PDA

View Full Version : ScummEditor - A tool to change Scumm V5 and V6 graphics.


mmoreira
04-25-2012, 05:14 PM
Hello, my name is Matheus Moreira and I'm here to tell that I made a tool that can be used to export and import back graphics on Scumm V5 and V6 games (DOTT, Sam & Max, Fate of Atlantis, Monkey 1 CD).

The tool supports the extraction and injection of the following images:

* Background Images (all codecs are supported, both for exporting and importing back)

* Background Z-Planes

* Objects Images - including multiple images per object.

* Objects Z-Planes - including multiples z-planes per image.

* Costumes - All frames.

As far as I know this is the only existing tool that allows you change the costumes on scumm games.

I would like to say thank you to Jestar Jokin (http://www.jestarjokin.net/blog/category/scumm/) for his great help and for being so nice with me, providing his source codes and pointing me to links where I could learn a lot about the scumm data and image formats.

The ScummEditor can be downloaded here (http://scummeditor.scummbr.com/) and you will need Microsoft .NET Framework 4.0 installed in order to use it.

ScreenShot:
http://scummeditor.scummbr.com/index_files/image002.jpg


I really like to hear your opinion about this, because this is my first attempt at writing a "game hacking tool". I'm totally new on this.

Hope this can be useful.

Cheers!

bgbennyboy
04-27-2012, 12:10 PM
Good job! I'll try it later. Always good to see new people making tools.

MusiclyInspired
04-28-2012, 02:16 PM
Very nice!

jestar_jokin
04-30-2012, 07:37 AM
You're welcome Matheus! :) I'm glad you released your tool, I think it has some great features, and I hope others find it useful.

LogicDeLuxe
09-07-2012, 08:58 AM
Works nice. Except for my Ultimate Talkie Edition. It crashes when trying to load the resources. I wonder why is that?

Nfsfan83
09-07-2014, 09:07 AM
I have this same problem what LogicDeLuxe, Ultimate Talkie Edition cant be exported? Can you fixed this?

paprik123456
09-07-2014, 02:11 PM
So, .. when I repaint the background to 1280x800 with 8bit rgb, will that work? what happened to other art like characters etc. will they be tiny?