PDA

View Full Version : Installed KOTOR and ran into problems


Drunkside
05-17-2011, 02:24 PM
I installed KOTOR on Windows 7 and it doesn´t play fullscreen. Or rather it does, but most of the screen is black with a little window in which the game plays in the middle. Running it in windowsxp compatibility mode made the movies play. The last time i had the game installed it played in fullscreen mode but the menus were little. If someone knows how to fix this I would appreciate telling me.

Q
05-18-2011, 12:57 AM
Reinstall the game according to the large-print instructions at the top of the second post in this thread (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=194324).

Drunkside
05-18-2011, 04:16 AM
Thanks... Didn´t bother looking at that thread cause when I had problems with Vista I managed to get around them, but doing the same things I did back then didn´t work this time. And I thought it was just for Vista... I shouldn´t just assume stuff like this.

EDIT: Reinstalled according to the instructions on that page and nothing changed, I still only have a small window in the middle of the screen. And by the way, my resolution options are three 800x600s and three 1240x750s (or something like that...), no other options...

Q
05-18-2011, 11:06 AM
Windows 7 is pretty much Vista 1.1.
Try using the game's configuration utility to post your system specs:
Post your system specs
Sometimes we're just not going to be able to help you if we don't know what kind of hardware you have on your machine. If you don't know what you have on your machine, then follow these steps below:
Bring up the launcher menu for Kotor 1 or 2.
Click on "Configure".
Click the "Scan Hardware" button on the lower center of the window.
Click "Yes" to continue.
Click "Details" to view your system specs.
Click "Save Report" and save the file to your desktop.
Whenever you post your problem, open the file you just saved and copy and paste the contents to your post.
You can leave out the keymapping.

Drunkside
05-18-2011, 11:43 AM
[SWKotOR]
ReportDateTime=18.5.2011 17:40:02
SysInfoVersion=v1.00.60
GameExists=1
GameVersion=v1.03.514077
GameInstallLocation=C:\Program Files\LucasArts\SWKotOR\

[OS]
Name=WinXP
Version=Windows XP v5.1 build 2600 Service Pack 3
Service Pack=Service Pack 3
Status=Pass

[SwapFiles]
?:\pagefile.sys=0

[CPU]
CPUCount=1
CPUSpeed=2194
CPUFamily=6
CPUModel=7
CPUStepping=10
CPUVendor=Intel
CPUName=Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU T4400 @ 2.20GHz
Status=Pass

[Memory]
RAM=1024
Status=Pass

[Disk Free Space]
C: (NTFS), UNICODE=412.93GB
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=D:\
Drives=HL-DT-ST BDDVDRW CT21N ATA Device

[Video]
Video Card Name=RDPDD Chained DD
Video Memory=4096
Desktop Resolution=1600x900x32 @ 60Hz
DirectX=DirectX (9.0+) (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=2.1.8787
OpenGL Vendor=ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL Renderer=ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4650
Vid Card Status=Warning
Vid Card Driver Status=Pass
GL Status=Pass
DX Status=Pass

[Audio]
Sound Card Name=Ensisijainen ääniohjain
Status=Pass


;Game Options from swkotor.ini

[Sound Options]
Sound Init=0
Music Volume=85
Voiceover Volume=85
Sound Effects Volume=85
Movie Volume=100
Force Software=0
EAX=0
Disable Sound=0
Number 3D Voices=16
Number 2D Voices=24
Environment Effects Level=0.60
2D3D Bias=1.50
Environment Effects=1
Environment Effects Nonstreaming=1
Environment Effects Streaming=1

[Game Options]
GUIsInScreenShot=1
EnableScreenShot=0
Reverse Mouse Buttons=0
Hide InGame GUI=0
Use Small Fonts=0
Keyboard Camera Deceleration=2000.000000
Keyboard Camera Acceleration=500.000000
Keyboard Camera DPS=200.000000
Hide Unequippable=0
Tutorial Popups=1
Subtitles=1
Mini Map=1
Floating Numbers=1
Status Summary=1
Enable Mouse Teleporting To Buttons=1
Mouse Sensitivity=33
Auto Level Up NPCs=0
Mouse Look=0
AutoSave=1
Reverse Minigame YAxis=0
Combat Movement=1
Enable Tooltips=1
Difficulty Level=1
TooltipDelay Sec=1.000000
Memory Access=1
Memory Level=1

[Movies Shown]
Movie 0=0
Movie 1=0
Movie 2=0
Movie 3=0
Movie 4=0
Movie 5=0
Movie 6=0
Movie 7=0
Movie 8=0
Movie 9=0
Movie10=0

[Alias]
HD0=.\
OVERRIDE=.\Override
TEMP=.\Temp
MODULES=.\Modules
LOGS=.\Logs
LOCALVAULT=.\LocalVault
DMVAULT=.\DMVault
SERVERVAULT=.\ServerVault
STREAMMUSIC=.\StreamMusic
TEMPCLIENT=.\Tempclient
SAVES=.\saves
CURRENTGAME=.\currentgame
TEXTUREPACKS=.\texturepacks
STREAMWAVES=.\StreamWaves

[Graphics Options]
RefreshRate=60
Height=768
Width=1024
V-Sync=1
Anisotropy=16
Frame Buffer=1
Anti Aliasing=8
Texture Quality=2
Emitters=1
Grass=1
Soft Shadows=0
Shadows=1
Brightness=57
EnableHardwareMouse=1
FullScreen=1
Disable Vertex Buffer Objects=1
AllowSoftShadows=1


I think the actual problem is that the screen of this laptop is most likely widescreen. I can´t get the widescreen fix to work though, It just creates a horde of strange files that seem to do nothing :xp:

Q
05-18-2011, 12:00 PM
If you're talking about UniWS, it'll probably only work with the older swkotor.exe from the patch (v. 1.03). Windows 7 has better backward-compatibility than Vista did, so you might be able to use it instead of the one updated by SecuROM.

Drunkside
05-18-2011, 12:29 PM
I am using v 1.03, and i used it also when i had vista. I got the resolution to get bigger, but it messed up pretty much everything else, I´ll then probably just play it in an irritating little window. Or get a normal screen from somewhere...

Q
05-18-2011, 01:17 PM
Have you checked out this thread (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=188793)?

Drunkside
05-21-2011, 05:58 AM
Yes, that´s exactly the one that didn´t work... But it doesn´t matter, I started playing and found out (to my surprise) that it doesn´t matter that the game doesn´t fill the entire screen, I don´t even notice it anymore.

Q
05-22-2011, 12:43 PM
Did you change the width and height values under [Graphics Options] to the resolution you set UniWS to in the swkotor.ini file?

Drunkside
05-23-2011, 04:12 AM
Did you change the width and height values under [Graphics Options] to the resolution you set UniWS to in the swkotor.ini file?

Yes, it does 2 different things: it either changes back or stretches the in game screen horizontally and moves it away from the center of the screen so that all the buttons and such are off, i have to click about 2 cm below them.

Q
05-24-2011, 07:26 AM
Disk version or downloaded?

Drunkside
05-26-2011, 08:45 AM
Disk version or downloaded?

Disk