PDA

View Full Version : Play without disk?


Darth Dan 012
03-26-2011, 06:54 PM
I remember there was a way to play KoTOR 2 without the disk, but I forgot it.

Does anyone know how? Also, is it possible to use this method for the "Best of PC" version of KotOR 1?

Thanks

rjalbert32
03-26-2011, 07:34 PM
The only way I know is the legal way of buying to software called Farstone virtual CD. I own that and make backups of certain games so I don't have to use the CD all the time. Some of the games though don't work so well with it because of companies making software to "block" farstone type software because of the theft going on in this industry..

Hope this helps ya buddy...

Rich :-)

Darth Dan 012
03-26-2011, 09:54 PM
Is that similar to a program like Virtual Clone Drive?

rjalbert32
03-26-2011, 10:16 PM
yeah, pretty much the same. You have to have a good amount of free space on your harddrive, and what it does is take the original game and turns it into a "virtual/real CD" on your system so your computer thinks it has a CD rom installed, and you mount the disk and you don't have to play with the physical cd, you can put it in the drawer and just load up your "CD" on your computer and play...

Rich

Qui-Gon Glenn
03-27-2011, 04:29 PM
Interesting... I have looked at Farstone's compatibility list and most Star Wars titles are on there, including K1 and TSL. This is a preferable method to the numerous and often shoddy No-CD cracks available out there, which are as we know, illegal and potentially dangerous to the system.

That said, is this what you are using to play your game, rjalbert32? Although Evil Q has reported difficulties with some systems in that section of the game due to the high number of NPC pedestrians, I would think also that using the actual game disc and not an emulator would give you the best results in a problem area.

I know you said that the game disc was clean, so I assume you are actually using a physical disc, but if not, that is one thing that I would change as a test condition.

rjalbert32
03-27-2011, 08:18 PM
I have an older version of Farstone, like version 9 I think it is and that older version doesn't do my star wars disk, so yes, I play with the actual disk for my SW games.

:-)

Shio
04-23-2011, 04:16 PM
I sent you a pm darth Dan