PDA

View Full Version : [TSL] Some technical issues


Salk
02-08-2011, 02:59 AM
Hello!

I have a Radeon HD4890 and using the latest ATI drivers (Catalyst 11.1), playing on Windows XP 32 bit. All the graphic enhancement are active (Frame Buffer, Soft Shadows, Grass). Antialiasing and AF are also at maximum. Vsynch needs to be on (just like for KotOR) to avoid the well known issue of characters not moving after combat. I have just reached the part of the game where the Last of the Handmaidens joins our crew.

These are the issues I found so far (I use few mods, among them the TSLRCM mod and the Improved AI mod):

1) Probably due to the ATI drivers: the brightness setting is highly unstable. During the swoop racing on Telos and many other occasions the brightness level shifts to very low so that the screen becomes very dark. In this situation, if I go to the graphical settings, I find the brightness bar is in the right position but I need to click on it with the mouse to restore the chosen brightness setting.

2) When playing Pazaak, one player wins automatically (no matter the score of the opponent) if all card slots are used (nine cards). It should be automatic Stand instead

3) There are several instances of objects/doors that are glitchy in a way: the interaction icon shows if the character is looking from a certain angle (cannot be selected with Q and E) but the object/door is really not interactive.

4) When you talk to Atris the first time you meet her there is a long dialogue sequence. It is possible to start a loop, beginning the conversation from the very start, after talking with her for a long time.

If anyone knows of a solution to any of these problems, I'd be grateful to hear.

Thank you very much!

Fastmaniac
02-08-2011, 07:51 AM
I don't know what is causing the glitches 1) to 3) but:

4) it would be good to know if you have TSLRCM 1.5 installed. I remember that there was a glitch with the atris dialog that has been fixed in 1.6. If you have the newest version of TSLRCM (1.7) installed, maybe you'll have to upload atris dialog, so we can take a look at it, because it might be broken... Normally, at the end of the conversion, atris should be going into her cabin and the cabin should be locked, so that it is impossible to speak to her again.

Hope that helps a bit.

Fastmaniac

Salk
02-08-2011, 10:31 AM
I don't know what is causing the glitches 1) to 3) but:

4) it would be good to know if you have TSLRCM 1.5 installed. I remember that there was a glitch with the atris dialog that has been fixed in 1.6. If you have the newest version of TSLRCM (1.7) installed, maybe you'll have to upload atris dialog, so we can take a look at it, because it might be broken... Normally, at the end of the conversion, atris should be going into her cabin and the cabin should be locked, so that it is impossible to speak to her again.

Hope that helps a bit.

Fastmaniac

Hello!

I have TSLRCM 1.7 and what I meant to say speaking of dialogue loop is not that you can speak to her again after the dialogue is over. She does lock herself in her cabin.

What I meant is that at a certain point in the dialogue, I have five possible replies, of which three are [Persuade] replies. If I choose one of the others (I can't remember which, sorry), then the dialogue moves to its end and Atris leaves. But if I choose one of the [Persuade] replies then everything starts over and I am to choose among the initial dialogue choices. Sorry I can't be more precise but I no longer have a valid save file to duplicate the matter.

Fastmaniac
02-08-2011, 11:39 AM
What I meant is that at a certain point in the dialogue, I have five possible replies, of which three are [Persuade] replies. If I choose one of the others (I can't remember which, sorry), then the dialogue moves to its end and Atris leaves. But if I choose one of the [Persuade] replies then everything starts over and I am to choose among the initial dialogue choices. Sorry I can't be more precise but I no longer have a valid save file to duplicate the matter.

Ok, that is a lot more info. I also installed TSLRCM 1.7 and didn't have that problem. Assuming you don't have any other mods installed that change any files involved with Atris, I'm going to check her dlg file and see if there is a loop at some point. May take a while.

EDIT: I looked inside the conversation and couldn't find any mistake that would result in a loop or skipping of VOs. Maybe, it's because you have another language installed (I'm using the german version, so maybe it's messed up in english). My guess would be that there are some mistakes in linking to wrong nodes inside the file.

Salk
02-09-2011, 01:25 AM
Thanks for your concern and help, Fastmaniac.

There are no other installed mods that - to my knowledge - change the dialogue with Atris. The language of my game is english.

Fastmaniac
02-09-2011, 07:33 AM
Hmm... That's a bit odd to me because I can't find anything in the conversation that would result in Atris leaving early or something else. Maybe your dialogue is broken by something else. I uploaded the file that is installed with TSLRCM 1.7 and I'm sure there is no mistake in there. Try putting it in your override and try again. Download Here (http://ul.to/4y9vbj). It should work. If it doesn't I can't help you because it may be caused by anything.

Fastmaniac

Qui-Gon Glenn
02-10-2011, 07:58 PM
The conversation "bug" is there in the vanilla game, not a part of TSLRCM.


Trust me.

On Pazaak - read the rules, if one player plays all of his tiles without going over, Pazaak! Win.