card Name=
Video Memory=512
Desktop Resolution=1280x800x32 @ 60Hz
DirectX=DirectX (9.0+) (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=2.1.0
OpenGL Vendor=NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL Renderer=GeForce Go 6100/PCI/SSE2/3DNOW!
Vid Card Status=Warning
GL Status=Pass
DX Status=Pass

[Audio]
Sound Card Name=Internal Speaker/Headphone (Conexant High Definition Audio)
Status=Pass


;Game Options from swkotor.ini

[Sound Options]
Music Volume=85
Voiceover Volume=85
Sound Effects Volume=85
Movie Volume=100
Force Software=0
EAX=3
Disable Sound=0
Number 3D Voices=16
Number 2D Voices=24
Environment Effects Level=0.60
2D3D Bias=1.50
Environment Effects=1

[Game Options]
Hide InGame GUI=0
Use Small Fonts=0
Keyboard Camera Deceleration=2000.000000
Keyboard Camera Acceleration=500.000000
Keyboard Camera DPS=200.000000
Hide Unequippable=0
Tutorial Popups=1
Subtitles=1
Mini Map=1
Floating Numbers=1
Status Summary=1
Enable Mouse Teleporting To Buttons=1
Mouse Sensitivity=33
Auto Level Up NPCs=0
Mouse Look=0
AutoSave=1
Reverse Minigame YAxis=0
Combat Movement=1
Enable Tooltips=1
Difficulty Level=1
TooltipDelay Sec=1.000000
Memory Access=1
Memory Level=1

[Movies Shown]
Movie 0=0
Movie 1=0
Movie 2=0
Movie 3=0
Movie 4=0
Movie 5=0
Movie 6=0
Movie 7=0
Movie 8=0
Movie 9=0
Movie10=0

[Alias]
HD0=.\
OVERRIDE=.\Override
TEMP=.\Temp
MODULES=.\Modules
LOGS=.\Logs
LOCALVAULT=.\LocalVault
DMVAULT=.\DMVault
SERVERVAULT=.\ServerVault
STREAMMUSIC=.\StreamMusic
TEMPCLIENT=.\Tempclient
SAVES=.\saves
CURRENTGAME=.\currentgame
TEXTUREPACKS=.\texturepacks
STREAMWAVES=.\StreamWaves

[Graphics Options]
V-Sync=0
Anisotropy=1
Frame Buffer=1
Anti Aliasing=0
Texture Quality=2
Emitters=1
Grass=1
Soft Shadows=0
Shadows=1
Brightness=57
EnableHardwareMouse=1
FullScreen=1

[Autopause Options]
Mine Sighted=1
End Of Combat Round=0
Enemy Sighted=1
Party Killed=1
Action Menu=0
New Target Selected=1

[config]
firstrun=0

Q
01-22-2011, 12:34 PM
Thanks for posting your system specs. :)

I see that you have an Nvidia GPU, so there really shouldn't be any reason why the game won't be able to run once it's properly configured.

Now for the obligatory question: Did you install the game according to the large-print instructions at the top of the second post in this thread (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=194324)? If not, you will need to uninstall and do so.

nosbig
01-23-2011, 08:59 PM
I actually figured out that the kotor game is bad it installs wrong or something because I tried it on an xp os and the same thing happened. However I now have kotor 2 which works on xp and vista but seems to take a while to load. Btw I did follow those steps on the vista help page except the ones that have to do with securom cuz I wasn"t getting that error.

newbiemodder
01-24-2011, 08:53 AM
Here try this link to Obsidian...

http://forums.obsidian.net/index.php...2&#entry760302

once there go to post #9 and follow the instrux(I chose to run it in 2000 compatiblity rather than xp).....I just reinstalled TSL on my Vista and it works flawlessly after all other attempts failed.

My game was crashing at the exact same place yours is. Good luck.

nosbig
01-25-2011, 02:25 PM
After alot of messing with kotor 1 I finally got it to work. I made image files out of the game so I didn't have to deal with the cds and the I downloaded a no-cd crack and now it works fine, really strange.