PDA

View Full Version : Anyway to modify Direct2Drive copy for Widescreen?


NilSatis
04-26-2011, 10:19 PM
As per the title, tried to use uniws to change my resolution but my .exe is not supported as i believe it is a direct2drive copy. As it is neither a cd version or a steam version was there any way of letting me play this game on my native resolution of 1920 x 1080?

I tried altering the .exe with a hex editor but was having trouble finding the strings to change it and have no experience of hex editors so basically got stuck.

Is there an easier way? I would hate to have to play this at low res when i didnt have to :mad: and just didnt know how to do it as im a noob.

Anyone who knows I would be grateful for any help. Damn Direct2drive. First and last time i use it if the answer is i cant because of this. I wonder whether a no cd patch would work....there is drm at play put oin by direct2drive that will make this not work i believe.

NilSatis
04-27-2011, 06:01 PM
Update (note this is to a bought direct2drive version): 1. Tried again in vain to use the hex editor method. 2. Tried to use a no-cd patch 1.03 version to use the widescreen mod; no luck with either of them. The Direct2drive version does not accept a no-cd patch; just doesnt run.

I also tried to alter the .ini file to play in a windowed mode, added AllowWindowedMode=1 and Fullscreen=0 to graphics options and nothing seems to change. Cant see a windowed version and alt-enter does nothing.

Anyone else have any ideas at all? Btw system I am using is 2500k with 6950 2gb ati card; 1.03 game, which runs fine as normal but highest resolution i can get is 1600 x 1200 which sucks.....Please help if possible! :)

Q
04-27-2011, 09:49 PM
Other than hex editing, there is no way that I'm aware of that will allow you to play the D2D version in widescreen.

Sorry. :(

NilSatis
04-28-2011, 10:01 PM
Thanks very much for the reply :). Its a real shame that d2d purchasers like myself cant play this in widescreen, but it is an old game and is still a very good one that now works ok with no issues at the standard resolution so i guess i will have to live with it, really enjoying the game anyway, and with some texture mods looks pretty good even on 1600 x 1200. You tend to forget the graphics once you are immersed!

That said, I thought i would try again with a hex editor and I believe managed to change the hex values to the correct ones (8007 and 3804 in my case for 1920 x 1080....lol this could be my problem if i got this wrong?!) and i used the tool to find and replace all hex values to these (change 2003 to 8007 and 5802 to 3804) and saved; got my hopes up, and then the KOTOR.exe file didnt work anyway. I guess it must have detected its size had changed; or something......even though im sure it didnt. It would be good if someone more knowledgeable than me could explore whether the d2d version can be changed? More people will download it and run into these issues, i managed a widescreen patch for a d2d copy of vampire the masquerade bloodline; which is similar; so there must be a way!?!!

Q
04-29-2011, 12:26 AM
If you have managed to find the sequences in the .exe with a hex editor, then you're almost there. Make sure that the width and height values are set to the same resolution in the swkotor.ini file.

Still might not work, but it's worth a try.