PDA

View Full Version : costum sound


DarthJMG2003
03-23-2011, 01:05 AM
well here is my problem, i am trying to play a costum sound, everytime i trigger a trigger_multiple, but i canīt make this work, i put this command in the properties window in GktRadiant 1.4.0:

noise

sound/duel1/open.wav

I even tried with the same file only in mp3 format and i canīt make this work, any thoughs would be nice, maybe i am typing something wrong, my pk3 has the file and is in the base directory...

Thanks in advance...

acdcfanbill
03-23-2011, 01:50 AM
is you mp3/wav in the correct audio format? I'm pretty sure the engine only supports sampling rates of 11k and 22k. Also, I don't recall the keys used for sound offhand, but are you sure this is correct? The game probably throws some error message in game when you pass through the trigger, be sure to check for that in console. No error means I would bet the entity key is wrong.

DarthJMG2003
03-23-2011, 02:44 AM
is you mp3/wav in the correct audio format? I'm pretty sure the engine only supports sampling rates of 11k and 22k. Also, I don't recall the keys used for sound offhand, but are you sure this is correct? The game probably throws some error message in game when you pass through the trigger, be sure to check for that in console. No error means I would bet the entity key is wrong.

Well it doesn appear any error message in the console, i tried putting the command like this

noise

sound\duel1\open.wav

But no luck...

For the way it looks, i am stuck, i can imagine what is wrong.

acdcfanbill
03-23-2011, 01:12 PM
either the sound file is the wrong format or it's not in the right spot. Looks like the engine supports 44.1kHz too. Also, are all your sound sliders up in the options?

DarthJMG2003
03-28-2011, 04:31 PM
Well finally i give up with the noise property on the trigger_mulptiple, so i link a target_speaker with the noise property and it worked...

acdcfanbill
03-29-2011, 02:24 AM
well that's good. come to think of it, i believe that's how i did any sounds i used as well.

ds615
06-14-2011, 03:27 PM
Trigger_multiple doesn't have a noise property, hence the reason it did not work.

DarthJMG2003
06-14-2011, 09:32 PM
Trigger_multiple doesn't have a noise property, hence the reason it did not work.

Well it does, at least jkradiant, but gtk its something else, it looks like jkradiant, but as i have discovered it is not... :)

See ya...